We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing staff & wonderful hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Anchorage Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #16 of 72 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing staff & wonderful hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We (two couples) used the Historic Anchorage as our base as we toured Alaska. The location is wonderful - a short walk to the Alaska RR station and to the best restaurants and shopping in ANC. Terri, the manager, and her staff, particularly Nick, Phil, Taylar and Sara, are the best hoteliers ever. They accommodated our every wish where possible - stored our excess luggage when we took side trips, upgraded us if possible, recommended restaurants and local activities. We loved the ambiance of staying in the first Alaska frontier hotel coupled with luxury linens and comfy beds. We did not need a rental car and cabs were always available at the door. The breakfast was very nice with freshly made waffles and gourmet coffees. We felt like we were coming home when we returned from touring Denali and from a fishing trip to Homer. This hotel is not for the "I need a chain hotel" traveler but is a joy for those of us who like to travel a little off the grid and enjoy the uniqueness of an area.

Room Tip: The street side rooms can be noisy since the sun doesn't set until midnight and folks stay out l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kytraveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    169
    56
    24
    5
See reviews for
99
202
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here while coming into alaska before our trip and after the end of the trip. It's a charming place. Alittle old but endearing. Find a better place for breakfast though. It's nothing to rave about. There is plenty of shopping around and lots of small places to eat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cholla8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is my favorite place to stay in Alaska. Staff is very welcoming and accommodating, rooms have character...no cookie cutter experiences in this place. Rooms are very clean. The breakfast in the morning is substantial. In the summer it can get loud because of people on the street and outside, but turning on the fan and closing the window fixes it for me. The location is perfect....right downtown and walkable to shopping and food and drink. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Kris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I liked the fact that the double beds were separated by a wall, which gives you more privacy. We were on the 3rd floor, and the street noise was very audible, so if you really need quiet, find another hotel. Hotel in middle of downtown Anchorage, so it's close to a lot of activities that can be done by walking.

Room Tip: For those who want to be right in the middle of Anchorage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was a pleasant stay for one night. Staff friendly and responsive & the included breakfast was excellent. Room was small and temperature control was clumsy. Convenient downtown location to restaurants and Park ConX Bus.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Gerald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Shasta, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had booked a room here with our 2 kids. We had to leave really early so one room was cheaper and easier. However, I had booked through Expedia who had screwed up the booking and we were a bed short.
I was obviously not pleased but despite having a grumpy customer through no fault of their own, they made a huge effort to make us happy and comfortable.
Taylar was exceptional in her efforts (a great co-worker also on duty) to make it all happen, going far beyond what I would have expected.
I was certainly not the most fun customer to deal with after the Expedia mess up but it did not deter them.
The hotel itself is perfectly placed in the middle of the shopping and restaurant area. It is a very nice place and our room was excellent.
I would happily recommend this hotel on all its aspects but staff like this are surely hard to find!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here 2 separate times on a recent trip to Anchorage. Our first night we had room #208. I highly recommend you do not get this room. The room is very small and the music from down the street was very loud. We had to turn on the fan just to drown out the sound so we could sleep. The bed was small for 2 adults. Our second stay at this hotel we had room #311. This was a very nice and large room. Much more comfortable than 208. None of the rooms have a/c, so a fan is in the room or the windows are opened to let in a breeze. Also, the elevator is very small and very slow. We took the stairs most of the time.

Room Tip: Ask for room 311 if you want a large comfortable room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel4funRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Captain Cook
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#21 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Lakefront Anchorage
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Anchorage
Hilton Anchorage
#14 of 72 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Voyager Inn
The Voyager Inn
#12 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Anchorage Hotel

Property: Historic Anchorage Hotel
Address: 330 E Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#7 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#14 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historic Anchorage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored and generously appointed, the Anchorage Hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Rich in tradition and elegance... Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Anchorage. The Anchorage Visitor Information Center, Anchorage Convention Centers, 5th Avenue Shopping Mall, the Alaska Center for Performing Arts, the Alaska Railroad Depot, Anchorage Museum, and some of the finest dining and entertainment that Anchorage has to offer are all just steps away from the hotel.Aside from our convenient room amenities, Anchorage Historic Hotel offers guest services to accommodate everyone from the discerning leisure traveler to the busy corporate guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Historic Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Anchorage Hotel Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing