We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Anchorage!!”
Review of Copper Whale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Copper Whale Inn
Ranked #9 of 127 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, VA
1 review
“Great stay in Anchorage!!”
Reviewed 11 June 2008

I HIGHLY recommend the Copper Whale Inn to anyone visiting Anchorage. I originally booked 1 night, and 2 weeks out from my stay, I tried adding an extra night which required me to switch room type on the 2nd night. Rather than me hassle with this, they handled it on their end, and reshuffled the rest of their guests around to accommodate me for 2 nights without switching rooms. This is an indication of how much they care about pleasing their guests. Everyone (including the guests) was very pleasant, and those running the inn had some great recommendations for places to eat/things to do. I found the room to be rather spacious and some rooms have a view of the inlet. I never heard other guests in the hallways, and while it was summer and I had my window open, once I turned on my box fan (YES, they even provided box fans which I think is key no matter where you are staying!) I couldn't hear a thing outside. They provide a continental breakfast in a common area with an amazing view, and I found the food to be fresh and plentiful, and a great way to start my day. Located right downtown so everything is within walking distance, free wireless internet throughout, comfy bed, reasonably priced considering the spike in prices for the summer, and way more homey than choosing to stay at a bigger chain hotel - Anchorage is too quaint of a town to stay anywhere else. I cannot say enough wonderful things about my stay - Enjoy!!

  • Liked — True B&B accomodations
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank smashabrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    73
    30
    8
    6
See reviews for
45
124
29
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2008

We drove to Anchorage after a weeks cruise from Vancouver on the inside passage. This wasn't our first choice for B and B's (OUR mistake). We had another Inn booked and was fully paid for two rooms. When we saw the place the Downtown Anchorage B and B Raspberry Inn we knew we could never stay there so we opted to loose our money.

This B and B was wonderfully run by Glen the on property owner. The location is excellent, make sure you eat at the next door restaurant with super views. We had an upstairs room with wonderful views of the water, my dad and gal friend stayed downstairs in an easily accessable room with a comfy extra bed and large bath.

Glen knew we had had problems with the other b and b. He went out of his way to make us comfortable and welcome. His breakfast is delicious, with many fresh berries, waffles, too many choices to name. He fresh brews his coffee and his Inn is spotlessly clean.

There is a bike rental out front which we took advantage of. We rode about six miles out of town one way seeing two black bears and one large moose.

We would go back to Glen's place in a minute.

Jill and Mike

  • Liked — Location, view, accomodations, good service, breakfast, bike rental, friendliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Makeithappen57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver, CO
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2008

This place has great class. It is very clean and well run. Some of the rooms are a little small and they can be a bit warm if the sun is bright from the West. The breakfast area is small but nice and the service is great. There is an Internet workstation in the lobby. Bike rental is next door. Downtown is a very chort walk. Many rooms have a water view of Turnagain Arm.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kerryogorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2008

Copper Whale is an amazing place and truly a Home Away from Home, should probably be re-named the "Golden" Whale. The hospitality, the breakfast, the cleanliness-wow it was all GREAT. My wife, duaghter and myself stayed and enjoyed every bit of it. They were more then helpful very friendly. I recommed every one alike to stay here, all ages, single, married, and or with kids. It is the perfect place and location.

  • Liked — It was a Home Away from Home
  • Disliked — Nothing it was great
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank joshtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2008

My first contact with the Inn set the tone for my entire stay. I called to see if a room was available and talked to Glenn, the General Manager, who is a wonderful host. He is warm and friendly ~ a great ambassador for Anchorage.

I arrived at 2AM on a Saturday morning to a crackling fireplace, soft music and a hot cup of tea - perfect.

I have been on numerous trips this past year and the bed I slept in was by far the best - super comfy.

I did not have breakfast because of my own time constrictions (and it was hard leaving that bed!) but it looked delicious, there was a plenty to choose from and it was very nicely presented.

The Inn is clean & quiet & a great buy.

If you visit Anchorage you have to stay at the Copper Whale Inn.

Helpful?
1 Thank MTM50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2008

What a beautiful Bed and Breakfast! I am so impressed with the accommodations they offered. Glen was an absolute pleasure. He really does a fantastic job. I am literally at a loss for words. I can tell you that every need I could have had would have been met. We stayed in the Susitna room. The bed was so comfortable. The color décor is so warm and inviting. The brunch that Glen served on New Years Day was scrumptious. He made eggs benedict and was so fun to talk with. I was spoke with most of the guests that morning and they were so happy and truly enjoying their stay.

I can see where you were voted best bed and breakfast for the year. Congratulations, you have earned it.

  • Liked — Beautiful Decor, Comfort, Warm and Inviting
  • Disliked — That I had to leave and go home......
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AKMtRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2007

Comfortable rooms, attentive staff, private baths, centrally located, wireless, and a generous breakfast. We also had a great winter rate, making the experience nearly perfect.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Street parking only.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TruereviewJNU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
1,726 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#20 of 73 in Anchorage
452 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#13 of 73 in Anchorage
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Anchorage
#12 of 73 in Anchorage
1,469 reviews
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#30 of 73 in Anchorage
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Whale Inn

Property: Copper Whale Inn
Address: 440 L St, Anchorage, AK 99501-1925
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Copper Whale Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy scenic ocean and mountain views from downtown Anchorage at the Copper Whale Inn! Our two adjacent houses offer comfortable, modern accommodations and our historic main house is the first architecturally designed home in Anchorage. Easy walking distance to business and arts, activities, restaurants, galleries, the Anchorage Museum and the Coastal Trail. Bike rental on-premise (summer). Concierge services, free wi-fi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Copper Whale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Whale Hotel Anchorage
Copper Whale Inn Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing