We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copper Whale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Copper Whale Inn
Ranked #9 of 128 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed in May 2012 with another couple. Very friendly and loved the breakfast room where we could mingle with other guests, Great room with a comfortable bed which was fantastic after a 36 hour trek from Australia. Nice view from our room over the water, restaurant and bar next door and walking distance of downtown Anchorage. Good place for couples or singles wouldn't suggest young families

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mhracc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
We certainly appreciate your praises! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    71
    29
    8
    6
See reviews for
44
119
29
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Tahoe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

Stayed there for a week. Location is fine. Noisy building. Not recommended for younger people. Be sure to get your own bathroom.
During the week, 3 different mornings had to take a cold shower. If you are there for a business trip, i don't recommend this. 3 mornings had a cold shower. Owners weren't willing to give much of a discount because of this. Overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
I'm really sorry about your bad experience. We thought the problem was solved, and action was taken when I was first made aware of the problem. Clearly, it continued to get worse over several days' time. Unfortunately, I was not informed the problem was ongoing until after your departure. Please accept my sincere apologies. In our defense, the rate you were billed was discounted substantially from our regular September room rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denali National Park and Preserve, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

I stayed here for three nights in mid-May 2012 when I visited Anchorage on business. I loved the peaceful nature of the Copper Whale's rooms, common areas, and gardens - I felt like I was home during the entire visit. My business took place downtown and so I was walking distance (3 blocks) from work during the entire visit which was great because it meant leaving my car parked the whole time - no driving whenever I can help do so.

The gardens were bright with flowers and other annual and perennial plants in May. The various trees and shrubs (which abound on the property) were all leafing out that time of year and the patio of my west facing room looked out onto the Cook Inlet (although there were other buildings and homes in the viewscape). I enjoyed soaking up the afternoon sun that came into the room. I enjoyed the plush and cozy bed and linens. The housekeeper left a kind note and chocolate on the pillows. Beautiful photographs of Alaska are framed in large print on the walls of the rooms and the common areas. Breakfast was nothing like what you might receive at any chain-hotel. We had fresh cut fruit (grapes, cantalope, pineapple, strawberries, blueberries, etc.); whole bananas, oranges and apples available; yogurt, fresh baked bread, fresh milk and juice (not from a dispenser), hard-boiled eggs, danishes (not the tasteless, cheap kind of most hotels, but a variety of fresh ones that are made with high quality ingredients and no preservatives (taste so good!). We also had cereals cold and hot (not in a little box), all kinds of different spreads for the toast, hot tea, hot coffee...really just an excellent breakfast. Everything is laid out in the upstairs common area and the Copper Whale offers it's guests actual silverware and dishes and mugs and glasses. All of the food is elegantly presented. A homely atmosphere. Classical music of an uplifting kind plays in the background while you sit on cozy couches looking out the wall of windows which give way to a view of the Cook Inlet. With a pair of binoculars on hand one might be lucky to spot a passing whale out in the water. The proprietors were very good at being available but not imposing during the breakfast hours - there were a couple of different gentleman that would make their way into the breakfast area to check on things and casually carry conversation with the guests, but they should excellent tact in knowing if a guest wanted to chat or wanted to enjoy a quiet morning.

Only downside to me - the building is adjacent to a major intersection in downtown Anchorage. As such, cars can be heard roaring by at all hours of the night, especially in the mornings. The cars and trucks are especially loud when they are stopping at the light and then starting from a dead stop, engines loudly running at higher than average rpms.

The best thing about Copper Whale Inn was it's people, the guests and proprietors both. The atmosphere was very friendly and welcoming and accommodating. A guest would count him or herself lucky to enjoy the solitude of Copper Whale Inn amongst the busy, sometimes frenetic world of downtown Anchorage.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main building, on the top floor facing the Cook Inlet. Rooms close to the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Thank you so much for your glowing review! We will hope to host you again when your travels bring you through Anchorage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

Stayed here one night on business travel in July. The stay in this B&B was very pleasent.The B&B offers quite homy feeling even though it is located in downtown between multi-storey buildings.However the price seemed quite high but then again this is in Anchorage. The tourists street is just within short walk from the B&B.
The room I got was nice but it was on the road side which made it quite noisy as the road seemed to be quite busy with cars and pedestrians even in late hours.So remember to ask room on the other side if thinking of staying in these B&B.
The breakfast was ok but not so plenty with selections to choose.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProEtContra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Thanks for your review. Our location is our strongest suit, certainly, but with the great downtown location comes the urban atmosphere surrounding our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlett, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

I'll start by agreeing with most of the positives I'm reading in the other reviews - the view of the inlet is amazing, the staff is super nice/friendly, it's really close to a lot of great stuff, and it definitely has a different vibe than a typical hotel. All good, right?

Well, yeah, except trying to fit 4 of us in their "biggest" room was a challenge. Perhaps we should have known better when we learned they accomodate 4 people with a sofa/futon and a rollaway. But, I expected more room to accomodate those items. Instead, we were literally bumper to bumper packed in the room.

Another issue, although I can sleep through anything, was the noisy city streets right outside. There is no way to avoid this, as the building is right on a corner, and even a few cars late at night can be disruptive.

Finally, the parking situation is a bit of a pain, although it would be a minor nit if there weren't other issues. You either pay another $14 per night or get lucky and find on on the street spot (meters stop collecting at 6:00pm). For an already expensive room (for the size), adding an additional $14 for parking (across the street) is annoying.

My family loves Alaska (been there 6 times) so it's hard for me to criticize any place we go. The Copper Whale would likely be a nice place to stay as a couple. Perhaps it was over ambitious of us to try to cram in 4. Live and learn, as they say...

Room Tip: This is for couples, not for families with teenagers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlaskaBums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Thank you for your detailed and constructive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Airy, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed for a couple of days on two different occasions and the consistent factor was the nice people we met, both working there and staying there. We also stayed in two different rooms, loved one, and accepted the other. Glen was very helpful in planning out day and activities, and was always around in the morning for breakfast and conversation.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alanthesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We enjoyed hosting you during your visit to Alaska.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Council, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We LOVED the location, walking distance to everything in downtown that we enjoy. Beautiful setting with lovely gardens all around it. Our room was clean and comfortable and just as advertised on their website. I really liked that it was secure and the staff was very nice. Something about the atmosphere of this B & B I just loved...it was just what I hoped for and then some. The breakfast was really nice & generous and better than we've had at most of the places we've stayed at. I loved the main room, it was very cozy and inviting with my favorite soft music playing. Parking is a bit of a problem probably on weekdays where as they do not have a parking lot but we got really lucky and parked across the street from our room door in the metered parking and didn't have a problem keeping that...and it's free on the weekend. It's a place I really would like to go back to someday.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaJaneNampa_Idaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Thanks so much! We'll hope to host you again. Yes, the parking is a bit of a pain in our downtown location, but you can always find a street spot within a block. Or, we have the option of the paid garage parking if you'll be walking around downtown all day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#16 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#11 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#22 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Whale Inn

Property: Copper Whale Inn
Address: 440 L St., Anchorage, AK 99501
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Copper Whale Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy scenic ocean and mountain views from downtown Anchorage at the Copper Whale Inn! Our two adjacent houses offer comfortable, modern accommodations and our historic main house is the first architecturally designed home in Anchorage. Easy walking distance to business and arts, activities, restaurants, galleries, the Anchorage Museum and the Coastal Trail. Bike rental on-premise (summer). Concierge services, free wi-fi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Copper Whale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Whale Hotel Anchorage
Copper Whale Inn Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing