We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We love Ric & Sue's Rue de l'Amour”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rue de L'amour

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunny days on the Terrace Large open plan lounge / kitchen / dining - stylish spanish fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Sunny days on the Terrace
Large open plan lounge / kitchen / dining - stylish spanish fireplace
Terrace room - top of the house
apero on the terrace - fantastique!
Cosy Lounge
Le Port - left bank with it's restaurants & cafes - water jousting
Le Chateau du Port Marseillan - Rive Droit
The beautiful port
one of many fine restaurants - just moments away
Marseillan port-side towards Sete
West from Mont St Clair Sete - along the Corniche 20kms of beautiful sandy beaches
lounge open plan - stairs
Twin Bedroom
Blue-room 1st Fl dbl bedroom
Marseillan Tuesday market
Fabulous Beach Bars!
Roquebrun a micro-climate in the hills just 1hr away, great for canoeing & kayaking
Bouzigues oysters & Picpoul - where Rick Stein discovered the worlds best oysters
local olives and produce are plentiful at the markets or at our local shops
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Marseillan, Herault, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Dzav
Chardonnay, France
1 review
“We love Ric & Sue's Rue de l'Amour”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We stayed multiple times in this lovely cottage. The owners Ric and Sue keep improving and enhancing all the time with all the best British touch. It is very confortable and everything you might need is just 1 or 2 streets away so no need to care about the car. The terace is unique and the top bedroom matches very well the street name.. Not mentioning restaurants and the beach only a few minutes away. Enjoy your stay :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The terrace
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W
California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay!”
Reviewed 15 October 2012 for a stay in January 2012

My daughter who lives in Spain found this lovely place in Marseillan for our Winter holiday. We were 4 adults and 2 children. The location was fantastic. Close to bakeries, coffee houses, groceries, restaurants and lovely walks. My husband really enjoyed being able to take our grandchildren early in the morning for pastries, hot cocoa and bread. We did have some trouble with the oven/stove/electrical but one phone call to owner and a repairman was there first thing the next morning. The toilet area needed some updating but I see in recent reviews this has all been taken care of. We felt very welcome with all information owner provides as to activities in the area. This is a quiet time of year for Marseillan which suited us just fine. We were able to take leisurely walks and drives to nearby villages and Sete. The beaches were not crowded as it must be in summer. My only complaint and not directed at owners is "Why don't the French pick up after their dogs?" Had to watch out for "poo" so as not to track into house. Sometimes hard to do with children. All in all we enjoyed very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The close proximity to town square and port.
Liked least: Toilet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Reviewed 15 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the town
Liked least: the house
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Oct 2012
Thanks for the comments. Actually our last “glowing” review was received from guests that stayed even more recently, and only 2wks after this visit. Other guests directly prior to and following on from this stay wrote to tell us the house is great and they had a wonderful holiday etc.
In May 2012 the exterior of the house was refinished, new custom made shutters fitted and the façade completely re-rendered with a bright white finish.
The interior was also refreshed, new flooring fitted in the bathroom and toilet areas along with general maintenance and updates.
Recently, Sept 2012, a new water heater and an A rated electric oven installed. We continue to update the house on a regular basis, everything from the kind of major works mentioned to purchases of new equipment and decor, and of course dealing with any incidental problems, when informed.
We are obviously disappointed these guests found our house not what they expected, in spite of regular attention and investment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ereana P
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A brilliant house in a lovely town in a fabulous part of France”
Reviewed 4 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

This was our first visit to Rue de L'Amour and to Marseillan and we have fallen in love with all of it.

The house is great, close to easy parking facilities in the beautiful square, just round the corner from a choice of great boulangeries, a Spar that stocks everything, a great pharmacy. There is everything you could need in the house and more. It's tastefully decorated, I particularly liked the lamps in the lounge/dining area which created a beautiful ambience in the evenings. The roof terrace is great for breakfast in the sunshine and then a sundowner when you get back from the beach in the evenings. The fact that the owners have supplied beach equipment like chairs, umbrellas and games is a fantastic addition and we really appreciated being able to use these. Also the number of maps of local areas, books and French dictionaries were invaluable!

The town of Marseillan is a treasure and everything you need is so close by. It has great restaurants, cafes and bars and the beaches in the area were fabulous too.

All in all it was a fantastic holiday and we are so glad to have visited.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your stay, and appreciated the magic of this wonderful area. We hope to be able to welcome you back again one day. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intervale
Trinidad
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A real home in a real village”
Reviewed 10 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

#10 Rue de L'Amour is clearly the owner's passion- a clever and livable re modelling of an old fisherman's , three level cottage in the old town part of Marseillan, incorporating a very practical kitchen/living room area on the ground floor with three bedrooms, a family bathroom, and a terrace on the upper two floors. Marseillan itself is an original fishing village that whilst having some , mainly yachting based, development remains a real working French community in which the tourists are clearly visitors( although made very welcome, we found everyone to be friendly and helpfull despite our limited command of French). This is in stark contrast to the nearby beach communities of Marseillan Plage and Cap Agde. It is in the centre of the local seafood and shellfish industries- oysters from the vendor down the street are 6 Euros a dozen, but you have to shuckk them yourself- not difficult once you check the method on the net and get a little practice. All in all a lovely place to spend a relaxing and interesting vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The property, the location and the village.
Liked least: Water works in the street( completed on day we left)
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chezaban
Oxford
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 5 April 2012 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Several years must have passed since the photos of this property were taken. We found it shabby, grubby and uncomfortable. Some of the items we would mention are broken/uneven ceramic tiles on the bathroom floor (dangerous to bare feet), a shower curtain black with mould, dirty fingerprints around the loo door handle (no basin to wash your hands in there either!), dangerous steep stairs with no handrail, no shutters or air con so it was too hot to sleep, nasty smells coming from bathroom when shower was used, dingy un-ironed bedding, old crockery, grubby oven, the lime green cushions (shown in pic) for the wooden seating on the terrace were missing, wifi didnt work to begin with, I could go on. There are better places to stay than this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position of the house in Marseillan.
Liked least: The bedding, the lack of cleanliess, the smelly bathroom, the lack of shutters or air con.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2012
This review is not a fair representation of our property, which is also our second home. We care a great deal for this very special place and frequently invest in updates and improvements. The pictures are current and an accurate representation of the house.

We’re obviously concerned by these comments, especially as we always urge guests to contact us if there are any problems. The only issue mentioned during their stay was the wifi log-in which we helped rectify. On departure they emailed us to say they’d “Had a great time. Marseillan lovely as ever though very hot!!!”

We work hard to ensure the house is clean and hygienic, so something may have gone amiss that week. But we needed to know at the time.

We don’t offer air conditioning, and don’t claim to, so if you want this facility in a Mediterranean climate, it’s worth seeking it out. But new window shutters will be fitted.

Guests frequently tell us how happy they have been here, and many have returned over and over again. Thankfully this review is not typical of our visitors' many positive experiences. Just read our guestbook or Facebook page.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave E
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful romantic hideaway in a beautiful fishing village”
Reviewed 19 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Make full use of the local shops and restaurants.... they are all so welcoming and friendly. Take a boat trip on the Canal du Midi.... hire bikes and cycle to the beaches...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambiance and the location
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing