We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nostalgic Journey through Time...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B a la Bataille de La Fiere
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Nostalgic Journey through Time...”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our first visit to Normandy in years and to stay at this B&B owned by Vivian and Rodolphe could not have made the visit more memorable. The rooms were quaint, cozy, very clean and chock full of historic information. The breakfasts were incredible and the building itself was simply amazing. Above all Vivian and Rodolphe were eager to explain and help us understand the various battles of nearby and of the many different soldiers' stories. You could almost imagine seeing the history before your eyes in this setting. They also provided all the information you need regarding day tours, restaurant information, maps, market info - everything. They were the most gracious of hosts and we hope to visit again and again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cordelia13Monaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    15
    3
    11
    5
See reviews for
138
148
24
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

On my first visit of Normandy I stayed in this B&B for 6 days and it was just fantastic. The B&B stands in an amazing countryside location which is so peacefull. The rooms are simply fantastic, the breakfast was wonderful. And there are of course the owners ot the B&B, Vivian and Rodolphe. They were fabulous hosts. I'm thankfull to them for all their hospitality that I was enjoying in their home and which contribute to my realy great holidays in Normandy.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sebastijan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

From the very moment that we met the hosts Vivian and Rodolphe we knew we were going to have a wonderful stay. We were warmly welcomed, shown around the property and Rodolphe even kindly insisted to carry our luggage up 2 flights of stairs to our room. Our room was the ‘82nd Airborne Attic Style Family Suite’ which had a lot of charm and character with an abundance of natural light and space. Perfect for our family of 2 adults and 2 teenage girls. In addition, the presentation of the room was spotlessly clean and tidy.
Every morning we were warmly greeted by our hosts before sitting down and enjoying a lovely, varied and plentiful breakfast.
We chose to stay at B&B a la Bataille de La Fiere, not only because it is located on a significant historical WW2 battlefield, but also because of its tranquil French countryside residence.
Just across the road is the statue of ‘Iron Mike’ overlooking the battlefield, the Mederet River and the La Fiere Bridge. From one side of our bedroom we had views of the bridge and river and the other side of the farm animals and green countryside.
The picturesque town of Sainte-Mère-Église is less than 5 minute drive. It was here that we set off for our D-Day Tours, visited the Airborne Museum, had dinner twice at the fabulous John Steele restaurant (recommended and booked on our behalf by Vivian and Rodolphe), shopped at WW2 themed souvenir shops and visited Sainte-Mère-Église Church where John Steele’s parachute got caught on the steeple.
We cannot thank Vivian and Rodolphe enough for their warm and friendly hospitality, but also for their recommendations and enthusiastic advice on things to do and see. As the Normandy battlefields cover a large area, they really made sure that we were prepared to get the most from our stay in Normandy France.
Congratulations to Vivian and Rodolphe for their excellent hospitality and customer service.
Thank you so much for making our stay most enjoyable and one we will remember forever.
We found it hard to say goodbye. Wish we could have stayed longer.
B&B a la Bataille de La Fiere, No better place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter280614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our travel party started at six folks, went to 4 then had to be postponed due to some family health issues. These hosts - Vivien and Rodolph - could not have been more accommodating, personal and understanding about our individual needs. We give them top marks in every category.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieLIZAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

When I discovered the B&B a la Bataille de La Fiere, their website led me to believe we were in for a remarkable experience. And so it was! My husband, 20 yr old daughter and I stayed with Viv and Rodolph for two nights so that I could realize my dream of seeing the D-Day Normandy battlegrounds. And La Fiere was everything I had hoped for and more: hosts who made us feel welcome in their beautiful, historic home. Hosts who shared my passion for D-Day and its heroes. Rooms that were exquisitely decorated and very comfortable and quiet. Slept so well and then awoke to the gentle chirping of birds in this peaceful spot. And then , fantastic breakfasts to start each day. It also made my trip even more special to stay with people who share my bottomless admiration and respect for our D-Day heroes. Thank you, Viv & Rodolph, for making my "bucket list" trip to Normandy so perfect in every way.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Pines, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We took our family of four, including a teenage son and daughter, to experience the history of Normandy. This beautiful and charming B&B is literally at La Fiere Bridge, site of one of the most heroic battles during the Normandy invasion. All four of us stayed in the 82d Airborne Suite, a huge suite perfectly suited for a family. Additionally, my husband, as a former 82d paratrooper and Ranger (and 100% disabled) appreciated Vivian and Rodolphe's knowledge and respect for the history of the men who fought and died there. We could look out our window and oversee where the majority of the battle ocurred. La Fiere is less than a mile from the site where Pvt DeGlopper was awarded his Medal of Honor and less than 2 miles from St. Mere Eglise. The accomodations were beautiful, the bathroom modern and the views from the room - stunning. We found Vivian and Rodolphe delightful and very helpful from taking up our luggage to helping us plan our day to make the most of our time in this area so important to the history, not only of Europe and America, but the world. The breakfasts were amazing and the perfect start to a day of sightseeing. The kids were happy to have WiFi but I can honestly say that the beauty and history of the location, as well as the hospitality of Viv and Rodolphe actually had them ignoring their "teen life" for a while and forgetting to check their phone constantly...adding to a fantastic family vacation. As for the rules, the B&B is also their home which they are graciously opening up to strangers, so we had no problems with the clear rules as they were very straightforward. We sadly left La Fiere after three days to continue on our family vacation to Paris and throughout Germany. When we asked the kids to talk about the parts of the trip they liked the best, they unanimously said they wanted to go back to Normandy and spend more time exploring the history...and of course stay at La Fiere. For history enthusiasts, families, etc., the B&B La Fiere is absolutely the best value in a beautiful, peaceful setting, rich in history, with gracious, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable hosts. We will definitely recommend it to friends and will plan another trip there.

Room Tip: The 82d Airborned Suite is perfect for a family. In Europe, most places won't allow more than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and son stayed here at the end of May, 2014. The room was clean and comfortable, the location was historical, and my son said his favorite thing about all of France was breakfast at La Fiere. Vivian was helpful getting the reservations made via email and when the guys were late showing up she called to be sure they were ok.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFiere, Owner at B&B a la Bataille de La Fiere, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thanks for all your kind words and appreciation of us and our place. It is always a pleasure to have such wonderful guests, particularly those who have kind social graces and followyp with a wonderful review to share with others. We were pleased to share our historic home with these guests. Thanks, Vivian & Rodolphe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Mere-Eglise
2.1 mi away
Logis Le Sainte Mere
Logis Le Sainte Mere
#1 of 2 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
6.6 mi away
Le Grand Hard
Le Grand Hard
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
6.2 mi away
Chateau de Flottemanville
Chateau de Flottemanville
#1 of 1 in Flottemanville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Kyriad Carentan
Kyriad Carentan
#2 of 2 in Carentan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hotel de la Marine
Hotel de la Marine
#1 of 5 in Barneville-Carteret
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
3.7 mi away
Manoir Les Quatre Etoiles
Manoir Les Quatre Etoiles
#2 of 10 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B a la Bataille de La Fiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B a la Bataille de La Fiere

Property: B&B a la Bataille de La Fiere
Address: 14 la Fiere, 50480 Sainte-Mere-Eglise, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Sainte-Mere-Eglise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing la fiere bridge crossing the merderet river, our bed and breakfast is the converted ww2 barn where the battle of Normandy began on 6 June 1944!! Located in the triangle of the three designated 82nd Airborne Division drop zones, 3km due west of Ste. Mère-Eglise, and 15km from Utah Beach in Normandy, France. Originally a grain mill built in 1180. Now, a quality guest home providing five guest bedrooms and American-French breakfast. We are NOT a HOTEL!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
b&b a La Bataille De La Fiere Hotel Sainte-Mere-Eglise
Bed And Breakfast a La Bataille De La Fiere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing