We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 128 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stop your relentless searching and stay here. You won’t regret it! Our family of four stayed at the House of Jade for 2 nights. Upon arrival to ANC and again before leaving ANC. We have 2 teenage sons who appreciated not sharing the same bed as you would get in a hotel room. There are many options available for larger families as well. We stayed in a room with a queen bed and 3 twin beds. Dee made a delicious dessert each night (rhubarb pie and bananas foster). The rooms were very clean and no need to share a bath with other clients. Breakfast the first morning was made to order omelets, hash browns, bacon, fresh fruit, coffee, tea and juice. The morning we flew out, Dee made us a breakfast to go. She packed hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, muffins, apples, bananas, yogurt, juice and even the salt and pepper. It was enough for lunch as well! This place is reasonable and so much better than a hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugg4949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houseofjade, Owner at Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thanks Amy and Gary: It's always nice when guests take the time to write a review and even more special when it's such a nice review. Thanks for taking the time. We enjoyed meeting you and Aaron and Colin. Till we meet again.... Fondly, Dee & Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
93
95
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed in the Alaska House of Jade for 2 nights in July, Yves picked us up from the airport, even though we missed our original flight and were an hour late. The room was large and comfortable with a generous sized en suite. Breakfast was amazing, scrambled eggs, sausages, fresh fruit, home made granola, pancakes etc. Dee and Yves are the perfect hosts, they even lent us their car for the day and Yves suggested where to visit. We left early the 2nd morning so Dee packed us off with a large self service breakfast, fruit and yogurt, bagels and cream cheese, eggs etc, which we ate on the train to Seward. If you are staying in Anchorage I can thoroughly recommend the Alaskan House of Jade.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OneFromLondonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houseofjade, Owner at Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Hi Joyce & Chris: Thank you very much for such a nice review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us and sincerely hope we'll see you again somewhere in the world. It was a pleasure sharing our home. Regards, Dee & Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We only had one night here, but it was easy to see why it is so highly acclaimed. We stayed in the Redoubt room would be great for a family (just 2 of us). There was lots of common space including a kitchen; although Dee makes you feel very welcome in hers and is always offering goodies, beverages and anything else you want. She is the consummate host, moreover she was the most professional individual I dealt with in Alaska in terms of responding promptly to inquiries and handling reservations. That attention to detail carries through to all aspects of your accommodation. Rooms are clean spacious and well thought out. The food is wonderful and plentiful. The hosts are warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pranalotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houseofjade, Owner at Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Hello Laura & Richard: Thanks for such a detailed and nice review. We're sorry your visit was so short but hope you enjoyed our wonderful state. We enjoyed meeting you and sharing our home. Regards, Dee & Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

House of Jade B&B was the highlight of our stay in Anchorage! Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay in Alaska! Yves and Dee were so warm and welcoming, and breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyingbunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houseofjade, Owner at Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
We enjoy knowing who is writing such nice reviews but unfortunately this review didn't give us one clue about your identity, but we nonetheless thank you for taking the time to write. We're happy you enjoyed your visit. Dee & Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Dee and Yves were incredibly welcoming and friendly to a solo traveller. Yves came to pick me up to the airport late in the evening which was nice because I didn't see many taxis around. They were kind enough to give me some delicious roast chicken when I arrived to save me from having a sandwich at the airport.

They have a large and very nicely kept home in what appears to be a quiet residential street. I had a small double room over looking the garden and houses in the distance. It was very quiet although I could hear people moving around above me. The room was well lit there were lots of power sockets. The Wi-Fi and TV worked well. The sink surround was large so there was a lot of space for toiletries. The only thing missing was a shaving mirror for those of us that are too shortsighted to see in the mirror! There was a square jacuzzi bath and a separate shower. Breakfast was a feast with anything you desired cooked to order including porridge (oatmeal), fried eggs, omelettes, scrambled eggs, french toast and fruit salad and so on. Dee even packed me a pot of yoghurt & fruit to take away except I stupidly left it behind! Yves kindly drove me to the hire car location the next morning so I could pick up my hire car. They were full of helpful advice on where I should go to replace my camera that broke during my trip.

It was lovely staying with them & if I hadn't already paid in advance for my stay at the Marriott Courtyard I would have cancelled it in preference to staying with them. I had chosen the Marriott for the convenience of being near the airport. But the friendly welcome & comfort of staying with them far exceeded the impersonal Marriott. So don't make the mistake I did!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thumbelina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houseofjade, Owner at Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you Nikola for the nice review. We too would have enjoyed having your stay a bit longer. We can't thank you enough for the wonderful youtube video. We've shown it to many of our guests. They were envious. Hope we have the opportunity to see you again one day. Fondly, Dee & Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

My son and I just completed a 9-day trip to AZ and AK and stayed in a variety of hotels, motels and B&Bs. If you travel to Anchorage, DO NOT miss out on the opportunity to stay with Dee and Yves.

Their house is beautiful, clean, comforable and affordable. Our hosts were very knowledgeable on the area and attractions and even lent us their trail bikes for a spin along the Coastal Trail.

Dee - thank you for your hospitality!
Yves - Ethan and I want you to join us next time! BTW, if you haven't hiked Crow's Pass in Girdwood, make sure you put that on your list - it is awe-inspiring!

Best wishes,

Doug

Room Tip: Book early or Dee will not have availability - guaranteed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug-n-Tricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houseofjade, Owner at Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Hi Doug... thanks for the wonderful review and suggestion for booking early! We're already getting lots of requests for the 2014 season. Yves says he also enjoyed Crows Pass. Alaska has so many great hiking opportunities. We hope to see you and Ethan on your next Alaskan adventure. Dee & Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We bookended our vacation at the Alaskan House of Jade. Dee and Yves are perfect hosts and the house is lovely, quiet and clean as a whistle. One evening we were treated to wine and conversation. The other evening we were so tired that we retreated to the privacy of our suite although we were welcomed to join the lively gathering in the kitchen.

We stayed in both the Susitna and the Chugach Suites- it felt like home.

The drive from the airport is about 20 minutes; not bad at all. I liked being a bit out of central Anchorage. You will find that they are close to major corridors- it was easy getting around.

Room Tip: The Susitna and the Chugach Suites are lovely but on the second floor. There are first floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChloesMomBetsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houseofjade, Owner at Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thanks John & Betsey for the nice review. We enjoyed meeting you and sincerely hope you'll visit us again on your next trip to Alaska. Dee & Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#16 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast

Property: Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3800 Delwood Pl, Anchorage, AK 99504-4429
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious suites with accommodations for families and large groups. Most rooms have multiple beds. In addition, all rooms have private bath, flat screen cable TV and robes. On-site free parking and convient location just minutes from the airport and city center. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alaska House Of Jade Bed And Breakfast Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing