We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality on quality”
Review of Chez Philippe

Chez Philippe
Ranked #28 of 135 Restaurants in Marseillan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$31
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: open to 12h00/2H00PM, 6h45/10H00PM
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quality on quality”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

been here done it loved it and still do, We ate here 3 years ago and loved the food, and despite the town of Marseillan seemly in a quiet recession
Chez Phillipe still produces beautiful food, a great menu, thank you for keeping our faith in French food alive

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peter t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    77
    25
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beauty and the Beast”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were in the port, and joined some friends for dinner here since our preferred restaurant was closed. The food was beautiful but so focused on being beautiful and innovative the taste was secondary. However, the downer of the evening was the waitress, what a domineering, condescending presence. Left us cold, very un French.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loverofbeautifulfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Chez Philippe has extraordinary food, innovative and fascinating. Portions are big and prices reasobanle.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HerrBecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseillan, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Silver service”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is pressing to become the best restaurant in Marseillan. The linen, cutlery, crockery and glassware sparkle. The service is excellent and the kitchen has a genius of a chef working within it.
The wine list could use some improvement, but that is a minor fault easily corrected. We had three top class meals there including a top quality New Year's Eve dinner at only 65€.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Froggie34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseillan, France
Level Contributor
115 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“New Years Dinner”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Have been here before and rated it highly so decided to visit on new years eve with guests from the UK. The menu looked extremely well thought out, the staff were very friendly when we went there to book, so we took the plunge.

A great menu was enjoyed by us all. Two down points. firstly the turbot fish course was a little over cooked and therefore, when it got to the table a little cold. We suspect the chef new it was on too early and took it of the heat to compensate. Secondly the very fine fillet of beef was undercooked to our liking, even though we asked for it to be prepared a little 'firmer'! If you are going to serve meat this raw at least provide razor sharp knives - I couldn't cut mine in the centre.

That said, we had about nine courses with great sauces an flavours, modestly priced wines, really good service. To our mind this is the best in Marseillan. Well done.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardKemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Philippe also viewed

 

Been to Chez Philippe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing