We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in the U district!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chambered Nautilus Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #14 of 28 Seattle B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great B&B in the U district!”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed 6 nights in September. The inn is beautiful, food is outstanding and hospitality is exceptional! Would definitely stay again on my next visit. The Scallop Chamber is very spacious, private and quiet. It has a patio off the back. Stairs might be an issue for some, but the staff will help with luggage and anything else you might need. You will feel right at home immediately.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    44
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
68
98
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The Chambered Nautilus is a nice B&B. The rooms are comfortable and there is a nice sitting area as well as a small garden with seats and benches. We stayed there five nights and were happy with the breakfasts, staff helpfulness and cleanliness. There are some potential negatives. The B&B is in the university area of Seattle and very convenient if you have plans at UW. However you're a long haul from most of the tourist attractions which means having a car or learning the Seattle bus system. Like many houses in Seattle the B&B is on a steep slope. You cannot drive up to the building and have to go up and down a long flight of stairs. We had no problems with this but if you have an issue with stairs keep this in mind. If we need to be near the university on our next trip we will absolutely stay at The Chambered Nautilus, otherwise we will look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Look at the website closely. One room does not have a bathroom en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChamberedNautilus, Owner at Chambered Nautilus Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thanks for your review and feedback. We are centrally located in Seattle in a nice neighborhood near the UW but we think we are still close to the center. I go downtown for one thing or another about once a week. Now, in all honesty one person's close in is another person's long haul so here is the data. Downtown attractions are a 10-15 minute drive from the Inn. We are happy to tell you our secrets for the quickest and easiest ways to get there
(note these are often not the routes your GPS tells you about) and the best times of the day to drive down. Within a 5-8 minute walk of the Inn there is a bus stop where you can catch a bus that will take you straight into downtown with no transfers required. We are happy to give you instructions on this as well. We are sorry if we did not communicate all this to our reviewer, (which I suspect we may not have) but like I said what is close for one person is far for another and mostly we are just delighted you were happy with the other aspects of your stay with us.
As to those stairs.....they are here, gentle and sloping, but still a stairway, giving us our peaceful off street location and great gardens, remember we are willing, able and HAPPY bring your bags up for you anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I needed a place to stay close to the University of Washington hospital because a family member had surgery and I had to pick them up early the next day. I found the Chambered Nautilus and all the reviews were stellar. I chose the Rose Chamber and made my reservation. Upon arrival, I was greeted quickly and told there was an issue with the bathroom in the room I had reserved and they had upgraded me to the Scallop Chamber instead. The room was a good size, clean and full of beautiful antiques. The TV was small (19 inch) but sufficient since I basically just needed to sleep. The next morning, I had a great breakfast. This consisted of homemade granola, Northwest style eggs benedict and a spinach brownie. I'm not a lover of spinach but it was really good! I would recommend this inn to anyone who needs to be near the UW for an event or the hospital.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Joyce and her very able crew, Lauren, Crystal, Rei, I am sure I am forgetting someone and not spelling names correctly,know how high the standard for the Bed and Breakfast experience is held.They met and pushed the bar up a bit while I was there this past week,

The Chambered Nautilus is classic, an entirely engaging structure of the Georgian era, it is so well appointed and decorated that it just says welcome and relax. The grounds are exceptionally well maintained with gardens and outside sitting areas. It is located in the University District with easy access to Seattle's well developed public transit system.

I could get to downtown as easily as though I had a car with me but without the parking headaches. I got on a bus that took me to Ballard for a side trip that was totally good. It seemed as though I could get just about anywhere with a short walk to a bus stop and a bus within a minute or two.

The rooms at the Chambered Nautilus are colorful and elegant. They have a nod to themes as many Bed and Breakfast do. I stayed in the Sunrise Chamber for a few days and then in the Crow's Nest. The Sunrise Chamber is all about yellows and accents of blue and when the morning dawns if you have the blinds open you'll see where and why it got its name.

The Crow's Nest is at the top of the stairs. It is all wainscot and coved ceilings. It has a unique character to it that I found restful and very comfortable to just relax in. Though it is more muted in color than the Sunrise Chamber it is still very light and airy even with a wainscoted ceiling.

The Breakfasts are a delight. The Southwest Scramble, the melons with crystalized ginger and a slice of lime, the spinach brownie Eggs Benedict Seattle style. All of it was such a treat along with some very nicely brewed coffee and stimulating morning conversation with fellow travelers.

I felt as though I was good hands and caring folks were always ready to help me enjoy my time there. Though I was working, presenting workshops at a convention, the experience at the Chambered Nautilus made it all seem like a sweet vacation.

Room Tip: Every room there is unique. YOu really can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaClaudette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

The Greenlake Suite was perfect for us when we were visiting family in Seattle in late July! There were four of us and we had space to spread out and be comfortable. The beds were comfortable, the grounds lovely, and breakfast was delicious! I will definitely stay here when we return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewMexicoHanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2012

The ladies there were very helpful, and very friendly and gracious. They always made sure to have a high chair ready for my daughter and reserved space for my family to sit together at breakfast. They give a choice in the timing of your breakfast seating, which I appreciated, and made meal accommodations for my daughter. We stayed in the University Suite, which was comfortable for my family of four, although my son said the hidabed was uncomfortable. My husband and I had a nice bed, and they had a pack and play for our daughter. They cleaned daily, also asking when we'd prefer they stop by. Next time, we may stay in something a bit more spacious, but it was a fabulous deal for where we needed to be for the week (Burke Museum). Thanks, ladies!

Room Tip: University Suite is great for a family of one or two little ones, but there is a bigger suite with m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyMae11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChamberedNautilus, Owner at Chambered Nautilus Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear reviewer,
You are most welcome and we are happy you enjoyed your time with us! Your baby was adorable! To our future guests, please note that as of this winter's renovations, this suite ( and others too) have new sofa beds with extra thick mattresses and minimal or NO sofa bed bars at all, ensuring a comfy night's sleep for all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellingham
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed at the Chambered Nautilus while visiting Children's. We were very pleased to find the inn owners so kind. We were even hand delivered bandaids and neosporin for a minor fall my son had. Breakfast was fantastic! The sofa bed was so comfortable, no bar! I actually thought it was more comfortable than the bed we slept in, but i have difficulty with just about any bed. We had a great experience and so did our kids! Thanks Joyce!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bergmanjr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bellevue
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#64 of 100 in Seattle
1,333 reviews
Bellevue
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
University Motel Suites
#72 of 100 in Seattle
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambered Nautilus Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambered Nautilus Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Chambered Nautilus Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 5005 22nd Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105-5706
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chambered Nautilus Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our romantic Seattle B&B, 10 minutes from downtown near the University of Washington, shopping, and restaurants. Rooms at our Seattle, WA bed and breakfast are appointed with private baths, luxurious linens, desks, Wi-Fi & TVs! Start every day with an unforgettable gourmet breakfast & fresh roasted coffee at our bed and breakfast in Seattle! Looking for Seattle University District hotels? Named by USA Today as one of the top 10 inns for business travelers! Check out our pet friendly suites! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chambered Nautilus b&b Inn
Chambered Nautilus Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing