We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copper Whale Inn
Nearby Hotels
Lakeshore Inn & Suites(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Grand Hotel(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Ship Creek(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Golden Lion Hotel(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel Captain Cook(Anchorage)
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
183
74
30
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
74
30
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoastal traildowntown anchorageyogurtb bcook inletbike shopother guestselderberry parkgenerous breakfastsnow city caferented bikesliving roomtony knowlessome great restaurantschain hotelstea and coffeewithin walking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The place is very convenient and the rooms were comfortable. But several experinces lead us to not recommend this place.

- Our toilet plugged up twice. the first time was the night we arirved and were were tired from a day long trip. I called their maintenance and was told where to find the plunger. the second time I left it for them
- We accidentally broke a table top in the living room and they billed us for it and tried to slip the charge by us. Their attitude was terrible
- Anchorage was hot. The room was warm and all that we had was a sheet and a duvet. They had no light blankets and insetad gave us a duvet cover.

Room Tip: Get away from stairs and common area and make sure you have cross ventilation. Room at the end of the upstairs hall was OK.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

This was a most unfortunate situation all around. I apologize for your late-night plumbing issues but you seemed willing to take care of things when directed to a plunger. Regarding the glass, it is difficult and expensive to replace, requiring custom glass-cutting. Putting one's feet on any tabletop, much less a glass one, is certainly not safe, nor respectful of the hospitality we try to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed 3 nites and treated to excellent hospitality especially by Jennifer (nite mgr). Handy bike rental in front and trail 2 blocks away. Nice room with shared bathroom with views. Laundry for $5 per load was convenient after running Anchorage marathon on Saturday. Convenient to downtown sights and restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley1829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Thanks for your nice review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Arrived late for two day stay. Keypad on front door broken with note to go around the side. The down: After a long flight, hauling the luggage around and finding our way was not fun. Don't arrive late! Our room was kind of small and musty - it is an old house redone nicely. Pretty expensive: over $400 for our 2 night stay.

The up: The common room is fantastic with great views of the Turnagain arm, and an area for socializing with other - cosmopolitan - guests. Great breakfast choices could last all day. Good coffee! Jennifer and the other concierge were helpful, even making phone calls for us. Bike rental next door was important. You can take the coastal trail from the Copper Whale and ride all over town. You can walk to all museums in Anchorage, and even Nordstrom's from here. Productive birdwatching at Westchester Lagoon, a mile's walk, and the mud flats at low tide are great, too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Thanks for your kind words. Our apologies for the front door keypad - terrible timing for it to break down, unfortunately, right in the high season, and replacement parts are slow to come by. We enjoyed hosting you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed one night (Sunday 16 June) at the Inn & enjoyed it. Jennifer, the manager on duty, was so lovely & couldn't do enough for us. We were given a plumb room up on the second level with amazing views over the bay. Jennifer suggested places for dinner, things to do at our next stop & even packed a brown bag breakfast as we were leaving before 5 a.m. to catch the Alaskan Railway to Seward. Room & bathroom was very clean. Nice guest lounge with tea, water, etc which we didn't get much time to enjoy though! One tiny thing - it can be a tad noisy with the traffic as the inn is in a cracker spot right downtown. Ear plugs kindly supplied :) Thanks Jennifer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DragonflyDazed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2013

Thanks so much! Yes, we are downtown and the city sounds that come with the great location, but we do our best to make up for it with great service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This B&B locates in a perfect spot in downtown Anchorage. Check in was smooth without any problem. Rooms were nice and well maintained. There's bike rental shop in front of hotel. Restaurants and cafe nearby. Breakfast was very simple, no hot dishes, only drinks, fruit, and some cereals. Lobby/breakfast room is small and can be crowded sometimes.

The room I stayed on 2nd floor was an ensuite, but the share bathroom was also clean and nice; so don't bother if you book into a room w/o bath. For dining, I would recommend a short walk to Glacier Brew House. There is a nice hike/bike trail at the backside going towards the Earthquake Park. Overall I would recommend this place. Although there could be some noises in early hour traffics..

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zakBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thanks for your review. Our location is our strongest suit, but along with the urban location come the inevitable sounds of the city. We appreciate your fair and balanced evaluation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews