We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chambered Nautilus Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #14 of 28 Seattle B&B and Inns
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the amenities”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We chose the Chambered Nautilus because the price was reasonable compared to downtown hotels, and we thought it would be fun to be near the campus. We enjoyed the comfortable common area, including the computer & printer, as we were planning meals and activities. It also worked well for us that snacks and beverages were available on arrival as we were waiting to meet a friend for dinner later that evening. We also appreciated having lots of space in our one bedroom suite and made use of the kitchen and living room areas. Breakfast was well prepared, and a couple guests had special requests that were cheerfully accommodated. We have family in the area. I would not hesitate to return with a larger group. We were interested in the unique name: the current owners were unaware if its origin but wanted to retain the name since the B&B has been popular with university visitors.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Foodie20N3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    44
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
68
98
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here for a weekend away in Seattle. We stayed in the Cascade Suite, one of the units away from the main house. We chose it because we have two young kids so wanted something roomy with a kitchen. Our suite was very roomy and clean and we appreciated having a kitchen. The few downsides of our suite were that the hot water in the shower was not very hot to begin with and started to become just warm after the second shower. Also, there is no where to hang your clothes in the bathroom, so a hook on the door would be something they could add. The suite could use some updating.. it feels a little old and musty, though it is kept clean. And the beds are not very comfortable, they feel old and worn.

The main house on the property where breakfast is served is very nice, and the grounds of the property are beautiful.. like you are in an english garden. As for the food, I have stayed in many bed and breakfasts and I would rate the food at this one just okay. It is decent but the portions are small. The staff serving the food are very nice and accommodating though.

I really like the location of this hotel as it is in the University district and right near the University Village shopping centre. It's a quick drive into the city centre when traffic isn't bad.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
166 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Chambered Nautilus. It's a very warm family environment each morning at the breakfast table and the host is a lovely woman with a gift for making devine breakfast food. We didn't stay in one of the main house bedrooms, but I would like to try that next time when we don't need as much space or have the dog with us. The main house has the most cozy living room area with a fireplace going at all hours. Great place for guests to hang out and read, talk or work on the laptop. I rented one of the university suites because we had a dog with us and wanted a kitchen. These suites are separated from the main house completely, but there's a stone pathway between the two for a short walk. The suites are nice and spacious. Really a great price for what you get. They are older apartments cleaned up a notch and set up for short or extended stays. The bathroom in ours was completely new and remodeled. The street is not the most exciting thing to look at with student apartments and housing so close by, but it certainly felt safe and parking was never a problem. Both building of the Nautilus are very wedged into a steep hill. A couple of flights of stair climbing is required to get in which didn't bother us, but might be an issue for some. The convenience of this location was GREAT with easy access to UW, great shopping, and access to Hwy 5 was close.

Room Tip: If you don't need a suite (kitchen/space), I would recommend staying in the charming main house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10sChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here when we came to visit our daughter who was attending the University. It is very convenient to the campus and reasonably priced . Comfortable beds, good water pressure in the shower, yummy breakfasts, coffee and cookies always available in the living room. Friendly staff. Be aware you need to carry your luggage up steep stairs from the street and then up to your room.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank paleobass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChamberedNautilus, Owner at Chambered Nautilus Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thanks so much for your review, happy that you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting your daughter. You are so right, there are stairs from the street to the front door and then some, cause we are on a hill, but keep in mind for your next trip...that we are more than happy to assist you with getting those bags up to your room. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate that you chose our Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Great stay in Seattle for University District. If you don't have own transport, then this inn is in convenient walking distance to University (20 min to HUB), a number of good eateries within 15-20 mins walk also so great if not raining! It provides a very comfortable home-away-from home stay in a near 100yr old character house & is in a very nice quiet suburb, very friendly & helpful staff, B&B with a great breakfast.

Room Tip: Check room descriptions on inns website for features, all are individual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MigElec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I am sad that our trip is over. That's how relaxing and memorable our stay at the Chambered Nautilus was. It sits atop a hill in the University district, which means it is surrounded by University housing. Parking was easy and you receive a parking permit to park on the street. Upon entering, we were immediately greeted by the sweet smell of granola for tomorrow's breakfast. The aroma did not leave the house the entire night. We rested on our beautiful king size bed before heading to a nearby oyster house for dinner. On our walk back, we strolled through the forested Ravenna park which is located very near to the inn. It was a pleasant welcome to Seattle. The wonderfully decorated garden room and private bath were warm and welcoming. I enjoyed my terry cloth robe after a long day of travels along with the delightful soaps. Perhaps the icing on the cake is the wonderful breakfast. The three course meal was the perfect start to a day of Seattle exploration. The inn was also located five minutes from Pike's market and it was a easy drive for a day of adventure. We enjoyed playing board games in the main living room while sipping on coffee, tea, and munching on fantastic cookies upon on return. My only issue was when the first come, first served private table on the porch was apparently reserved. If you want to enjoy the garden view for breakfast, reserve the table. Otherwise, eating breakfast with fellow travelers was a pleasant way to meet new people and learn more about them. I know we will return in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Chamber and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferC9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
195 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Chambered Nautilus based on a recommendation from a friend. We were in town visiting our daughter who lives in the U District but is not a student. However, it is a perfect location for parents visiting students. The breakfast is amazing! They rotate sweet and savory and are willing to handle dietary needs. Tea and cookies are available in the common area all day long. Our only complaint is the bed was uncomfortable, a bit of the sloping to the center problem. That being said, we stayed in the Cascade Suite and loved having a kitchen and full living room. It is such a great B&B and I would stay here again anyway over a hotel. Stay here, you won't be disappointed, you will have a chance to meet interesting people at breakfast and explore a wonderful city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bellevue
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#64 of 100 in Seattle
1,333 reviews
Bellevue
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
University Motel Suites
#72 of 100 in Seattle
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambered Nautilus Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambered Nautilus Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Chambered Nautilus Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 5005 22nd Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105-5706
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chambered Nautilus Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our romantic Seattle B&B, 10 minutes from downtown near the University of Washington, shopping, and restaurants. Rooms at our Seattle, WA bed and breakfast are appointed with private baths, luxurious linens, desks, Wi-Fi & TVs! Start every day with an unforgettable gourmet breakfast & fresh roasted coffee at our bed and breakfast in Seattle! Looking for Seattle University District hotels? Named by USA Today as one of the top 10 inns for business travelers! Check out our pet friendly suites! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chambered Nautilus b&b Inn
Chambered Nautilus Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing