We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quaint Comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We were so pleased with our stay in this lovely old hotel. The rooms were small but clean and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. We were leaving on a cruise the morning after our stay and were able to roll our suitcase down to the train station in a matter of minutes.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet and in the back of the building but I don't think traffic is really an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kayPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    169
    56
    24
    5
See reviews for
99
202
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We live an hour away from Anchorage and occasionally have to stay overnight. We always stay at the Anchorage Hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and neat and the breakfast is awesome! (Fresh fruit, make your own waffles, hard boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt, coffee and tea.)

It is in a great location.
I just love this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alaska G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

My friends and I stayed 2 nights at this lovely hotel in October. The front desk staff was friendly, helpful and attentive. We had a corner room with 2 beds separated by a wall; perfect for me and my married-couple friends. The area was quiet and safe and we could walk to all the nearby downtown attractions.
Morning breakfasts (included with stay) include fresh-made waffles, hard-boiled eggs, grapefruit (surprisingly tasty), cereal, bagels/cream cheese, coffee and juice. MUCH more extensive than I expected and quite delicious!
Highly recommended if you're staying in the area.

Room Tip: Room 302 has 2 separate double beds separated by a partial wall. 1 bathroom and a small kitchen alc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBSact0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed for three nights after arriving in Alaska . It was a great place to recover from the jet lag! We felt the location was perfect and the breakfast a huge plus. This was a good hotel to base yourself in to access other tourist attractions before we started our tour of Alaska.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plumb72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monument Beach, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

I stayed in the hotel two nights and loved the historic feel of the place and the rooms. I was in a front room overlooking the street, which was very noisy, so I recommend a room on the back side, away from the street. The manager at the desk went out of her way to be helpful, including running one of my suitcases to the airport after I had forgotten it at the hotel.
The breakfast/bar area is right off the lobby, comfortable, nothing great, but an okay place to hang out for a while before going out or for early coffee.

Room Tip: Get a room in back, off the street, for a quiet sleep. I did get a kick out of the street side as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idablittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

This was a very quaint & charming hotel!!! The staff was great!! Always friendly & always greeted with a smile!!! Nice continental breakfast included!!! Very convenient location to downtown!! I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Anchorage area whether for business or pleasure!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danegirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

I was recently in Anchorage for a long weekend and based on the good reviews here on TA, we decided to stay at the Historic Anchorage Hotel. Maybe my expectations were too high but I found this hotel to be average only, not much more than that.

The hotel is old, therefore the rooms look somewhat old. The bed and bedding were nice and it was comfortable, but I can't say much more than that. The walls are thin and you can hear people walking around due to creaky floors. But it was never terribly problematic for us.

We never had breakfast there. I'm not sure what time it ran but by the time we got downstairs there was only cold cereal and make your own waffles. Maybe that's all there is for breakfast?

I'm confused by the mention of train noise noted by other review(s) as the tracks are several blocks away but maybe that was because of our room position. We were in the front of the building and did get some noise from the street at night when we had the window open.

The location is very good, right in town and easy to walk to everything. But if I were coming to Anchorage again I'm not sure that I'd seek this place out for a second visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magalia09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Captain Cook
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#22 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Lakefront Anchorage
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Anchorage
Hilton Anchorage
#14 of 73 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Voyager Inn
The Voyager Inn
#11 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Anchorage Hotel

Property: Historic Anchorage Hotel
Address: 330 E Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#7 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#14 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historic Anchorage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored and generously appointed, the Anchorage Hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Rich in tradition and elegance... Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Anchorage. The Anchorage Visitor Information Center, Anchorage Convention Centers, 5th Avenue Shopping Mall, the Alaska Center for Performing Arts, the Alaska Railroad Depot, Anchorage Museum, and some of the finest dining and entertainment that Anchorage has to offer are all just steps away from the hotel.Aside from our convenient room amenities, Anchorage Historic Hotel offers guest services to accommodate everyone from the discerning leisure traveler to the busy corporate guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Historic Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Anchorage Hotel Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing