We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very rude front desk staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Executive Inn
Ranked #52 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed here for one night before we flew back to Southern California. We just drove in from Bellingham and my 4 year-old son fell asleep in the car. So I carried him in with my mom while my husband went to park our rental car. No greeting from the lady who was at the front desk. Anyway, I said Hello, we have a reservation, can we check in early. Still no "hello" or anything, she asked "What's the name?" So I gave her my last name and told her that if the rooms were not ready (since we were early) can we leave our luggages? No response from her again. Then I informed her that we were diamond members and she said "Well, I don't know if we have any rooms available this early", very angrily. Then she asked if we wanted two rooms close together or not, and I told her it didn't matter. Then she asked something again and I didn't quite understand her because I was getting tired of holding my son who is very tall and big for his age, then she yelled at me all angry and frustrated "Do you want it if there's one!" Both my mom and I could not believe what just happened and stared at her in shock for a few moment. Right then, my husband walked in, and suddenly she was all nice to him. So that's way I don't have a good review on this place, even though the location was great and as a diamond member, we received free parking and breakfast. Coming from staying at two other hotels where staff was absolutely great, having pleasant, helpful staff really changes the impression of the place.

Room Tip: Ask for if there's a room with newer carpet. The hotel is old and rooms smell like cigarette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CinnamonBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcohenSeattle, General Manager at Best Western Executive Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear CinnamonBon,

Thank you taking your time to review our hotel. We were very concerned with your initial impression of our hotel based on your interaction at the front desk upon your arrival. We take these reviews seriously and have shared them with our staff. We have reiterated the importance of quality customer service and seeing their service through the eyes of the guest.

We do appreciate you choosing our Best Western and hope that you would give our hotel another opportunity to serve your lodging needs when your travel brings you back to Seattle.

Best regards,

Howard Cohen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

777 - 783 of 1,256 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

I have stayed here a few times over the years because of the location. I was not really impressed with some of the staff. In the past I had did not have to pay for parking when I stayed here but I was charged 15.00 per night apparently we did not present the correct rewards card. There is a lot of construction happening near by so be prepared to hear a lot of noise. What I did not expect was the housekeeping staff to start vacuuming at 8 am in the room next store banging on the adjoining door. To make it worse she stood outside our room door laughing and talking to another worker. They change the internet code daily but do not inform their guests. When I phoned to get the new code the clerk actually swore out of frustration of being asked several times during the day. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean. The breakfast is nothing compared to the picture on the elevator.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank afatchance1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcohenSeattle, General Manager at Best Western Executive Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear afatchance1,

Thank you taking the time to review our hotel from your stay.

What most concerned us was your comment regarding housekeeping at 8AM vacuuming and talking in the hallways. We have shared this with our housekeeping staff and will work hard to make sure this type of disturbance is reduced as much as possible.

We hope you give us another opportunity to serve your lodging needs when your travels bring you back to Seattle.

Bes regards,

Howard Cohen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Had a wonderful stay and walked to our concert to Key Arena. The staff were very helpful and great to talk to. Will stay here again when in downtown Seattle. Only downside is I am a full time wheelchair user and the accessible bathroom was a little challenging but I made it work. Thanks for the wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Brbegrl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcohenSeattle, General Manager at Best Western Executive Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Brbegirl68,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your comments regarding the wheelchair access as we always strive to improve our hotel.

We hope to serve your lodging needs again in the future if your travels bring you back to Seattle. Thank you for staying at Best Western.

Best regards,

Howard Cohen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The good: The rooms were clean and tidy and in good shape, which is probably the most important thing in my mind. We had an amazing view of the Space Needle, which was totally unexpected. The location is excellent too, very central and convenient.

The bad: Some of the staff at the front desk were great, and some were nearly surly. The soundproofing between the rooms was poor - we were woken up in the middle of the night by our neighbours having a loud, drunking discussion about bodily functions very loudly, and they sounded like they were standing inside our room. Also, when we complained to hotel security about the loud neighbours, security told the loud neighbours which room had complained and gave them our room number (we could tell because we heard the whole thing).

Conclusion: There are so many hotels in this particular area that are all about the same price, why would you bother booking with one that was only "meh"? It's just not worth it. We've done this trip a number of times in the past and stayed at the Hyatt, which is a block away and costs about the same and it was great -- we'll probably go with them again next time around instead of the Best Western.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the "quiet" side and ended up with a room with a Space Needle view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quentin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcohenSeattle, General Manager at Best Western Executive Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Quentin,

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We are thrilled that you liked the physical attributes of the hotel. We were most concerned about your review of the incident with the noise and Security. We have since coached the Security staff to keep neighboring guests complaints anonymous to eliminate any potential negative retaliation.

We sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to serve your lodging needs when your travels bring you back to Seattle. Thank you for choing Best Wrstern.

Best regards,

Howard Cohen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Too long of a wait when only one person is at the desk. Check in was fine and friendly. Quieter than I expected. Overall a good value relative to competing choices. Too long of a wait when only one person is at the desk. Check in was fine and friendly. Quieter than I expected. Overall a good value relative to competing choices.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcohenSeattle, General Manager at Best Western Executive Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Keith,

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding our hotel compared to the competitors. We are thrilled that you chose our hotel.

We strive to improve with each review and will work with the front desk staffing levels to make certain guests' time is not taken granted.

We do hope to see you again on future visits to Seattle.

Best regards,

Howard Cohen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Excellent staff. Restaurant menu very limited and needs new items. The food is good but after a few stays it gets to be redundant. Excellent location and the limo service is available for airport delivery and any where else in town. The driver has an excellent ,courteous manner and is a very safe and professional driver. The staff is very helpful and courteous day and night. I always enjoy staying there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcohenSeattle, General Manager at Best Western Executive Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for your kind remarks regarding the hotel. We were thrilled to know you liked our hotel's location as well as our recommended limo service. We will definitely share this with the driver.

We take your comments seriously and will share your menu concerns with the Chef. The Chef is very responsive and appreciates your comments.

We hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you back to Seattle.

Best regards,

Howard Cohen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I've been to lots of fancy, expensive, self-proclaimed best hotels all over the US. But I can tell you this gem of a hotel is many times better than many of these hotels! It is unpretentious, has all the amenities you could need...business center, gym, laundry, ATM, free cable TV, free and more importantly fast WiFi, fridge, microwave.

The location is awesome! I walked around all times of day and night and felt completely safe. Lots of people walking/bicycling all the time. Seattle is safe and people are friendly. 10 minutes walk down Denny Way to the hustle and bustle of downtown. The Space Needle is right across the street!

The rooms are clean and safe. Huge business desk, leather chair, comfy sofa, comfy bed and pillows. Each room also has a great, detailed guest directory with lots of useful information. It is the best directory by far I have ever seen in any of the hotels I've been in.

Staff is so helpful and professional. Housekeeping is amazing. Anything I needed, they delivered and fast. They are polite respected my privacy. Front desk is knowledgeable. They helped me find my way to a number of places. Management wernt out of their way to solve a major crisis I had. I can't say enough about all the staff I encountered. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: If you prefer a room with a view of the Space Needle, you should let them know when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khayla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcohenSeattle, General Manager at Best Western Executive Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Khayla,

Thank you for your very kind words regarding your review of our hotel. We take all reviews serious and celebrate with the great ones and learn from the review that share opportunities for improvement.

What I appreciate most was your comment about management solving a major crisis. Hopefully all guests would give us an opportunity while they are still at the hotel to resolve any issue that might occur. Your satisfaction is most important to us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon when your travels bring you backl to Seattle. Thank you for staying with Best Western.

Best regards,

Howard Cohen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
The Loyal Inn
The Loyal Inn
#60 of 104 in Seattle
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#46 of 104 in Seattle
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Executive Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Executive Inn

Address: 200 Taylor Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-5016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Seattle
#51 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £74 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Executive Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this comfortable, yet affordable Seattle hotel and delight in abundant amenities, a convenient location near corporate offices and Seattle's popular attractions. Guests can get their regular workout while staying at this Seattle hotel, as we offer a 24-hour exercise facility on the premises. Additionally, this Seattle hotel offers a business center, complimentary Seattle Times newspapers delivered to each room daily and 24-hour security. Looking for event space or meeting rooms in Seattle? Our property offers meeting space for up to 250 attendees. We offer guest parking for only $15.00 per night plus applicable taxes. We look forward to welcoming you to the Best Western PLUS Executive Inn. The spacious, modern rooms at this Downtown Seattle hotel offer cable television on a 32-inch flat screen television, microwave, refrigerator, work desk, free wireless Internet, triple sheeted bedding and more. Half of the rooms offer unobstructed views of the Space Needle. Guests can enjoy delicious and convenient meals at Brella's Sports Lounge. Our wonderful hot breakfast buffet is available daily for only $7.95 per adult plus applicable taxes while kids 8 years and under eat free in Brella's Restaurant. Check with front desk for hours. Visit the Seattle Center, Space Needle and Pacific Science Center & EMP (Experience Music Project)- just a couple blocks from this Downtown Seattle hotel. Situated in the heart of the city, other popular area attractions - including Safeco Field, Century Link Field, Seattle Waterfront, Westlake Center, Pioneer Square and Pike Place Public Market - can easily be visited during your stay. Those traveling for work are within minutes of the some of the world's largest corporate headquarters. For anyone visiting Seattle for medical reasons, this Seattle hotel is within minutes of some of the world's most renowned medical facilities. For a memorable time in Seattle, reserve a stay at the Best Western Executive Inn today! Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Executive Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Executive Hotel Seattle
Best Western Seattle
Seattle Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing