We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We had a wonderful stay”
other travellers have booked this property
the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the cottage
the lounge area of the cottage Kitchen in the cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
the cottage
the lounge area of the cottage
Kitchen in the cottage
mezzanine bedroom
wet room in the cottage
cottage in the snow
the garden & lavender in full bloom
Ferdie and I going for a walk
the gazebo at the back of the cottage
Starlings flocking taken from Utah Beach towards Ste Merie du Mont
trotter training on Utah Beach
sunset over River Douve
Utah Beach our nearest beach 10 minutes away
Houesville Marais starting to flood
Carentan Harbour
Lowering the flag at Taps Coleville Sur Mer American Cemetery
US Soldier reflecting in The American Cemetery Omaha Beach
Point du Hoc just 15 minutes from us
if the cottage is full - we have a barn apartment too - ask!
we are classified by Manche Tourism 3 stars
the cats are bigger than the jack's here!
6.6.14
Ste Mere Eglise 6.6.14
Ste Mere Eglise 6.6.14
C47 parachutes 6.6.14
Camping cars Ste Mere Eglise 6.6.14...think our cottage more comfortable!
Ste Mere Eglise 70th Anniversary
parachuting 70th Anniversary
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Sainte-Mere-Eglise, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
178France
Stanardsville, Virginia
1 review
“We had a wonderful stay”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

It was a great stay. Having the apartment to stay in made for a nice relaxing evening after touring around all day. Tansy was very helpful with places to go and some evenings they'd welcome us with wine on the patio. A nice ending to a day. It was a touch of home having a washer and dryer available to us during the week and it was easy to get to the Super U market in the next village. I loved having the fresh eggs that Mike and Tansy had from their hens. The dogs are great and Madge will keep you playing all day if you let her. A great stay for a couple looking to get away from it all. A lovely farm setting. Thanks to Mike and Tansy for everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A peaceful retreat at the end of the day. Not a busy hotel somewhere.
Liked least: It took a day a two to get use to the church bells ringing on the hour and the donkey braying but after the first day it becomes part of the charm.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2013
So very pleased to hear you had a great stay - we always enjoy to hear about our guests explorations...glass of wine good way to do it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-break
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed 3 July 2013 for a stay in April 2013

It's has taken me a little while to write this review, as we stayed back in April, but I have nothing but good things to say. We stayed in the cottage and enjoyed fresh eggs straight from the farm in the lovely enclosed patio every morning, and even tried a goose egg for the first time our last morning there. The location is perfect for visiting the historic sites and there are plenty of walking/biking trails straight from the cottage. We had a bit of traffic trouble getting there so we arrived much later than they normally like, but Mike and Tansee (sorry if i spelt that wrong) were very accommodating. We had our dog with us and she loved running the property. If you are not an animal person, this might not be the spot for you, but we thought all the farm animals were great. Though he woke you up every morning, my favorite was the neighbors donkey. Only negative was that though the shower is very big and nice, there is no ledge to catch the water so you have to squeegee the water back to the drain while showering.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Atmosphere and location
Liked least: The Shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us, I am pleased on the whole you rated us.

We do like to welcome of visitors during working hours as late arrivals after 9 p.m. are disruptive for our neighbours with our dogs getting excited, plus shops and supermarkets around here close up at 6.30 with restaurants taking last orders at 9 p.m. You won't find anywhere to get supplies or a meal.

So sorry you didn't like the shower arrangement ... It has been designed with no step so it's a true walk in shower/ wet room, the whole room is tiled to allow water splashes, we leave a squeezie to dry the floors after showering.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Reviewed 13 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Oct 2012
we are so pleased to see this review and that we did fulfill your expectations...thank you for taking the time to share your experience!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
longgaff
Dolores, Colorado
1 review
“A charming bit of French countryside!”
Reviewed 4 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

The cottage is adorable and it is in a real farm setting with animals and beautifully-landscaped property. Owners are warm and wonderful and helpful with any needs - from where to visit to where to eat. Just the nicest and most helpful people.
We loved our stay at La Ferme Eglise!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the setting and the owners
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2012
Thank you - what a lovely review and we're so thrilled we came up to expectations!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMedFa...
Mermaid Waters, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Everything you could ever want for a holiday”
Reviewed 2 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week at Ferme de l'Eglise and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The cottage is a lovely mix of the old and the new - historic lounge and bedroom and very modern kitchen, bathroom and conservatory/ dining room. Tansy and Mike have equipped the cottage with everything you could need for your stay, including bath robes, books, bikes, DVDs and kitchen and bathroom supplies. They are truly wonderful hosts and made us feel so welcome, as did Simon who met us on arrival. Tansy had sent us a very comprehensive information package including exact details on how to locate the cottage all the way to Australia when we booked. Nothing is overlooked to make sure that you enjoy your time with them. The cottage has a very good internet connection and lots of satellite TV channels to choose from. It was a treat for us to be on a small farm surrounded by so many animals who we were free to interact with if we wished.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sun filled conservatory
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2012
so very pleased we came up to expectation...we do pour our hearts into our little business here, so it's thrilling to hear it's appreciated! Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$86
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing