We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good location”
Review of Copper Whale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copper Whale Inn
Ranked #8 of 127 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very good location”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This B&B locates in a perfect spot in downtown Anchorage. Check in was smooth without any problem. Rooms were nice and well maintained. There's bike rental shop in front of hotel. Restaurants and cafe nearby. Breakfast was very simple, no hot dishes, only drinks, fruit, and some cereals. Lobby/breakfast room is small and can be crowded sometimes.

The room I stayed on 2nd floor was an ensuite, but the share bathroom was also clean and nice; so don't bother if you book into a room w/o bath. For dining, I would recommend a short walk to Glacier Brew House. There is a nice hike/bike trail at the backside going towards the Earthquake Park. Overall I would recommend this place. Although there could be some noises in early hour traffics..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zakBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thanks for your review. Our location is our strongest suit, but along with the urban location come the inevitable sounds of the city. We appreciate your fair and balanced evaluation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    71
    30
    8
    6
See reviews for
45
122
29
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The accommodations and service at the Copper Whale are outstanding. The hosts are always helpful and every detail is attended to. You get a healthy and generous breakfast, and the location close to the coastal trail is ideal.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shields3033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersburg, AK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I travel to Anchorage several times a year from Southeast Alaska for work. I just returned from spending 6 nights at the Copper Whale. I loved it! The room was impeccably clean, the staff were great, the location is perfect (a short walk to the bustle of the central downtown area) and the feel was just so comfortable and welcoming. My room was in the back building, with a lovely view. I liked having the sink in the main room and the tub and toilet separate. Not sure if all the rooms are this way, but mine was. The main building, where breakfast is served, has a very nice sitting area. Even in the back building (which is a 5 second walk from the main building) there is a little sitting area with tea and coffee, a shared refrigerator and cute mini-dishwasher.

If you need a grandiose lobby and rooms that are all identical, this place is not for you. If you want real warmth, cleanliness, and a great healthy breakfast spread (toast, yogurt, fruit, cereal, light pastries, juice, coffee, tea, cocoa), this place is tops. I can't wait to take my mom there this summer!

P.s. If you want something a bit heartier for breakfast, try the Snow City Cafe across the street.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank 89traveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thanks so much for your kudos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This place is great - breakfast options are diverse and healthy. It's close to everything downtown, so you can walk.
I love that, if there is ever the tiniest problem - like, my pillow seemed a little flat - it's fixed in a jiffy. The guys that run this place are ON IT! They know customer service - which is RARE in Alaska.

Room Tip: One room has a fireplace, which is very nice. Some rooms have a bathroom, others share a bath access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OR_seastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thanks a lot for your kind words, and additional info about rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We stayed 1 night at the Copper Whale following our flight into Anchorage. The inn keeper was very nice and knowledgeable about the surrounding area, giving us ideas for what to do for the afternoon. The breakfast was good -- mostly pastries, fruit, & coffee/juice. The room was small but adequate. We shared a hall bath, but never saw anyone else so it wasn't an issue. The inn is conveniently located to downtown and makes walking around very nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCFulcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Thanks for your your kind words. We hope you will join us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed in May 2012 with another couple. Very friendly and loved the breakfast room where we could mingle with other guests, Great room with a comfortable bed which was fantastic after a 36 hour trek from Australia. Nice view from our room over the water, restaurant and bar next door and walking distance of downtown Anchorage. Good place for couples or singles wouldn't suggest young families

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mhracc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
We certainly appreciate your praises! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tahoe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Stayed there for a week. Location is fine. Noisy building. Not recommended for younger people. Be sure to get your own bathroom.
During the week, 3 different mornings had to take a cold shower. If you are there for a business trip, i don't recommend this. 3 mornings had a cold shower. Owners weren't willing to give much of a discount because of this. Overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
I'm really sorry about your bad experience. We thought the problem was solved, and action was taken when I was first made aware of the problem. Clearly, it continued to get worse over several days' time. Unfortunately, I was not informed the problem was ongoing until after your departure. Please accept my sincere apologies. In our defense, the rate you were billed was discounted substantially from our regular September room rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#15 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#11 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#21 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Whale Inn

Property: Copper Whale Inn
Address: 440 L St, Anchorage, AK 99501-1925
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Copper Whale Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy scenic ocean and mountain views from downtown Anchorage at the Copper Whale Inn! Our two adjacent houses offer comfortable, modern accommodations and our historic main house is the first architecturally designed home in Anchorage. Easy walking distance to business and arts, activities, restaurants, galleries, the Anchorage Museum and the Coastal Trail. Bike rental on-premise (summer). Concierge services, free wi-fi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Copper Whale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Whale Hotel Anchorage
Copper Whale Inn Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing