We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“October'13”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel du 6 Juin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel du 6 Juin
Liverpool
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“October'13”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

returned to St Mere Englise after travelling up from Spain, and stayed here for three nights. Sebastein and the staff were excellent as always. there's not much to add about the hotel and staff as most of the comments on the site have already given a good indication of what to expect if you decided to stay here. The rooms are of a good standard, air-con, tv, and en-suite.

A well located place to stay at if your going to visit all the D-Day museums.

On my trip, the town square was in the process of having the area re-paved around the church, which didn't help the local traders and tourist trade.This should all be completed by the end of November'13. The town itself seems to closed down after 8 in the evening, but this seems to be a common thing in these small towns. Evening meals are available at the hotel and all of good quality and price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 529GeorgeR529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    25
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
22
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Askam in Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel 6th Juin on a recent trip to the D-Day lading sites. The hotel was in a grt location and Sebastein (Mgr/Owner) is an absolute gentleman. We arrived late and he kept the restaurant open for us. The hotel itself is very clean and comfortable! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrus Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Very small room. Good breakfast. Great location. Bathroom was very small. If you are a bit overweight you will be going without a shower. It was clean. The service good, Small parking lot. Good location for St Mere Eglise.

Room Tip: Small room and very small bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

I just came back from my second trip to St Mere Eglise and my brother and I stayed at the Hotel du 6 Juin. Sebastein and Olga are great hosts and enjoy spending time with their guests. Sebastein picked us up at the Carentan train station. The meals we had were good as well as the wine and beer. The hotel is less than a 5 minute walk to the church where John Steele was caught on the steeple. It is close not only to the beaches but also to close to where the paratroopers would have landed as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed for one night in the family room, heading home from two weeks family camping in southern France. Had always wanted to visit this famous little town and only booked this hotel after seeing such good trip advisor reviews. The hotel is situated less than a two minute walk from the town square, airborne museum and church. The owner was a genuinely nice bloke and made us feel welcome after a very long drive north. The hotel is two stars and is not upmarket or luxury. However, it is clean and well run. The bed was amazing after 15 days in a tent! Breakfast was plentiful, good quality and set us up for the day. The hotel was very quiet and at dawn with the window open the only sound was the bells on the church clock and a cockerel about half a mile away. We would happily stop here again.

Room Tip: Room six is the family room with bunk beds. Top bunk for over 6 year olds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

My husband and I and another couple became stranded without a room upon arrival in Sainte Mere Eglise, and upon recommendation from the local tourist agency, we were sent to this hotel. Sebastian and his wife were wonderful to us. The rooms were clean, neat, and roomy. The food was great. If we ever go back to Normandy, we will stay here again. The town itself is also lovely.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAHRains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
146 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

St. Mete Eglise would be of no interest to you if it would not be chosen as the first location to be invaded in D-day.The place had not changed much since and indeed, it is a tiny village with an interesting museum and some hotels. of this limited choice we took the Hotel du 6 Juin. The rooms are Spartan, with old furniture, probably dating to the mid 60's. If you do not mind that, the hotel is fine. Clean.

Room Tip: A very limited choice of restaurants in the village! Eat early or fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Mere-Eglise
0.4 mi away
Logis Le Sainte Mere
Logis Le Sainte Mere
#1 of 2 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
4.5 mi away
Le Grand Hard
Le Grand Hard
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
7.4 mi away
Chateau de Flottemanville
Chateau de Flottemanville
#1 of 1 in Flottemanville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Kyriad Carentan
Kyriad Carentan
#2 of 2 in Carentan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
18.3 mi away
Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie
Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie
#1 of 4 in La Glacerie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chambres D'Hotes De L'Eglise
Chambres D'Hotes De L'Eglise
#4 of 10 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du 6 Juin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du 6 Juin

Property: Hotel du 6 Juin
Address: 11 rue des Clarons, 50480 Sainte-Mere-Eglise, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Sainte-Mere-Eglise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel du 6 Juin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing