We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good location, friendly hosts.”
Review of Hotel du 6 Juin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel du 6 Juin
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value, good location, friendly hosts.”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I stayed here with my son for 2 nights in June. The owner speaks excellent English and was most welcoming. Our room was comfortable, clean and quiet. The Continental breakfast was very good, and we had dinner in the hotel one night which I can happily recommend. This small hotel has its own parking and is within easy walking distance of the centre of the town. Ste-Mere-Eglise is a good base to visit the D-Day Utah beach and US Airborne locations. Overall I can highly recommend this hotel, and it was not expensive.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    29
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
25
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The hotel is well situated in the centre of the town. The room we stayed in was clean but basic. The hotel is good value for money and we found it fine for our stopover being only 30 mins from Cherbourg.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We enjoyed our stay. Be sure to bring your own toiletries, as they only had small packets of shampoo and soap. Great dark blinds on the windows, which was a big help during the summer when there was only about 4 hours of darkness.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler5252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

My wife and daughter were met by the owner Sebastien at the door. He is fluent in both French and English so there were no communication issues.We wanted to stay in a real french village that played a part in the D-day invasions. This hotel fit the bill PERFECTLY. We were made to feel at home. Room was very nice and handled all 3 of us. Every morning we were met with coffee, juice and fresh baked breads. We chose to eat dinner at the hotel and it was excellant home cooked meal. It is located 2 small blocks from the famous church and musuem. The town is the same as the para troopers saw it in 1944. If you are doing a D-day tour, I recomend highly this quaint hotel. Most of thepeople in our tour rode the train from paris and back the same day. If this is your only trip to tour the beaches and Normandy, do yourself a favor and stay at the 6 of June if you want to take back fond memories of your D-day visit.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the Hotels dinner option
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markdr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We stayed here for one night whilst in the st mere eglise area and the hotel was ideal. Small and friendly with parking adjacent. Our room was large (as it was a family room) and spotless. Breakfast very nice too. Would definitely recommend the hotel especially if you are into war history as it is a minute's walk away from a very interesting museum and a short drive from D Day beaches.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsWicker_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We reserved using the online process (on the hotel's website); this worked fine and we were expected when we arrived.

The hotel is situated just a couple of minutes' walk from the centre of St Mere Eglise - a spacious square surrounding the church, from which hangs, by his parachute, a representation of the parachutist John Steele, who found himself in this predicament on the morning of June 6th, 1944 (he survived, to pass into legend). All the other D-Day attractions, of which there are many, are in this area, so the hotel is well-sited for the D-Day tourist.

The hotel, which has more or less the appearance of a private house, has 11 rooms and ours, which I imagine is typical, was smallish, with small bathroom and wc., but entirely adequate. It was very clean and we found the bed comfortable. It's on a minor road, but we didn't hear any traffic noise. Free and powerful WiFi available.

Outside, there is a terrace and a large lawn area with tables - most enjoyable for a drink in the sun.

Meals are served and the dinner we had was simple, but of excellent quality and good value.

The host and hostess are exceptionally friendly and accommodating.

We were very satisfied with out stay here and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

This very modest Inn is a short walk off the central square of Ste. Mere-Eglise, in a quiet, peaceful corner of a town where most things would be described the same way. The room I stayed in was quite small -- not shocking by European standards -- yet it was also very clean and comfortable.
If you find yourself in Ste. Mere, (a good base of operations for a Normandy tour, a bit off the more-traveled tourist path) there are two good reasons to consider the 6 Juin.
One is the price, which speaks for itself. The other, as previous reviewers have said, is Sebastian, the proprietor. He is exceedingly courteous and helpful -- and multilingual -- and the croissants he came back with each morning were among our trip's memorable pleasantries.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rover17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Mere-Eglise
0.4 mi away
Logis Le Sainte Mere
Logis Le Sainte Mere
#1 of 2 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
157 reviews
4.5 mi away
Le Grand Hard
Le Grand Hard
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
162 reviews
7.1 mi away
Chateau de Quineville
Chateau de Quineville
#1 of 1 in Quineville
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Logis Grand Hotel du Louvre
8.7 mi away
Kyriad Carentan
Kyriad Carentan
#2 of 2 in Carentan
110 reviews
7.6 mi away
Chateau de Flottemanville
Chateau de Flottemanville
#1 of 1 in Flottemanville
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du 6 Juin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du 6 Juin

Property: Hotel du 6 Juin
Address: 11 rue des Clarons, 50480 Sainte-Mere-Eglise, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Sainte-Mere-Eglise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du 6 Juin 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du 6 Juin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing