We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Barista using the same container for heating dairy milk and rice milk that lead to stomach ache” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grateful Bread

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Grateful Bread
Ranked #51 of 119 Bakeries in Seattle
Price range: US$4 - US$12
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Barista using the same container for heating dairy milk and rice milk that lead to stomach ache”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

I am a customer for a long time and very satisfied with their service but I hope that if they hire a new employee that they know what their doing and would be aware and be careful about not using the same container heating their dairy milk and other milk. There is a reason why some people don't consume dairy milk due to allergy and a speck of dairy milk could cause a lot of problem to people with allergy. I don't think I could trust and come back to this coffee shop again that causing me a lot of stomach pain right now.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M_ecijan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lynnwood, Washington
Level Contributor
139 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Who doesn't love baked goods?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

There was a line out the door at 1:00 pm - it was a beautiful September day, so who cares? The line was moving quickly and you know that's a sign of quality and satisfied customers. My friend and I each had a bagel and iced beverages. There's a bit of confusion between where you order and where you pick up; I say this because we picked up someone else's drink (who brought it to our attention). Our drink was ready a few minutes later. Yummy bagels, chewy though not rubbery. Nothing beats a NY bagel, but I live here now, so yummm, Grateful Bread. All of the tables were constantly full but turned over pretty quickly. Families, couples, groups of friends/students - it's a great place for all.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A really fine neighbourhood place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

My wife and I have breakfast here nearly every Friday morning. Yeah, service can be a bit slow when it's busy, but the staff are friendly Baked goods are made daily in house, I particularly recommend their scones Their challah is excellent. Kids are welcome, there are toys and a play space There is space outside if you bring your canine friend. There are several churches and synagogues within easy walking distance. Most if not all their stuff is organic.
No this is not a gourmet french patisserie, but if you're looking for a coffee and a big delicious scone or muffin in a cheerful atmosphere, you have come to the right place

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank harolbagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Level Contributor
186 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Family friendly bakery with good paninis and wraps”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

good - Lots of flavour in the paninis and he wraps. the med. wrap was good.
Interior has an older rustic feel to it
Lots of good selection on bread
Outdoor seating is not bad
Kid friendly environment

Bad - Little far from most areas but closer to Bothell

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel_ferocity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“This place is GREAT, and always has been. with really excellent products and an honest commitment to healthy ingredients”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Looking for a place wih staying power, heathy goods, and friendly, comfortable atmosphere? This is it!

We have been going here for many years (since it opened) and they provide consistent products that are far above the norm in quality. I wish it was closer to our house. Might be good that it isn't though, I wouldn't be able to resist.

I do wish they would bring back the cinamon raisin Struan on weekends! That was incredible! You could make a french toast with it that would put you in a dream like state. Ahhh.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grateful Bread also viewed

 

Been to Grateful Bread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing