We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 128 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Dee and Yves were incredibly welcoming and friendly to a solo traveller. Yves came to pick me up to the airport late in the evening which was nice because I didn't see many taxis around. They were kind enough to give me some delicious roast chicken when I arrived to save me from having a sandwich at the airport.

They have a large and very nicely kept home in what appears to be a quiet residential street. I had a small double room over looking the garden and houses in the distance. It was very quiet although I could hear people moving around above me. The room was well lit there were lots of power sockets. The Wi-Fi and TV worked well. The sink surround was large so there was a lot of space for toiletries. The only thing missing was a shaving mirror for those of us that are too shortsighted to see in the mirror! There was a square jacuzzi bath and a separate shower. Breakfast was a feast with anything you desired cooked to order including porridge (oatmeal), fried eggs, omelettes, scrambled eggs, french toast and fruit salad and so on. Dee even packed me a pot of yoghurt & fruit to take away except I stupidly left it behind! Yves kindly drove me to the hire car location the next morning so I could pick up my hire car. They were full of helpful advice on where I should go to replace my camera that broke during my trip.

It was lovely staying with them & if I hadn't already paid in advance for my stay at the Marriott Courtyard I would have cancelled it in preference to staying with them. I had chosen the Marriott for the convenience of being near the airport. But the friendly welcome & comfort of staying with them far exceeded the impersonal Marriott. So don't make the mistake I did!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thumbelina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houseofjade, Owner at Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you Nikola for the nice review. We too would have enjoyed having your stay a bit longer. We can't thank you enough for the wonderful youtube video. We've shown it to many of our guests. They were envious. Hope we have the opportunity to see you again one day. Fondly, Dee & Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
93
95
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

My son and I just completed a 9-day trip to AZ and AK and stayed in a variety of hotels, motels and B&Bs. If you travel to Anchorage, DO NOT miss out on the opportunity to stay with Dee and Yves.

Their house is beautiful, clean, comforable and affordable. Our hosts were very knowledgeable on the area and attractions and even lent us their trail bikes for a spin along the Coastal Trail.

Dee - thank you for your hospitality!
Yves - Ethan and I want you to join us next time! BTW, if you haven't hiked Crow's Pass in Girdwood, make sure you put that on your list - it is awe-inspiring!

Best wishes,

Doug

Room Tip: Book early or Dee will not have availability - guaranteed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug-n-Tricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houseofjade, Owner at Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Hi Doug... thanks for the wonderful review and suggestion for booking early! We're already getting lots of requests for the 2014 season. Yves says he also enjoyed Crows Pass. Alaska has so many great hiking opportunities. We hope to see you and Ethan on your next Alaskan adventure. Dee & Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We bookended our vacation at the Alaskan House of Jade. Dee and Yves are perfect hosts and the house is lovely, quiet and clean as a whistle. One evening we were treated to wine and conversation. The other evening we were so tired that we retreated to the privacy of our suite although we were welcomed to join the lively gathering in the kitchen.

We stayed in both the Susitna and the Chugach Suites- it felt like home.

The drive from the airport is about 20 minutes; not bad at all. I liked being a bit out of central Anchorage. You will find that they are close to major corridors- it was easy getting around.

Room Tip: The Susitna and the Chugach Suites are lovely but on the second floor. There are first floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChloesMomBetsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houseofjade, Owner at Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thanks John & Betsey for the nice review. We enjoyed meeting you and sincerely hope you'll visit us again on your next trip to Alaska. Dee & Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soldotna, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I am from Soldotna, Alaska and prefer B&B's over hotels. My brother and his wife were vacationing from Albuquerque so i arranged a train trip to Denali Park for the three of us. We stayed with Dee and Yves B&B, Alaska House of Jade, both the night before the train to the Park and then upon our return. Dee was very accommodating in arranging her bookings so that we could have that second night with them. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the food was delicious. They were very gracious hosts and even had time during their busy summer schedule to sit with us and have a relaxing glass of wine and some good conversation. The home is very beautifully decorated with collectibles from their wintertime travels. I recommend this B&B as the best of the best!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GRDIDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houseofjade, Owner at Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Hello Deanna - Thanks for the nice review. We're happy you enjoyed your visit with us. We enjoyed meeting you and Dennis and Wanda. We hope to see you again one day. Dee & Yves
p.s. Thanks for brochures, etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Our 7th visit to Alaska House of Jade B&B! We are warmly welcomed every time and right at home with wonderful hosts Dee and Yves. So accommodating and generous with their hospitality. Amazing breakfasts each morning and wonderful selection of guest rooms to accommodate all sizes of family. We come every year and love our visits!

Room Tip: Lots of rooms to choose from but book well in advance if you have a favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houseofjade, Owner at Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Sorry it's taken so long to thank you for the nice review Debbie & Keith. We think of you as family after all your visits. This year was especially nice having Meghan and Melanie here as well. Looking forward to seeing you in September, 2014. Fondly, Dee & Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Outstanding place to stay. The best service, the best breakfast, beautiful property and very comfortable bed and room. We absolutely enjoyed our stay at Alaska House of Jade. Dee and her husband were the most warming host, really could not ask for anything better. The breakfast was wonderful, OMG..Dee can make the best Waffles in the face of the earth!!!.....The best breakfast we have ever had at any B & B and we have stayed at many Bed and Breakfast in many places. But none to the level of this place. Yves even took the time to take my husband on a hike one morning, he was wonderful. Once you get to the place the "home" feeling is great. Very comfortable, super clean, affordable prices. We hope to come back next year and will book with House of Jade. Thank you Dee and Yves for making our stay so perfect. You guys are the absolute Best.

Room Tip: I believe any room would be perfect, Dee and Yves take care of things perfectly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfdenTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houseofjade, Owner at Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Hi Mike & Meredith. Thanks for the great review. We appreciate you taking the time to write about your visit. We enjoyed meeting both of you and will look forward to your next visit. Glad you enjoyed your anniversary in our wonderful state. Dee & Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montebello, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed at House of Jade last week before our trip up to Denali. It was a great start to our vacation. The house was spotless and all the rooms are spacious. Dee put out a great home cooked breakfast. We felt vey comfortable and had wonderful conversations with Dee and Yves. There hospitality was exceptional. A definite home away from home in Alaska.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyNY_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houseofjade, Owner at Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thanks for the nice review Donna. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your Alaskan holiday. We enjoyed meeting you and George and will look forward to seeing you again if and when you return to Alaska. Regards, Dee & Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#16 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#20 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast

Property: Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3800 Delwood Pl, Anchorage, AK 99504-4429
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious suites with accommodations for families and large groups. Most rooms have multiple beds. In addition, all rooms have private bath, flat screen cable TV and robes. On-site free parking and convient location just minutes from the airport and city center. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alaska House Of Jade Bed And Breakfast Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing