We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find in Anchorage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great find in Anchorage”
Reviewed 6 October 2009

This historic hotel was just as nice, if not better than many of the chains we have stayed in. The staff couldn't do enough for you. The breakfast was wonderful! We found the history behind the hotel fascinating.
The only downside was the street noise. However, once we closed the window the noise was not a problem.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailseekerct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    170
    56
    24
    5
See reviews for
99
203
29
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

I must admit I was slightly skeptical after reading some reviews about the noise. However my husband really liked the historic aspect and the pictures reminded us of many places we stayed at last year in Europe that were quaint and wonderful experiences. Well, the Historic Anchorage hotel did not let us down. We were absolutely shocked by the large room with 2 plasma tvs, one in the sitting area which also had a sink and cupboards with glasses. And one in the very large bedroom, it was more likely staying in a suite and very spacious.

The staff was wonderful and they had a really great breakfast included in the morning. The location for us was perfect to get around town. It was on a nice side street so not right in the middle of everything but very convinent for walking. We had to catch the train the following morning which was right down the hill maybe 2-3 blocks tops. All in all it was a great experience and if we're ever back in Anchorage we would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sperry17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

This is a great hotel in a wonderful location in downtown Anchorage. Within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, rail station and many attractions. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The accomodations are spacious, clean, well equiped, comfortable and historic. The make your own waffles in the historic breakfast area are a plus. Don't miss Phyllis' restaurant in walking distance for good food and service.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LetsGoStLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2009

Wonderful little boutique hotel. Very comfortable and quaint rooms, with a great location in downtown Anchorage (within walking distance of the Alaskan Railroad station). The staff, led by Terri the GM, go out of their way to make you feel welcome and taken care of. Breakfasts are excellent, too. We highly recommend them to the leisure traveler.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElvisArlington_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2009

This is a really nice hotel centrally located in Anchorage. What is more impressive is the service extended in particular by the GM herself. We stored our luggage at the hotel 3 days before check in and Teri actually came out to make sure that everything was alright. She even helped us booked a lunch place and allowed us to park in front of the hotel for an hour while we go for lunch. The rooms are lovely and it is really the hospitality that is heart warming. Street noise for rooms facing the road can be a problem though.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfan_fromAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage99, General Manager at Historic Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2009
Thank you Thong Family! May your GPS find your way back to the Historic Anchorage Hotel again!
All the best,
Terri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2009

The hotel has lots of charm and the rooms are big, clean and efficient. The staff is so friendly and nice we had a long chats with them on several ocassions. It is centrally located and has much more character than any of the big chain hotels that abound in Anchorage. For us, this was an excellent choice for our first time to Anchorage. Breakfast was included and was pretty good.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guienriquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

This hotel is a quaint, historic hotel (as the name implies). The hotel is adorned with artwork created by the proprietor, which is actually very good. Breakfast is served in the antique bar area adjacent to the lobby. It was a substantial offering for a complimentary continential breakfast--waffles, bagels, hard boiled eggs, yogurt and fruit. The service could not have been better. Upon check in, the desk attendant, Jessica offered to make dinner reservations for us, noting that without reservations, we would have difficulty getting a table anywhere in town. After dinner at th Glacier Brew House (just ok), we played cards in the hotel bar (breakfast area); from what we could tell, they don't serve alcohol, but Jessica offered to heat up some water so I could have a cup of tea while playing cards with the family.
The rooms were decorated in traditional, mahogany-like furniture. There was a nice binder, describing the hotel and a little about Anchorage. The bathroom was small, but well equipped with sundries and plush towels. It had adequate curtains to block the Alaskan summer nighttime sun. All was well until the party crowd started their parade to Rumrunners bar (catty-corner from the hotel). Our room was overlooking the street and had a clear view of Rumrunners. From about 11 p.m. until 2 a.m., there was an endless parade of drunks screaming, fighting and hollering. There was a steady stream of cars driving by with bass booming--and surprisingly, even a black Hummer limo stopped in front of the hotel to unload patrons at Rumrunners. I could not believe the party seemed to never end, but given the 20 hours of light, perhaps it shouldn't have been so surprising. The other thing to note about the streetside rooms--the Grizzy Bear gift shop is on the lower level of the hotel (they offer a 10% discount to hotel guests). As my husband and I were napping, we couldn't quite understand why our room was filled with pan flute-spa like music. Surely other hotel guests were not listening in their rooms! The next day as we shopped inthe Grizzy Bear gift shop, we noticed soothing spa-like pan flute music. Ah-ha! OVerall, a really nice place to stay, just pick your room carefully.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srbmpna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Captain Cook
The Hotel Captain Cook
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#21 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Lakefront Anchorage
The Lakefront Anchorage
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Anchorage
Hilton Anchorage
#12 of 73 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Voyager Inn
The Voyager Inn
#11 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Anchorage Hotel

Property: Historic Anchorage Hotel
Address: 330 E St, Anchorage, AK 99501-2307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#7 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#14 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historic Anchorage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored and generously appointed, the Anchorage Hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Rich in tradition and elegance... Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Anchorage. The Anchorage Visitor Information Center, Anchorage Convention Centers, 5th Avenue Shopping Mall, the Alaska Center for Performing Arts, the Alaska Railroad Depot, Anchorage Museum, and some of the finest dining and entertainment that Anchorage has to offer are all just steps away from the hotel.Aside from our convenient room amenities, Anchorage Historic Hotel offers guest services to accommodate everyone from the discerning leisure traveler to the busy corporate guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Historic Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Anchorage Hotel Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing