We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nicest staff, great continental breakfast, but avoid rooms overlooking the street”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #23 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed 7 June 2009

This hotel is a quaint, historic hotel (as the name implies). The hotel is adorned with artwork created by the proprietor, which is actually very good. Breakfast is served in the antique bar area adjacent to the lobby. It was a substantial offering for a complimentary continential breakfast--waffles, bagels, hard boiled eggs, yogurt and fruit. The service could not have been better. Upon check in, the desk attendant, Jessica offered to make dinner reservations for us, noting that without reservations, we would have difficulty getting a table anywhere in town. After dinner at th Glacier Brew House (just ok), we played cards in the hotel bar (breakfast area); from what we could tell, they don't serve alcohol, but Jessica offered to heat up some water so I could have a cup of tea while playing cards with the family.
The rooms were decorated in traditional, mahogany-like furniture. There was a nice binder, describing the hotel and a little about Anchorage. The bathroom was small, but well equipped with sundries and plush towels. It had adequate curtains to block the Alaskan summer nighttime sun. All was well until the party crowd started their parade to Rumrunners bar (catty-corner from the hotel). Our room was overlooking the street and had a clear view of Rumrunners. From about 11 p.m. until 2 a.m., there was an endless parade of drunks screaming, fighting and hollering. There was a steady stream of cars driving by with bass booming--and surprisingly, even a black Hummer limo stopped in front of the hotel to unload patrons at Rumrunners. I could not believe the party seemed to never end, but given the 20 hours of light, perhaps it shouldn't have been so surprising. The other thing to note about the streetside rooms--the Grizzy Bear gift shop is on the lower level of the hotel (they offer a 10% discount to hotel guests). As my husband and I were napping, we couldn't quite understand why our room was filled with pan flute-spa like music. Surely other hotel guests were not listening in their rooms! The next day as we shopped inthe Grizzy Bear gift shop, we noticed soothing spa-like pan flute music. Ah-ha! OVerall, a really nice place to stay, just pick your room carefully.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srbmpna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
There are newer reviews for Historic Anchorage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

401 - 407 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2009

Terri Russi manages a very nice hotel. Terri assisted us with our booking and helped us with tour bookings. Based on previous reviews we requested a room off the main street. It was big, quiet and also had good blackout curtains. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. A nice friendly atmosphere. We were also fortunate to take advantage of an excellent rate. We would definitely stay again - without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pandmezzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

I love the Historic Anchorage Hotel! Terri is the GM and she took care of my reservation personally. The Historic is a boutique hotel and a one of a kind. The rooms are very well appointed, the beds are so comfy and the hotel itself is definately a historical site. Breakfast is served every morning in their own breakfast/coffe bar, just like a separate coffee house. Everyday when you come back from your Alaska adventures, you will feel like you are coming home at the Historic! I highly recommend this beautiful place to stay if you want to stay somewhere unique to Anchorage with wonderful staff and great accomodations (and VERY reasonably priced!) AND you cannot beat the location - right in the middle of downtown Anchorage! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

I stayed here in February for a business trip. It is an old hotel, so it does not necessarily have all of the in room amenities that you might be used to, like comfy chairs and large bathrooms and it may be a little more "lived in" than newer hotels. But it is a very friendly, unique place to stay within walking distance of some great restaurants (Glacier Brewhouse, Orso's, Club Paris). The staff was very friendly. Workout room is nice. And I really enjoyed the different atmosphere. And the price was very good.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turtlesoup00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2009

Stayed four days. No air conditioning, so fan was helpful. Wonderful location downtown, easy walk to mall, museum, etc. Noise from nearby bars on weekend, but quiet at other times. Georgeous decor, lots of character. Parking is now $8/day. Would supplement breakfast with some protein, but waffles/bagels/yogurt/apples/juice/coffee/tea/cider were all good. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pacificnorthwestlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2008

We found it really difficult to find a hotel in Anchorage, the hotels were really expensive and the reviews generally not great. Finally we found the Historic Anchrage Hotel. it was great, the position fantastic, the rooms really roomy and the people terrific. By Anchorage standards it was good value for money, breakfast was included and the use of internet was free. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SydneySally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2008

My husband & I stayed for 2 weeks in the Historic Anchorage and we would stay there again when we revisit Anchorage. The room was big and comfortable, a fan was available if it got a bit too warm and there was very little noise to be heard where we were situated.
The staff were very friendly and did all in their power to help with enquiries, dinner bookings, travel arrangements etc..
We would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: September 2008
1  Thank cinders47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.3 mi away
The Voyager Inn
The Voyager Inn
#10 of 74 in Anchorage
286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Anchorage
Hilton Anchorage
#17 of 74 in Anchorage
1,578 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#27 of 74 in Anchorage
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
#11 of 74 in Anchorage
703 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Captain Cook
The Hotel Captain Cook
#4 of 74 in Anchorage
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Anchorage Hotel

Address: 330 E St, Anchorage, AK 99501-2307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#7 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#14 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: £96 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historic Anchorage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored and generously appointed, the Anchorage Hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Rich in tradition and elegance... Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Anchorage. The Anchorage Visitor Information Center, Anchorage Convention Centers, 5th Avenue Shopping Mall, the Alaska Center for Performing Arts, the Alaska Railroad Depot, Anchorage Museum, and some of the finest dining and entertainment that Anchorage has to offer are all just steps away from the hotel.Aside from our convenient room amenities, Anchorage Historic Hotel offers guest services to accommodate everyone from the discerning leisure traveler to the busy corporate guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Historic Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Anchorage Hotel Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing