We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, great location, but there is the noise.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Austin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Charming, great location, but there is the noise.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2008

In my Fodors travelguide the Historic Anchorage is described as the last hotel with charm in Anchorage. It is a charming hotel with a real cozy vibe.

**The location is perfect for exploring downtown Anchorage. The Weekend Market is just a block away (well worth visiting - just keep in mind it only runs in the summer. We were there for the its last weekend of the season). Also close to shopping (Cabin Fever was my favorite shop for more unique items and books of local interest) and close to good restaurants (Glacier Brewhouse is great, but gets very crowded very fast - make reservations or go early. Snow Goose is a good less crowded alternative.)

**The hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I only met 2 ladies and they were both wonderful and easy to chat with. Anchoragites (is that the right term?) are very friendly and proud of their city. Definitely take the time to chat with them.

**Room was clean, spacious and comfortable enough with a flat screen tv and very small mini-fridge.

**Continental breakfast was average - you can make waffles, there is juice, coffee, tea, cereal, milk and fresh fruit - nothing to go bananas over, but passable as far as continental breakfast goes.

I loved all the historic photos along the walls and that the hotel has such a long and interesting history....

BUT with all of the above in mind the street noise is really really bad! The problem is that in the summer months the rooms are a bit stuffy (it being an older building and all). You are provided with a fan, but it doesn't quite do the trick so you'll want to open the windows. And who knew Anchorage had such a WILD night scene??? Horns honking, people yelling, cars revving engines. We finally decided that we'd rather deal with the stuffiness than the noise. Unfortunately this didn't shut out the noise entirely, but it did help. But again, this being an older building you can hear a great deal of noise from the surrounding rooms - particularly those above. It sounded as if the person upstairs was purposefully stomping around the room at 10pm, but surely he/she wasn't....right?

My fodors travel guide also said to book a corner room because of the noise, but I didn't heed this advice and sure wish I had - particularly since we had an overnight flight the next day. I'd also add my recommendation to book on the top floor.

In the end this is such a nice little establishment and I hate to give it less than the 4 or 5 stars I usually give hotels of this caliber, but the noise is a really big big problem here. If it wasn't for all the other nice things about this hotel I would give it a 2.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, location, historic building
  • Disliked — NOISE, NOISE, NOISE!!!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank laustic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    169
    56
    24
    5
See reviews for
99
202
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2008

Beautiful Hotel, great location. Staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. Room is small, but has a flat screen TV. The walls are thin! Heard every room beside and above us! Didn't sleep very well because of the noise.

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sparkleigh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2008

If the peace and quiet of the Alaskan great outdoors is getting to you, this is the place to stay. Conveniently located across from a busy bar as well as a dance club, you can not only hear but also feel the throbbing disco beat all night long. Add to that construction noise and the sound of heavy trucks rumbling by your window, and you've got a situation that tests the quality of your earplugs.

Closing the windows only helps slightly, as they are "historic" and do not close properly. Besides which, the ventilation system consists of a floor fan, so if you close the windows in the summertime, you've got no air.

We stayed here three miserable nights, and couldn't wait to get out. AVOID!

  • Disliked — Endless, relentless noise
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank tberen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2008

This hotel is the ideal place to stay in Anchorage. Beautiful quaint rooms and very clean and comfortable. Decorative floor fan kept room very comfortable since there's no A/C. The manager at this hotel went above and beyond to recommend things to do and places to stay on our journey. Staff is very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was a plus! Alaska is very expensive and this helped the pocketbook a bit! If traveling with three or more, request an upgrade to a suite - very minimal difference - much added space for luggage, especially if traveling with children so they have a place of their own at night!
Will definitely stay here again - just not soon enough! So much to see that is just in walking distance - even if you just have an afternoon. This is not a chain hotel off the beaten path - many, many great restaurants, live music, shops within blocks - not to mention the great mall.
We'll be back!!!

  • Liked — The COMFORT!
  • Disliked — No bar in hotel
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pattycakepattycake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2008

We stayed here for 1 night in May 2008. We liked this hotel very much. It is a charming historic place and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful with recommendations for dinner. The only problem with the hotel was the location (noisy). First we thought it was great since it’s a block away from the weekend market and good dining options but the problem was at night (on a Friday night) when drunk people were coming out of the nearby bars and they were singing very loudly on the streets. We could hear them like they were inside our room. We didn’t get much sleep that night. Next time I would stay in this place but in a room not facing the main street. The continental breakfast that is included was OK.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank averonica69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2008

Please see my pictures below. I'm giving this hotel 4 stars because this was fun place to stay. Also, the staff are so helpful and positive. There are a lot of restaurants and shops within walking distance. The room we had was like a mini-suite and was on the top floor. I would recommend booking a room on the top floor because the hotel is old and the floors are kind of creaky. If you get a room on one of the bottom floors you might hear the sounds of the people above you. The hotel was overall a good value and had a waffle and fruit breakfast included in the room price.

  • Liked — It had a good location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YourConcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2008

They have done a nice job renovating this hotel. Breakfast is served in the bar area which has an old time feel to it. The breakfast was great with cereal, bagels and fresh waffles with fruit. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful. I've stayed at hotels that cost a lot more and had more stars and they didn't come close to the personal service Historic Anchorage hotel had. It is right across the street from the downtown market which is a really neat thing to see.

When we go back to Anchorage we plan on staying here again.

  • Liked — Friendly service
  • Disliked — Bathroom was a little small for my personal liking
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OrangeTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Captain Cook
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#21 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Lakefront Anchorage
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Anchorage
Hilton Anchorage
#13 of 73 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Voyager Inn
The Voyager Inn
#12 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Anchorage Hotel

Property: Historic Anchorage Hotel
Address: 330 E Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#7 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#14 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historic Anchorage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored and generously appointed, the Anchorage Hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Rich in tradition and elegance... Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Anchorage. The Anchorage Visitor Information Center, Anchorage Convention Centers, 5th Avenue Shopping Mall, the Alaska Center for Performing Arts, the Alaska Railroad Depot, Anchorage Museum, and some of the finest dining and entertainment that Anchorage has to offer are all just steps away from the hotel.Aside from our convenient room amenities, Anchorage Historic Hotel offers guest services to accommodate everyone from the discerning leisure traveler to the busy corporate guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Historic Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Anchorage Hotel Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing