We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base”
Review of Copper Whale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Copper Whale Inn
Ranked #10 of 127 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great base”
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

Five of us stayed here at the beginning and again at the end of our motorcycle tour around Alaska.

It's an excellent choice, with lovely rooms, a great location and welcoming and helpful hosts.

The breakfast is very simple so we chose to use the local alternatives but overall hard to beat. One of the best restaurants in town is right next door - Simon and Seafort's - which is a fantastic location for dinner.

We'd pick it again without hesitation.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thanks for your kudos. We love hosting intrepid travelers, and even bikers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    74
    30
    8
    6
See reviews for
47
129
29
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I love a charming and great B&B but there is nothing I despise more than a dirty one (even worse than a dirty hotel IMHO)... So when we arrived via taxi to the gorgeous CWI we were super excited. Unfortunately we only stayed one Night but it was fabulous... Located conveniently in downtown but against the sea wall it offers
Comvenience and a view! The perfect combination. We had a great room that opened to a patio and our own private bathroom. Amenities like shampoo, conditioner, and hair dryer were all provided and were nice - the bed was lovely and the granite counter was a nice touch. The staff was very attentive and packed us a breakfast Togo since we departed to early we would miss the breakfast they normally offer. They also called us a cab and it was promptly waiting for us early in the am when we needed to head to the train station.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheAntebella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We had a number of friends and relatives visiting Alaska to come to our wedding this summer, and we suggested they all stayed at the Copper Whale Inn.

Having lived in downtown for a number of years, I have often walked by the Inn, and thought that it looked like a great place to stay, what with its beautiful little gardens, great views of the inlet, and easy access to both the Coastal Trail and downtown's restaurants and museums.

All of our friends and family who stayed there absolutely loved it. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, with views of the inlet or the interior patio, they loved the location of the Inn, and they all commented on the kindness and helpfulness of the Inn's hosts (Glen and Co.!).

I would absolutely recommend this Inn to anyone visiting Alaska and stopping in Anchorage for a few days!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HCB-Alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thanks you! I'm so glad we were able to host your wedding guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Little did we know the ear plugs on our nightstand were more than a courtesy, and were sadly inadequate for thr night-long noise we encountered. We made advance reservations for 2 Saturdays in a row,thus the 7day cancellation policy prevented us changing the second stay. We had 3 rooms each night and all three had windows that allowed street noise.Don't know if they have non-street rooms. If so, insist. Everything else was very good--owner was very pleasant, rooms were clean, breakfast was nicely done though continental only. However, street noise trumps all.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Thank you for your opinion. Our urban location is our strongest suit, within minutes' walk of restaurants, activities and attractions. Unfortunately, with that location come the wild cards of urban life that are sadly beyond our control. I've been growing potatoes in my little garden to huck at less-than-polite passers-by, but they're not yet quite ready to harvest this year. I'm sorry you had a bad sleep. These are exactly the reasons why we provide the earplugs in all our guest rooms.

Regarding cancellation, notice was received three days prior to the first visit, and could not release the rooms for that stay without penalty. At that point, rooms could have been cancelled for the second stay at no charge but that request was never voiced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed here for our first two nights in Alaska. Having travelled for 24 hrs our first impressions were very good ones. We got there late, so a welcome note on the outside of the door told us how to find our room. Our room was lovely, with a view of the inlet and private bath. Our only gripe was the price. We knew Alaska was expensive, but having left Anchorage and travelled to many other areas of Alaska, room prices at the Copper Whale were very steep.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Redoubt room, lovely large room with private bath and a view over the inlet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninak77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Thank you for your kind words. Our prices are actually quite a bit less than the major brand hotels in our area, and our location offers better access than most.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Nice small hotel in downtown Anchorage. The room was clean and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDoginDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at this B&B for two nights in the Susitna room and were quite pleased. The room was cozy, clean and has internet access. It was close enough to walk to the downtown attractions. They rent bicycles out front to ride along the coastal trail which was wonderful. Glen was very helpful by making suggestions and booking a cab to pick us up in the morning. Breakfast was a nice buffet of fruits, pastries, cereals and various beverages. We even had access to breakfast fixings before our VERY early departure to catch the train to Seward. Highly recommend.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Crystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
1,825 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#17 of 73 in Anchorage
1,540 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#12 of 73 in Anchorage
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#23 of 73 in Anchorage
460 reviews
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
#10 of 73 in Anchorage
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Whale Inn

Property: Copper Whale Inn
Address: 440 L St, Anchorage, AK 99501-1925
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Copper Whale Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy scenic ocean and mountain views from downtown Anchorage at the Copper Whale Inn! Our two adjacent houses offer comfortable, modern accommodations and our historic main house is the first architecturally designed home in Anchorage. Easy walking distance to business and arts, activities, restaurants, galleries, the Anchorage Museum and the Coastal Trail. Bike rental on-premise (summer). Concierge services, free wi-fi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Copper Whale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Whale Hotel Anchorage
Copper Whale Inn Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing