We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time Staying At A B&B”
Review of Copper Whale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Copper Whale Inn
Ranked #9 of 126 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2013

It was my first time staying at a bed & breakfast and it was nothing shortly than fantastic. The innkeepers were super welcoming and accommodating. Our room was very clean and comfortable. I liked the variety of teas they offered their guest. Excellent service all around; I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMB303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

Traveled with 2 other couples and we all loved this place. The highlight is the common room with its great view of the water, opportunity to talk with other guests, and delicious breakfast. Coffee and snacks available all the time. Room was comfortable, clean, and updated. Free wifi worked great. Jennifer was very helpful with suggestions for places to go and restaurant recommendations. Location was convenient to downtown sites and coastal trail. Downside...steps to rooms so you need to carry your luggage and somewhat pricey.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the main house and an attached building. Main house rooms are more convenient to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

I'm so glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The place is very convenient and the rooms were comfortable. But several experinces lead us to not recommend this place.

- Our toilet plugged up twice. the first time was the night we arirved and were were tired from a day long trip. I called their maintenance and was told where to find the plunger. the second time I left it for them
- We accidentally broke a table top in the living room and they billed us for it and tried to slip the charge by us. Their attitude was terrible
- Anchorage was hot. The room was warm and all that we had was a sheet and a duvet. They had no light blankets and insetad gave us a duvet cover.

Room Tip: Get away from stairs and common area and make sure you have cross ventilation. Room at the end of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

This was a most unfortunate situation all around. I apologize for your late-night plumbing issues but you seemed willing to take care of things when directed to a plunger. Regarding the glass, it is difficult and expensive to replace, requiring custom glass-cutting. Putting one's feet on any tabletop, much less a glass one, is certainly not safe, nor respectful of the hospitality we try to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed 3 nites and treated to excellent hospitality especially by Jennifer (nite mgr). Handy bike rental in front and trail 2 blocks away. Nice room with shared bathroom with views. Laundry for $5 per load was convenient after running Anchorage marathon on Saturday. Convenient to downtown sights and restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley1829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Thanks for your nice review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Arrived late for two day stay. Keypad on front door broken with note to go around the side. The down: After a long flight, hauling the luggage around and finding our way was not fun. Don't arrive late! Our room was kind of small and musty - it is an old house redone nicely. Pretty expensive: over $400 for our 2 night stay.

The up: The common room is fantastic with great views of the Turnagain arm, and an area for socializing with other - cosmopolitan - guests. Great breakfast choices could last all day. Good coffee! Jennifer and the other concierge were helpful, even making phone calls for us. Bike rental next door was important. You can take the coastal trail from the Copper Whale and ride all over town. You can walk to all museums in Anchorage, and even Nordstrom's from here. Productive birdwatching at Westchester Lagoon, a mile's walk, and the mud flats at low tide are great, too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Thanks for your kind words. Our apologies for the front door keypad - terrible timing for it to break down, unfortunately, right in the high season, and replacement parts are slow to come by. We enjoyed hosting you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed one night (Sunday 16 June) at the Inn & enjoyed it. Jennifer, the manager on duty, was so lovely & couldn't do enough for us. We were given a plumb room up on the second level with amazing views over the bay. Jennifer suggested places for dinner, things to do at our next stop & even packed a brown bag breakfast as we were leaving before 5 a.m. to catch the Alaskan Railway to Seward. Room & bathroom was very clean. Nice guest lounge with tea, water, etc which we didn't get much time to enjoy though! One tiny thing - it can be a tad noisy with the traffic as the inn is in a cracker spot right downtown. Ear plugs kindly supplied :) Thanks Jennifer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DragonflyDazed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2013

Thanks so much! Yes, we are downtown and the city sounds that come with the great location, but we do our best to make up for it with great service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This B&B locates in a perfect spot in downtown Anchorage. Check in was smooth without any problem. Rooms were nice and well maintained. There's bike rental shop in front of hotel. Restaurants and cafe nearby. Breakfast was very simple, no hot dishes, only drinks, fruit, and some cereals. Lobby/breakfast room is small and can be crowded sometimes.

The room I stayed on 2nd floor was an ensuite, but the share bathroom was also clean and nice; so don't bother if you book into a room w/o bath. For dining, I would recommend a short walk to Glacier Brew House. There is a nice hike/bike trail at the backside going towards the Earthquake Park. Overall I would recommend this place. Although there could be some noises in early hour traffics..

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zakBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thanks for your review. Our location is our strongest suit, but along with the urban location come the inevitable sounds of the city. We appreciate your fair and balanced evaluation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#4 of 74 in Anchorage
1,898 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#12 of 74 in Anchorage
291 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#22 of 74 in Anchorage
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Anchorage
#17 of 74 in Anchorage
1,598 reviews
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
#11 of 74 in Anchorage
710 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 74 in Anchorage
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Whale Inn

Address: 440 L St, Anchorage, AK 99501-1925
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range: £66 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Copper Whale Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy scenic ocean and mountain views from downtown Anchorage at the Copper Whale Inn! Our two adjacent houses offer comfortable, modern accommodations and our historic main house is the first architecturally designed home in Anchorage. Easy walking distance to business and arts, activities, restaurants, galleries, the Anchorage Museum and the Coastal Trail. Bike rental on-premise (summer). Concierge services, free wi-fi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Copper Whale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Whale Hotel Anchorage
Copper Whale Inn Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing