We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of L'Oustau Camarguen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
L'Oustau Camarguen
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Port Camargue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

In its location in the middle of Port Camargue, close to historic Aigues-Mortes and the wonderful Camargue region, this hotel is a great place to stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the layout of the hotel fits its mediterranean charm and the rooms are comfortable and quiet. Unfortunately so far whenever I stayed there, the restaurant had already closed for winter, so I can't say anything about the food - breakfast was still served though.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schumi3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013

This hotel resort is the perfect place to stay. Rooms are wonderful, surrounded by a lush garden and a beautiful swimming pool (including a Steam Room and Jacuzzi). The Service is perfect at every level.
The breakfast, which you can eat out in the garden, is of top class, comparable to a 5 star palace. The evening meal (optional) is excellent and served in perfect surroundings.
Really an address to remember! It's improving all the time and I am sure I'll go there for my 10th time before the end of the 2013 season.

Room Tip: If you like nature, ask for a room in the garden (one story buildings)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonPedroGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This hotel is located at the back of the yachting marina, away from the main attractions of the area and about 15 minutes walk from a very busy and not particularly nice beach. In general we were very disappointed with Port Camargue and if we returned to this area, we would certainly stay in Saintes-Maries which is a much more pleasant town with a nicer beach and better faciliites. However, all this is of course not the fault of the hotel and probably down to our own lack of research prior to leaving!
Turning to the hotel itself, the room we had was large enough (we had a suite) but we found it very dark and dusty. The bathroom had some bizarre layout and design features which meant that the floor was almost constantly wet. There was a possibility to sit on the terrace at the front of the room but the gardens are shared with everybody else so there is no privacy at all. Basically what you are staying in looks like converted horse stables situated around a central grass courtyard.
Breakfast was chaotic. The buffet seemed to be permanently empty and the staff were always playing catch-up. We didn't eat here in the evenings- driving into Le Grau du Roi is a much better option.
We didn't find the staff particularly friendly and there seemed to be too few of them. They just couldn't cope.
The swimming pool was fine enough. There are also spa facilities here but we didn't use these.
Compared to what we paid when we stayed up near the Pont du Gard, before coming here, and what we paid at Saintes-Maries, where we went afterwards, this place is terribly expensive and poor value.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We recently stayed in this hotel for 7 nights (july 2011). The staff is very friendly & professional. The rooms are spacious according to french standards! The hotel is in a calm area some 100meters away from the street and there is enough parking space for the cars. The breakfast service is ok for the money they ask for it. We tried the restaurant only once. The staff of the restaurant is again professional, the food has no "surprising" effect what one can expect from this level of restaurant (since we only tried the restaurant once, it could have been on the bad evening -chef on leave- or we might not have choosen the best dishes from the menu. In general I would recommend this hotel for a calm relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rudi Dominique P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Very lovely hotel with private parking in the South of France.

The hotel is stylish and well-decorated. We spent 7 nights there and enjoyed the atmosphere.

The staff was very helpful, though one person at reception seemed to be a bit snobby. But we didn't care about this.
Hotel is located at about 800 meters walking distance from the beach, not far away from small restaurants, shops, and laundry services. We were surprised to find out that hotel does not provide laundry services for guests. That was a bad surprise for 3-star hotel.
There are several swimming pools, though we used the closest to our room and it was good.
Outdoor area is nice, with some places to seat under the olive tree and enjoy reading. It was very close to our room, so we loved it. Also there is a small patio for every room, with table and couple of chairs. So we used it to enjoy cheese and wine in the evening.
The rooms left contradictory emotions. On one hand, they are nice and touching, with paintings on the wall, clean bathroom and etc. On the other hand, our room was humid and cold, though it was summer (August) and hot around. So, for us main problems were high humidity in the room, and very cold floor all around.

If you drive, there are some places of interest around. We drove to Montpellier, which is considered to be the capital of the region. There is a nice old town Aigues-Mortes with a castle. We drove to Nimes and enjoyed the view of Roman Arena and the town itself.
Afterwards we drove to see the aqueduct at Pont du Gard, which was also built by Romans.

The overall impression is that we'd definitely come back to the hotel, given a bit more personal touch from the staff and not a humid room.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EugeneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: en demi saison les chambres expo sud resteront ensoleillées afin de conserver de la chaleur nocturne
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colibris890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank titi733333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Camargue
1.4 mi away
Hotel Cafe Miramar
Hotel Cafe Miramar
#2 of 15 in Le Grau-du-Roi
114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Spinaker Hotel Lodge & Spa
Le Spinaker Hotel Lodge & Spa
#3 of 15 in Le Grau-du-Roi
287 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Les Bains de Camargue
Hotel Les Bains de Camargue
#8 of 15 in Le Grau-du-Roi
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Villa Mazarin
Villa Mazarin
#1 of 15 in Aigues-Mortes
535 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Splendid Camargue
Hotel Splendid Camargue
#6 of 15 in Le Grau-du-Roi
412 reviews
1.5 mi away
ResidHotel Le Mayflower
ResidHotel Le Mayflower
#9 of 15 in Le Grau-du-Roi
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Oustau Camarguen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Oustau Camarguen

Address: 3 route des Marines, 30240 Port Camargue, Le Grau-du-Roi, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Gard > Le Grau-du-Roi > Port Camargue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Port Camargue
Price Range: £96 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Oustau Camarguen 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your L'Oustau Camarguen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing