We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Copper Whale Inn”
Review of Copper Whale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Copper Whale Inn
Ranked #9 of 127 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved the Copper Whale Inn”
Reviewed 3 December 2007

The Copper Whale Inn provided a fantastic overnight getaway. We stayed in the Romig Room, downstairs, fireplace, very comfortable bed. The manager was very helpful and easy to work with--I was planning a special evening and the manager asked if I had any special requests, champange in room, arranging up a carriage ride, etc.
While at the Inn, we found it to be the perfect combination of privacy and hospitality.
I would highly recommend the Copper Whale Inn to any and all that are considering a stay in Anchorage.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank WhaleLubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    73
    30
    8
    6
See reviews for
45
124
29
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2007

Looks like this place has been renovated since some of the previous reviews. It was great - no complaints at all!

My room, the common room, and another room that I looked at were all very clean, nicely decorated, with new blinds, no bad smells, no stains, and clean towels. The sitting room/breakfast room actually has stylish furniture that I'd put in my own house. Bed was very comfortable. Views of the bay were beautiful, from large picture window in my upper-level room. Bathrooms were clean. Wireless Internet worked perfectly. Tons of stuff nearby for your amusement, and a very nice walking/running trail (though not plowed in winter)

Food: pastries, bread, spreads, yogurt, cereals, etc. Fresh and plenty of it.

I'd happily stay here again, particularly in winter when it is quiet, beautiful, and cozy, and costs only $75/night for a room with shared bath.

The drawbacks:
1. parking: on the street (free, limited by heavy use of this area at night), or in a parking lot across the street (paid). Not a problem in the off-season.
2. noise: in winter, it really wasn't a problem. In summer: heavy traffic on L St (so stay in a back room if you can). One other issue with the Whale Watch room: there's a very nice restaurant next door, but your room is above their kitchen. Their staff like to go out on their balcony, smoke, and have loud conversations or yell into their cell phones. Again, not a problem in winter when the windows are closed. I stayed when the B&B was nearly empty, so zero problems with noise from other guests or stair traffic.
3. accessibility: if this is an issue, I'd check with management when booking a room. The stairs to the rooms with best views are a little narrow and steep; no problem for the spry, but difficult for those with mobility problems.

  • Liked — Cozy, clean, great off-season price
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ninko999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2007

Copper Whale Inn is like your own home. The amazing experience started from the check in. It was close to 7:00pm when we checked in. The staff was off already. A note with my name was posted on the front door, giving all the detail information. I feel trusted and like back to home. The room was absolutely clean, the living room stay lightened with light music and some refreshment. The environment is just friendly and comfortable. The price is very reasonable. Couldn't ask for better services.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lulosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2007

Professional staff provided a welcome atmosphere from the start. Rooms were comfortable and clean and accessability to downtown was prime. I highly recommend The Copper Whale Inn to urban lovers who are looking for the finest touches a Bed and Breakfast could offer along with a spectacular view of Cook Inlet. Thanks Glen!

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ackattack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2007

I am not always a big fan of B&B's but my experiences were wonderful!!! Glen and Frank made everyone feel so welcome. The rooms are nice and clean and we met some interesting folks who have traveled from all over the world to visit Alaska. It sits a block from the Cook Inlet and the sunset views are simply amazing. There is a park a block away and it’s the perfect place to sit and watch the sun melt into the water. On a clear day, the horizon is actually made up of snowcapped mountains beyond the Inlet. The location is PERFECT – you can walk to all the shops and restaurants downtown. There is a bike rental shop on site...ask for Pablo - I highly recommend biking the Coastal Trail. I have now stayed at the Copper Whale twice and it feels like home.

  • Liked — Friendliness of managers and staff, location, views
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wildlife_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2007

We took an Alaskan cruise of the inside passage that ended in Seward Alaska. Afterwards, we wanted to stay in Anchorage for a few days to do some day trips in the surrounding area, and decided to stay at the Copper Whale Inn. The place was very clean, welcoming, and charming. We had a great view of the water. Staff were friendly, but also respected our privacy.

The continental style breakfast was among the best that we've had - fresh cut fruits, yogurts, nuts, and fresh bread each morning were just some of the items that they had. They were great!

We really enjoyed our stay, and would definitely recommend it to anyone - also - it was a great value compared to some of the hotel prices in Anchorage!

Matt & Jay -
Two Seattle residents

  • Liked — the view and breakfast
  • Disliked — bathroom shower head was too low -
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jayke089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2007

We really enjoyed our stay here. A cozy spot tucked into the city, the charm of a B&B with a great location. The rooms were a good size and the beds were very comfortable. The continental breakfast was well supplied and very good.
All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The only thing I would have liked would have been a TV or DVD watching spot, as we were traveling with our 4 year old son, and it's a helpful diversion. I mentioned this and they said they had plans to add a TV. Would highly recommend this Inn!

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mainetraveler2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
1,726 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#20 of 73 in Anchorage
452 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#13 of 73 in Anchorage
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Anchorage
#12 of 73 in Anchorage
1,468 reviews
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#30 of 73 in Anchorage
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Whale Inn

Property: Copper Whale Inn
Address: 440 L St, Anchorage, AK 99501-1925
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Copper Whale Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy scenic ocean and mountain views from downtown Anchorage at the Copper Whale Inn! Our two adjacent houses offer comfortable, modern accommodations and our historic main house is the first architecturally designed home in Anchorage. Easy walking distance to business and arts, activities, restaurants, galleries, the Anchorage Museum and the Coastal Trail. Bike rental on-premise (summer). Concierge services, free wi-fi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Copper Whale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Whale Hotel Anchorage
Copper Whale Inn Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing