We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Request a room near the elevator or bring a bike!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anchorage
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Henderson, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 466 helpful votes
“Request a room near the elevator or bring a bike!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

For being the #1 rated hotel in Anchorage on TA at the time of this writing I really expected a whole lot more. We generally like the Embassy Suites chains being Hilton Honors members and this hotel does a decent job of meeting the standard as far as customer service and accommodations, but there were a few things that bothered us. First of all upon check in there was no bell services so we got all our own luggage--that in and of itself doesn't bother me too much except that the only luggage cart we could find was poorly functional with a locking wheel that made it a pain to navigate. Okay fine, but then our room is at the far end of the hotel which requires a VERY long walk from the elevator. There are no elevators for the far end of the hotel and we walked further than we have ever had to walk from an elevator to a room--EVER. Okay, whatever we can deal with it because there were exit stairs and I figured we could just park the car near the far end and take the stairs up to our room instead of making a gigantic circle--no such luck. The stairs are exit only! This hotel is extremely poorly designed. I demanded a room change and luckily they were able to accommodate--but if they're full and you are stuck? Get ready to hike.

The location of the hotel is in a rather run down looking area of Anchorage that is a good 10-15 min drive to city center. Not that big a deal--if you're in AK you are probably doing lots of day excursions outside of town or just stopping over anyways. We found the rooms to be dated with very old carpet and an uncomfortable sectional couch. Otherwise the beds were decent and the suite was spacious. Breakfast was very crowded but very good for being included. They gave us two free drink coupons at the bar as well which was a nice touch. This place is okay. Nothing special.

Room Tip: Next to elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wskungfuclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
embassyanch, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Anchorage, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us. I appreciate your comments although I might imagine that many of the surrounding businesses might object to be considered run-down. Recommendation to avoid breakfast crowds is stay away from the late breakfast period. Often the breakfast has few people for long periods and gets hit heavily over the last 30 minutes. We hope you will return to Embassy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    902
    327
    94
    28
    16
See reviews for
495
326
57
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

12th trip to Anchorage, first and last time trip to this property. Airport shuttle limited to airport and city center - can't go to Lake Hood for float plane nor downtown car rental location that they're not getting kickbacks from. Taxi service poor because of location - cabs are where the fares are located. Room nice, but showing signs of wear and use...leather "sofa" weathered and cracked on edges, 30 minutes for bath tub to drain after one shower. Breakfast well below average except for CTO Omelette. Fish and chips at dinner was comical...three halibut sticks and small basket of fries for $18...more fish and fries at McD's on Filet of Fish Combo for 1/3 price plus drink included. Low tier Embassy Suites - especially for the money relative to other Anchorage hotels. Stay downtown or near the airport...especially if using Lake Hood for ANY fly out destinations.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
embassyanch, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Anchorage, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Providing guests with excellent accommodations and service is our goal every day and I regret that we fell short. I am pleased that there were aspects of your stay that you enjoyed but sorry that this was not true across the board. We will be sure to use your feedback to help us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Our stay here started out on a very bad note. We called for the airport shuttle from baggage claim and they told me the driver was on his way and it would be 20-30 minutes. We weren't wild about that, but figured we'd rather wait that long than take a cab. 30 minutes later, I called back, fairly annoyed. They told me they had had a shift change but the driver was on his way now and would be there in 20 minutes. Had they told me initially it would be up to 50 minutes, we would have taken a cab on our own dime, because we landed at 11 pm Alaska time/midnight California time and we were exhausted and had to get up at 6:30 am the next morning for a day trip. The shuttle finally arrived right at the end of 20 minutes, a full 50 minutes after we had first called for it. Right as the shuttle arrived, another group appeared. My husband thinks (and I think he's correct) that they were waiting for the other people's plane to land to send the shuttle. If so, that's really obnoxious, and at a minimum they should have been honest and told us what they were doing initially so we could take a cab. Once we got on the shuttle, it was a short 10 minute ride to the hotel, so I'm not sure why it would have taken them so long to send a shuttle unless they were waiting on other people (something they never indicated to me on the phone). To their credit, the staff noted my displeasure about the shuttle and offered us free wifi for our stay, which was much appreciated.

They also advertise a free shuttle to downtown, which we used to pick up a rental car at a cheaper non-airport location. However, this shuttle neither runs on a regular timetable nor on demand. You can't ask for the shuttle at a specific time or call down from your room. If you try to call from your room, they tell you have to come down to the lobby all ready to go and ask for it, and then when you do that they quote you a wait time (in our case, 30 minutes) and you just have to sit around waiting for it. It's pretty inefficient.

The rooms themselves are very nice - very large and a true suite with a separated bedroom. It was larger than many 1 bedroom apartments and very clean and comfortable. The pool area is also very nice by hotel standards and has adult only hours (10 pm-midnight) which I haven't heard of at other hotels and which I think is awesome.

The breakfast has both hot buffet items & made to order items. The hot buffet items were worthless (cold, rubbery eggs; dry, cold French toast) but the made to order items - including not only the usual omelettes, but also pancakes - were pretty good. The pancakes came either plain or with blueberry or chocolate chips. I had blueberry ones a couple times and they were really loaded with blueberries, but one day they were raw to the point of having liquid batter pour out when I cut them open.

Overall, our stay here was satisfactory (minus the shuttle issues) but not worth the price paid, which was high even for Anchorage in July. I chose Embassy Suites largely because they are affiliated with Hilton Honors, with whom I have elite status. Having had less than great experiences both here and at an Embassy Suites in Portland, I probably won't stay with the chain again. Unless you get a super deal here, you can probably get a better value for your dollar elsewhere in Anchorage.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ahm5885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
embassyanch, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Anchorage, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
I appreciate your review and your feedback. We will certainly take your all your feedback into account as we constantly strive to improve our services. I do want to assure you that the van is never held at the hotel waiting for additional guests to possibly arrive. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Visited for three days in mid July on our honeymoon. we took the free shuttle from the airport.

Shuttle:
The shuttle was badly damaged (broken windshield, torn interior, and rust) and the shuttle bus driver made several passes before finally heading to the hotel. It took about an hour from the airport to the hotel due to multiple passes.

Checkin:
Once we arrive at the hotel, our experience took a turn for the better....way way better. Front desk staff was efficient and quickly checked us in.

Room:
Our room (king suite) was impeccably clean, and filled with several special touches to start our honeymoon. We found a welcome basket with some snacks and sweets, a hand made welcome card with a ruby heart of sequins, and a beautiful towel shaped into a standing heart with rose petals all over on our bed. Wow! Brittany from the front desk really made our room perfect with these special touches!

Manager Reception:
The managers reception is great! You need to show your ID to the bar tender, and you get 2 drink coupons good from 5pm-10:30pm. Drinks include a standard assortment of well liquor, and several Great local beers including Alaskan Amber Ale, IPA, White, and the seasonal was summer. I tried them all, and they were great! The bar tender, Dexter, was very attentive and knowledgeable about both drinks AND the restaurant menu. The free appatizer was assorted cheese and crackers, vegetables and ranch, and a variety of salt items such as chips and salsa, pretzels, and snack mix. The selection stayed the same each night we were there.

Breakfast:
What a spread! You can have cooked to order omlets, pancakes, and potato hash, or you can go to the hot buffet with potatoes, waffles/french toast, bacon/ham/sausage, scrambled/cheese eggs, and country biscuits with gravy. Additionally, an assortment of fruits, cereals, breads/pastries, and beverages are avaliable. Wait staff is courteous, and the made to order chef embodies all that is Alaska with her flair and delicious delights.

Business center:
Great! Multiple computers, stapler, tape, scissor, and unlimited printing. Perfect for a light day of work.

Checkout:
When we checked out, the shuttle bus driver was missing, so the front desk manager, Cyrus, went above and beyond and paid for a taxi to pick us up. The checkout process and taxi pickup went quickly and easily.

Overall, great hotel with top shelf staff who demonstrate their attention to detail and commitment to superior service with every action. Only low point is the shuttle bus, but that is as easy as a new/updated vehicle and some empliyee training about getting guests to/from airport more efficiently. Definitely stay here when you are in Anchorage!


Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe7186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
embassyanch, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Anchorage, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
I am delighted that you had a fabulous stay but apologize that your shuttle arrival was less satisfactory. We have had a new van on order from the factory since the first of the year and due to factory production issues we are still waiting. However, it will be arriving next month finally. Thank you for your detailed review. Please come back to see us on your anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

These really are suites; a big bedroom and an even bigger living room.
The rooms are fairly basic, but well serviced; wifi is free, staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast is special, particularly the pancakes which are made to order.
Word of warning, the hotel is a fair way from the town centre and you will need to use the hotel shuttle to get in and out of the downtown area. It is free and also runs to the international airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 722Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
embassyanch, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Anchorage, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for the nice review of your stay at the Embassy. I am pleased that our large suites accommodated your needs well and that our shuttle service was valuable. I have made sure to share your response with the breakfast team to let them know you enjoy the cooked-to-order pancakes. Please join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Excellent service, excellent breakfast, excellent happy hou- - I would stay here again tomorrow! It is not downtown and there is not much of interest in the neighborhood, but there is a shuttle with lovely drivers, so no worries. Best hotel of my Alaska vacation!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank marysued2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
embassyanch, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Anchorage, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Providing guests with the finest accommodations and great service is our goal and delighted that you were fully satisfied. I am pleased that we were your best hotel on your vacation. We are happy to have hosted your stay and hope to see you return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I love this hotel. It is conveniently located in the city, the staff are friendly, complimentary breakfast cooked to order, and first rate bar menu, a fitness center and pool. And you can actually open the windows and let that cool air wash over you, sending you off to sleep in a comfortable bed. Even the pull out bed was comfortable. I would definitely stay here again. Hotels in the summer in Anchorage are all expensive, but Embassy Suites actually gives you value for your buck.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
embassyanch, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Anchorage, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
I am delighted that you had a great experience at the Embassy Suites Anchorage. It means a great deal to us that you recommend our hotel and anticipate returning. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
518 reviews
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Anchorage

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Anchorage
Address: 600 E Benson Blvd, Anchorage, AK 99503-4123
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#4 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#4 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Anchorage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Hotel Anchorage is an all-suite full-service hotel that offers all the comforts of home and far more. The large well-appointed suites offer exceptional design and comfort as well as extensive guest amenities. Every hotel guest is offered a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and buffet along with a complimentary evening reception. Free parking and free Wi-Fi add to the benefits. We look forward to showing you why we are the preferred hotel by business and leisure travelers alike among all hotels in Anchorage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Anchorage Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing