We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #21 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I were visiting friends and sightseeing around Alaska in June of 2014. While we were traveling around the state we used the Historic Anchorage Hotel as our base in Anchorage. The location was superb, the room was lovely and the owner and staff were very welcoming and helpful. There was breakfast included which was just what you needed before venturing out for the day or days. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to friends and family. It was our "home away from home!"

Barb & Jack

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Barb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Last hotel of our vacation. Great place to end. Sizable rooms. Walking distance to everything. Would stay again. Price was high but so is everything in Alaska during tourist season. Hope to see a ghost but was not that lucky.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donaldleblanc2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We (two couples) used the Historic Anchorage as our base as we toured Alaska. The location is wonderful - a short walk to the Alaska RR station and to the best restaurants and shopping in ANC. Terri, the manager, and her staff, particularly Nick, Phil, Taylar and Sara, are the best hoteliers ever. They accommodated our every wish where possible - stored our excess luggage when we took side trips, upgraded us if possible, recommended restaurants and local activities. We loved the ambiance of staying in the first Alaska frontier hotel coupled with luxury linens and comfy beds. We did not need a rental car and cabs were always available at the door. The breakfast was very nice with freshly made waffles and gourmet coffees. We felt like we were coming home when we returned from touring Denali and from a fishing trip to Homer. This hotel is not for the "I need a chain hotel" traveler but is a joy for those of us who like to travel a little off the grid and enjoy the uniqueness of an area.

Room Tip: The street side rooms can be noisy since the sun doesn't set until midnight and folks stay out l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kytraveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here while coming into alaska before our trip and after the end of the trip. It's a charming place. Alittle old but endearing. Find a better place for breakfast though. It's nothing to rave about. There is plenty of shopping around and lots of small places to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cholla8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is my favorite place to stay in Alaska. Staff is very welcoming and accommodating, rooms have character...no cookie cutter experiences in this place. Rooms are very clean. The breakfast in the morning is substantial. In the summer it can get loud because of people on the street and outside, but turning on the fan and closing the window fixes it for me. The location is perfect....right downtown and walkable to shopping and food and drink. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Kris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I liked the fact that the double beds were separated by a wall, which gives you more privacy. We were on the 3rd floor, and the street noise was very audible, so if you really need quiet, find another hotel. Hotel in middle of downtown Anchorage, so it's close to a lot of activities that can be done by walking.

Room Tip: For those who want to be right in the middle of Anchorage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was a pleasant stay for one night. Staff friendly and responsive & the included breakfast was excellent. Room was small and temperature control was clumsy. Convenient downtown location to restaurants and Park ConX Bus.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Gerald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#23 of 74 in Anchorage
402 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Voyager Inn
The Voyager Inn
#12 of 74 in Anchorage
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#17 of 74 in Anchorage
1,185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#29 of 74 in Anchorage
578 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Captain Cook
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 74 in Anchorage
1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Anchorage Hotel

Address: 330 E St, Anchorage, AK 99501-2307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#14 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: £71 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historic Anchorage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored and generously appointed, the Anchorage Hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Rich in tradition and elegance... Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Anchorage. The Anchorage Visitor Information Center, Anchorage Convention Centers, 5th Avenue Shopping Mall, the Alaska Center for Performing Arts, the Alaska Railroad Depot, Anchorage Museum, and some of the finest dining and entertainment that Anchorage has to offer are all just steps away from the hotel.Aside from our convenient room amenities, Anchorage Historic Hotel offers guest services to accommodate everyone from the discerning leisure traveler to the busy corporate guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Historic Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Anchorage Hotel Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing