We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this!”

Segway Tours of Anchorage
Ranked #15 of 75 Tours in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Come join us on a Segway Tour of Anchorage! Take a tour around Downtown Anchorage, watch the salmon spawn in Ship Creek, take in views of the Cook Inlet and the Alaska Range, and ride through history at the Alaska Statehood Monument and the historic Alaska Railroad terminal. Segway Tours of Anchorage provides an approximately 90 minute guided tour of Downtown Anchorage on a Segway, the gyroscopically enhanced Personal Transporter. Learning to ride a Segway is simple and fun for the whole family! Before we start the tour, your guide will lead you through an orientation and training of riding a Segway! Some of the sites you may see during the tour include: Stops to view King Salmon and Silver Salmon returning from the ocean to spawn at Ship Creek. A view of the Cook Inlet, the Alaska Range, Mt McKinley and Mount Susitna at Resolution Park. The Alaska Statehood Monument with views of Anchorage’s original town site The historic Alaska Railroad Terminal. Town Square in the heart of downtown with its fabulous flower displays. Westchester Lagoon and the multitudes of migratory bird inhabitants. The Delaney Park Strip and Centenial Rose Garden. The Tony Knowles Coastal Trail. "Star The Reindeer," our local resident and mascot. And Yes, she is a real reindeer! Don't miss out on this great, fun-filled experience in Anchorage!
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved this!”
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

This was our first time on SEGWAYS, and it was fantastic. Especially as we had already had a full day of sightseeing, and were a little tired but still in an adventurous mood. They were way easier to work than we first thought, and the training was excellent. We were very confident once we hit the streets. We are in our 50s and I have no doubt that my adventurous 86 year old dad could do this!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    14
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Segway Tour”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We went on a 2 hour Segway Tour ) during a stay in Anchorage, after a Cruise/Tour. We've ridden Segways in San Francisco, in Bruges (Belgium) and on Sanibel Island, Florida. This tour was one of the best. It lasted a full 2 hours and covered some interesting parts of the city. We also went to a bridge and managed to see the beginning of the Salmon Run.

Michael was an informative, helpful and professional guide and made the tour interesting as well as fun. Segways are great to ride and we always look for a tour in the places we visit. This tour starts downtown, near the Hilton and goes around lots of the downtown area, including the bay. If you want to visit a particular spot, the guide will usually try to accommodate it.

It is a little expensive ($90 dollars each approximately), but well worth it for the fun experience.
Once you've tried this, you'll be hooked.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nanniebren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Segway good way to see downtown”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This was a fun way to see downtown. We were able to cover a lot of ground, and the segways were fun. Our guide, Michael, was ok. He asked us what we wanted to see, so we are partially to blame for feeling that the tour was less of a tour and more of riding segways. However, it would have been better if there was a more "set" tour and more information on Anchorage presented. Still, we had a great time; and will recommend it to friends.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Hill, Maryland
Level Contributor
163 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Interesting Way to See Anchorage!!”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

First time to visit Anchorage & wanted to do something interactive and not just sit on a bus. We found a Segway tour and it worked out great. Our party of 5 got paired with an older couple though, so we got slowed down quite a bit, that being our only negative. The guides were great, gave a lot of history and recommendations for the city. We were able to get started on the Segways pretty quickly, they were easy to use. Again, the only negative was that we were slowed down on our tour quite a bit by the two older folks on our tour that went really slow. It put us late on our tour so the guide was going to pass the beaver dam but I asked about it so they added it back in thankfully. We saw the dam and river otters. We had a clear day so we also saw Mt. McKinley. Not a whole lot to see but it was a great way to move around downtown and get a feel for the city. Plus, it was FUN.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salina, Kansas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great way to see the city”
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

My husband 63 andI took our tour with Micheal. He was so kind and helpful. We asked if he could take pictures of us using our Rebel camera and he took some great ones!! It was like having a tour of the city, a private photography. And tour guide all in one. The segways are a little tricky going downhills but over all we found this a fantastic tour and would recommend it to anyone that is mobile and some what coordinated

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ihatescreennames51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Segway Tours of Anchorage also viewed

 

Been to Segway Tours of Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing