We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #23 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Good Value and Location”
Reviewed 29 May 2010

An older building, but nicely done up. Room was quite roomy, a bit hot though. Easy check in with nice staff. Good location, right at the centre of the shops etc, although Anchorage was not as big as I was expecting, so not far to cover city highlights. More a base for the sightseeing on the coast or stopover before heading north to Denali. There was a very helpful Tourist centre about 2 blocks away, who helped us book car, accommodation and tour for Denali. Hotel had breakfast included - enough to keep you going until your next stop. Not really our taste - waffles, bagels, but we managed with cereal and juice.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gblyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    174
    57
    25
    7
See reviews for
101
212
29
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

I spent many years traveling for business so I avoid chain hotels whenever possible. This wonderful hotel is perfect. Good breakfast, very helpful staff, nice rooms, reasonable prices, and in a super location that's about 4 blocks max to nice stores, the railroad station, and some of the best restaurants in town. The included breakfast is basic and good (super coffee). Free on-street parking (6pm to 8 am - meters at other times) is handy. We really liked being just a few blocks from great restaurant choices (Orso, Crush, Glacier Alehouse, etc). Our room was big and the wet bar area with fridge was handy. Small gym was also nice with a few great quality machines. Several have mentioned the street noise but we always travel with a noise machine so that's never an issue. My only suggestion is to upgrade the bedding with duvets to make sleeping even more cozy. The manager, Teri, is very kind and does a super job. Skip the chains so you can experience this gem!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

We stayed at the Historic Anchorage Hotel in late December/early January for our winter wedding in Anchorage and were delighted by the warmth of the manager and staff, the Alaskan appeal of the hotel, and the comfortable rooms. It was the perfect place for all of our friends and family, and provided a cozy place to share warm beverages between outings.

Terri, the manager, and all of the staff were friendly, professional, and filled with helpful suggestions to make sure that we, and our other guests, had a wonderful stay. We were delighted by our experience and are happy to give four thumbs up to the hotel.

The rooms and suites come in a variety of sizes for all manner of travelers. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated - they feel more comfortable and less pre-fabricated than your average hotel room.Steam heat keeps the rooms toasty in the winter (some folks even had to use their fans). The continental breakfast includes a variety of options and takes place downstairs in an adorable dining area that screams of character. Plus, the free wireless internet was a well-appreciated perk.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BorealisBerkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage99, General Manager at Historic Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. I look forward to sharing this with our staff.
Success and failure start with the people who work in the hotel because they create the mystique, the image and the culture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

This hotel was recommended in National Geographic Traveler Magazine. We were not disappointed. Good location in downtown. Over night street parking was free. Complimentary breakfast was good and in historic bar. Owner is a talented artist.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceramic_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girard
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2009

The Historic Anchorage Hotel is a beautiful, charming hotel in a fun part of Anchorage. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The breakfast in the old bar section of the hotel is delicious and filling. The staff really could not be more friendly and helpful. We spent three nights here, and I wish we could have stayed a few more. When I return to Anchorage I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polarkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

With a name like Historic Anchorage Hotel, we did not really know what to expect. So, when we walked into its adorable lobby/check-in area, took a peek into its warm, woodsy breakfast room and were welcomed with genuine sincerity by Kimo, the front desk manager, we knew we had made the right choice.

The hotel is located about a half block up from the Hilton in downtown Anchorage, where the cruise ship bus stops after the 3-hour ride from Seward. We were so pleased to find out that our hotel was literally a few steps away, rather than a cab ride. Our room on the 3rd floor was huge: 2 queen beds, a large sitting area, big desk with a lamp and plenty of room for a laptop, generous bathroom, refrigerator, microwave and a sink. Four windows with soft lace curtains provided plenty of privacy, sunshine and air. Even though we overlooked the street, we didn't have any problems with noise. I do think, however, had our visit been during the summer/high season, we would have taken the suggestions of previous reviewers and asked for a back or rear location.

The staff was also kind enough to have breakfast ready well before 6AM (when we had to leave for the airport) so that we could eat. Would definitely stay here again. Loved everything about it, including its walking proximity to most everything in downtown Anchorage. It's a quaint little gem but very modern in its amenities and outlook!

PS - the Brewhouse is definitely worth a meal (and a beer or two) - it was busy at 5 PM on a Wednesday!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2009

This historic hotel was just as nice, if not better than many of the chains we have stayed in. The staff couldn't do enough for you. The breakfast was wonderful! We found the history behind the hotel fascinating.
The only downside was the street noise. However, once we closed the window the noise was not a problem.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailseekerct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Anchorage
Hilton Anchorage
#17 of 73 in Anchorage
1,542 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Voyager Inn
The Voyager Inn
#12 of 73 in Anchorage
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#28 of 73 in Anchorage
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
#10 of 73 in Anchorage
685 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#27 of 73 in Anchorage
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Anchorage Hotel

Property: Historic Anchorage Hotel
Address: 330 E St, Anchorage, AK 99501-2307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#7 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#14 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historic Anchorage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored and generously appointed, the Anchorage Hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Rich in tradition and elegance... Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Anchorage. The Anchorage Visitor Information Center, Anchorage Convention Centers, 5th Avenue Shopping Mall, the Alaska Center for Performing Arts, the Alaska Railroad Depot, Anchorage Museum, and some of the finest dining and entertainment that Anchorage has to offer are all just steps away from the hotel.Aside from our convenient room amenities, Anchorage Historic Hotel offers guest services to accommodate everyone from the discerning leisure traveler to the busy corporate guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Historic Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Anchorage Hotel Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing