We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Packed, popular but nothing special”
Review of Bakery Nouveau

Bakery Nouveau
Ranked #1 of 107 Bakeries in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Portsmouth
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Packed, popular but nothing special”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Long queues make you believe you will be getting something special but that was not our experience.
When we visied it was very busy and the server was very grumpy which may not be typical. We had rather dry croissants...

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank PortsmouthLegaleagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    738
    125
    18
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood on a town known for seafood.”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

You will need a reservation. The food and service are excellent. I always make it a point to visit when I am in Seattle.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“CRUSTY PIZZA - PEACH PASTRY”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Enjoyed the "end piece" of a three cheese white sauce pizza. Very nice flavor and delish. Croisant turkey sandwich was okay - the Peach Pastry was flaky and fresh. Out of the way place from Seattle but worth the drive. A few doors down is a grocery store deli called HUSKY - it's fun too but not as eclectic - seems more locals visit HUSKY.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank craig-loly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Raving about the twice baked croissants”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Wow! If you are visiting Seattle or live in the Greater Seattle area - you have to go to this bakery and try their "twice baked Croissants". You will not regret it! If there is a line (which normally there is on weekends) stay in line...well worth it! I go there frequently....

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lourdes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A Must if You're a Foodie!”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My husband and I decided to go to Bakery Nouveau based on the online reviews. We wondered ahead of time if it could meet the expectations of it's excellent ratings and we were not disappointed. In fact, we liked it so much that we went two days in a row!
- The prices of the items were very reasonable, especially compared to other places in Seattle.

Pros:
- We planned on going there and maybe trying a sandwich or pastry. Once we got into line, not only did we get a veggie sandwich (even though they all looked good) but we got a chocolate croissant, twice baked almond croissant, and piece of chocolate cheesecake.
- We thought there would be long lines based on some of the reviews. We went in the afternoon and in the morning and while there was a line, it was short and moved quickly. The owners have plenty of help available which helps to keep the lines short.
- I asked one of the persons behind the counter about a recommendation. It just so happens that one of the owners (the wife) was in line ahead of me and asked their helper to let me sample the item so that I could taste it. Of course it was delicious so we bought one.
- The feel of the bakery is cozy and comfortable. Not too large or too small.
- The quality of the food is high and well-prepared. It's by no accident that the owner also won a gold cup in baking which is one of the highest achievements available to a chef. In fact, the cup and award is proudly displayed in the bakery.
- Parking is available on the street. Both times we arrived, parking was easily accessible.

Cons:
- They have a great business and it is very busy. Both times we were in there, the tables were dirty and needed to be cleaned.

I only wish we had one where we lived. Be sure to visit if you are in the Seattle area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rporta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bakery Nouveau also viewed

 

Been to Bakery Nouveau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing