We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and wine with good indoor and outdoor seating”
Review of Smash Wine

Smash Wine
Ranked #2,113 of 4,169 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: US$1 - US$30
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Wallingford
Cross street: Interlake
Description: Opened in April 2006, Smash Wine Bar & Bistro is a new Wallingford establishment where wine and food collide. Smash features an array of wine and cheese flights, bistro bites and entrees, 45 different glass wine pours (including 3 and 6 oz. tastes), and their signature "Smashtini" martini menu. Smash Wine Bar & Bistro is located at 1401 N. 45th Street in the Wallingford neighborhood of Seattle. For more info contact dana@smashwine.com.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great food and wine with good indoor and outdoor seating”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Used this 3 times on a recent visit to the USA all the food we had was of excellent quality, the baby rack of ribs were superb with a great sauce. Was made very welcome by the staff who could not do enough for you. Will certainly use again on our next visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mick230346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“doesn't scream out for a return, perhaps for happy hour”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Sat 3/1/14 5:30pm: Tried a few menu items this time, my previous rating stands, might come back just for the BBQ burger..
• Gingered Calamari $8: mostly crispy bread, couldn’t taste the ginger, but nice presentation– 2 stars
• Garlic kale $9: buttery and chewy, they need to remove the stems – 1 stars
• Steak flat bread $11: strips of beef on flat bread cut into slices. We were imagining hot flat bread but not, need better seasoning, I had to dip in ketchup – 2 stars
• Organic Veggie burger with Onion Swiss $6: soggy, poor seasoning, and not a burger – 0 star
• BBQ Burger $6: the first has great presentation and pile on veggie, but the second order was not the same. Our daughter suggested a bit more BBQ - 3 stars
• Merlot blend $10: 5oz decent but not great for the price – 3 stars
• Service was great otherwise, the line starting to build, so we gave up our table
• The ambiance was loud, most tables have settings for 2, 3+ would be in tight spaces

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel2Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place!”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Great, cozy restaurant, nice atmosphere, generous portions and amazing wines. I had the warm spinach salad with bacon and a soft fried egg, and the calamari. The salad was probably the best salad that I have ever had! Very tasty. Our server was nice and attentive. We will be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, me
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mediocrity at its best. ”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

And I mean that in the best way possible. Atmosphere is quite inviting and staff was pleasant and accommodating. Warm spinach salad tasted like warm spinach salad. Pork tenderloin special was bland, sprouts a tad undercooked. Everything was acceptable, just don't believe it was worth the cost.

Helpful?
Thank mainemattyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So easy to like this place!”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We have had a Groupon to Smash a couple of times, but we've been there many times, with or without a Groupon. Just a wonderful place to drink and dine. We especially like *grazing* -- checking out several small plates -- although we often end up sharing an entree, too. I can never pass up the sparkling flight. And the wine steward helped me find just the right oak-y Chardonnay. LOVE Smash!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Smash Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing