We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reasonably priced downtown location, great staff”
Review of The Loyal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Loyal Inn
Ranked #63 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Prince George, Canada
2 reviews
“reasonably priced downtown location, great staff”
Reviewed 8 November 2010

2nd time walk in customers. Staff very helpful location great. Walking distance to almost everywhere downtown.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dashingwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianmcclendon, Manager at The Loyal Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2010
Thank you for continuing to stay with us. We are so grateful for our return guests, so thank you again and we look forward to you staying again.
Have a great holiday season

Ian Robert McClendon
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    324
    147
    66
    30
See reviews for
201
252
77
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Our first time in Seattle and such a disappointment with the hotel. Unfriendly staff and the noisiest hotelroom we ever slept (tried to I should say). Room and bed were ok, but only a thin fleece blanket. My wife was freezing the whole night. The noise from the street was terrible. It felt like open windows. Though we had booked (and prepaid) for two nights we left after a sleepless night. Never again!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abceschweitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianmcclendon, Manager at The Loyal Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2010
I am very sorry to hear about your experience. We do triple sheet the beds, but that means there is a high standard fleece blanket between two sheets on the bed. In addition we do provide extra pillows and blankets in the room. We do have an older building, but we do not have many complaints about our rooms being freezing. In addition, we do have street noise depending on the time of day and what is going on in the city. Our engineering staff is aware of this and have been working for months on solutions to control this noise and eliminate it from the guest rooms. Again, I am very sorry that you had this experience and I will pass on your comments to all of my staff so that we can learn and become better from them. Thank you for your review and have a great holiday season

Ian Robert McClendon
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2010

I just returned from a long weekend in Seattle at the Best Western Loyal Inn, it was fantastic!! The hotel was near the Seattle Center and downtown, it was so convienent!
The breakfast they provided at the hotel is always a plus when there is a full day planned. Luckily, we were nearby some places to eat in "Belltown," a neighborhood in Seattle. Really, all around greatness. Great Prices, food and fun!

Helpful?
Thank laivie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianmcclendon, Manager at The Loyal Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2010
Thank you for your great review!! We are so glad you could experience our great city and some very cool neighborhoods. Belltown is definately a fun place with lots of great places to eat. I am very happy that you had a good trip to Seattle and we hope to see you soon again! Have a great holiday Season.

Ian Robert McClendon
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

In its price range (Seattle is expensive), they do a lot right. It’s a great location that made access to the Space Needle, Pikes Market and other locations easy. It’s clean and the staff was very pleasant. But it also has its drawbacks. It’s loud, it’s an old building and I think the floors are divided by paper. The beds were horrible, and I am someone who can camp sleeping in a bag on the ground. I was in pain in the morning; it was like sleeping on a box spring, not a mattress. So between the people above us who sounded like they were coming thru the floor at 10pm, and the bed I would drop my rating. It’s a shame really, even if they simply had better beds I wouldn’t have minded the noise so much and they would have something really great. All in all, when compared to other Seattle establishments it’s a good deal but don’t expect much more than the basics.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frizzy0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianmcclendon, Manager at The Loyal Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2010
I am very sorry that the beds in your room were not up to your standards. We are purchasing new beds for the hotel in the end of December due to guest feedback. We try to find the best beds that will fit all of our guest's needs, and I and thankful for all the great feedback from our guests, so that we can know to replace some of them. I do hope you come back to our hotel soon and try out our new beds. Thank you again for your comments and have a great holiday season.

Ian Robert McClendon
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Spent two nights here. Tidy clean room, great service by the front desk, fantastic breakfast (cereal, toast, fruit, yogurt, waffles, muffins, bagels etc) and ample parking. In walking distance of all the best attactions and the metro. Great deal for money. Is an old hotel and has a little bit of the old smoky smell but 100% no smoking now and very tiday and clean with modern decor.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianmcclendon, Manager at The Loyal Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2010
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. I am so glad you had a good time at our hotel and ejoyed our breakfast. We will continue to add great value to our breakfast to make it even better. Thank you again and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

If I would have known there was a fire department within 10 blocks with a straight path past the motel, I would have chosen different. No way anyone can sleep through fire engines 3-4 times a night. Bed was hard as plywood and very thin. Large stain on shower curtain and shower head was archaic-like one I haven't seen if 15 years. Coffee maker was one cup at a time type coffee pot. We were left 1 packet for 1 cup of real coffee and 1 packet for 1 cup of decaf coffee. Well, both my husband and I both wanted real coffee. The blind on our corner window was approx 1/4 inch small on both sides so car lights flashed in our room all night.
The hallway outside our room smelled of moth balls. Not sure if it was the hotel or someone staying there. Overall, things were fairly clean though and the breakfast was mediocre.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thcpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianmcclendon, Manager at The Loyal Inn, responded to this review, 18 November 2010
I would like to start by saying I am so sorry that you had a less than satisfactory stay at our hotel. I never want any of my guests to leave my hotel unhappy and in this case it seems like several issues built up to an unhappy situation that made your stay unpleasant. Our hotel is luckily one a major road in downtown, but unluckily, we do have high volumes of traffic at times and some of that traffic can be emergency vehicles. By no means is Denny Way the main route for emergency transportation, but we are aware of the traffic and we do have some solutions that we are testing in some rooms. Again, i am sorry for all the situations that you encountered and we will make sure to address these problems immediately. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we will use your comments to improve our hotel on a daily basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Clean, comfortable, large breakfast selection, well worth the cost compared to other hotels I've stayed at in the area. Wish there had been more time to spend there.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grammanator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianmcclendon, Manager at The Loyal Inn, responded to this review, 17 November 2010
I am sorry that you were not able to spend more time at our hotel, but you are always welcome to give us a call and we would love to have you stay with us again. The guest that reviewed our hotel last also liked our breakfast and we are constantly trying to upgrade this buffet to keep our guests happy. Thank you so much and we hope to see you again soon

Ian Robert McClendon
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#51 of 100 in Seattle
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Loyal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Loyal Inn

Property: The Loyal Inn
Address: 2301 8th Ave, Seattle, WA 98121-1907 (Formerly Best Western Loyal Inn)
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Loyal Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As soon as you arrive at The Loyal Inn, our exceptional customer service team and comfortable accommodations will greet you. Once inside your spacious non-smoking room, you'll find all the comforts of home, including a 32-inch flat screen television, microwave and refrigerator. Eco-Friendly rooms are also available. Additional amenities at this Seattle hotel include a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast buffet each morning, relaxing spa, on-site exercise facility and a 24-hour business center. We offer guest parking for a nominal fee of only $10.00 per night plus applicable taxes. The best of the city awaits you just outside this hotel in Seattle. From exploring famed Pike Place Market to marveling at the Space Needle® while visiting Seattle Center to catching a Seattle Seahawks or Seattle Mariners game. Everything you want to do and see in Seattle is just minutes away. While in town, try to catch one of the many annual festivals, including the Bumbershoot® and Northwest Folklife Festivals and don't forget Seattle's annual Seafair celebration. The Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Seattle Cancer Alliance, Swedish Hospital, Virginia Mason, Lake Union, University of Washington and Seattle University are also nearby. Be sure to explore the variety of unique shops, restaurants and entertainment venues in downtown Seattle. Business guests will also enjoy the Loyal Inn's close proximity to local businesses, hospitals/medical companies and corporations, including PATH, Microsoft, Amazon and Boeing and the Melinda and Bill Gates Foundation. A friendly staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay in Seattle. Make an online reservation today and save at the Loyal Inn hotel! Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Loyal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Loyal Hotel Seattle
Best Western Seattle
Seattle Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing