We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, unique experience”

Yak and Yeti Himalayan Restuarant
Ranked #60 of 873 Restaurants in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Indian, Tibetan, Asian, Nepalese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome, unique experience”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Delicious lunch! The environment is pretty basic - (heads-up, no table service...you pick up your good once it's ready & "bus" your dishes & toss your garbage post-meal)...but a delightful experience. Staff provided helpful recommendations re: lunch combos. Will definitely be back!

Helpful?
2 Thank Inbr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    42
    12
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot!!!”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I haven’t been to main location; however the small café version near REI is a great spot for a quick bite eat. The food is tasty and the prices are good. The rice bowls are excellent and filling and they also have an excellent bakery for dessert “to go”.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hits the Spot”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I popped in here several weeks ago to grab a bite to eat before heading to an evening engagement. After some deliberation, I settled for a bowl of potato lentil soup. It was absolutely divine, very flavorful and filling, with a wonderfully silky texture. I was a bit disappointed no roll came with the bowl of soup, but I know these guys do more international cuisine so it's understandable. If you're looking for some grub that's a bit off the beaten path, give this place a try. I will definitely be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akgrowngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“So good!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Great little hole in the wall on Spenard Rd has the best Himalayan food in Anchorage! Ok, maybe it's the only Himalayan food in Anchorage... but it's a fusion of the finest in town: Indian and Nepalese cuisine. Very tasty, unique, and one of my favorite places to eat. Friendly staff, loads of vegetarian options, (plenty of non-vegetarian as well), Kathmandu Daal Bhatt being my favorite. Last time I was there it was BYOB. If you're adventurous try the Indian Pickle, it'll put interesting gestures on your face. Love this place.... they do keep odd hours so make sure you check that they're open before you commit to going.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We BOTH enjoyed our meal!”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I am not Indian, but I ADORE Indian food. I could eat it every day. My friend in Anchorage is much less enthusiastic, but consented to be dragged here. Himalayan is a little different from Indian, and my friend thought that was an excellent thing! We had the pork vindaloo, which was a little sweeter and less spicy than what I am accustomed to, but good. We also ordered Himalayan chicken and bun dishes, the details of which escape me now, but they were enjoyable. I had hot chai tea, one of my favorite things in life, and it was wonderful. When we entered, we were the only customers. Within 20 minutes, the restaurant was filled! There's no place to wait if a table isn't available, so my recommendation is dine early or late if you want to be sure to be seated!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank An0nM0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yak and Yeti Himalayan Restuarant also viewed

 

Been to Yak and Yeti Himalayan Restuarant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing