We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Whale of a Place”
Review of Copper Whale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copper Whale Inn
Ranked #8 of 127 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Whale of a Place”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I can't say enough good things about the Copper Whale and its excellent staff. We checked-in late, after everyone had gone to bed, but our room was all ready and the view out the window over the water was lovely in the sunny moonlight. Location is perfect for walking into the city, strolling on the waterfront, or even going to the train station. Our flight left very late at night, but there was no problem storing our things all day and even taking a shower after returning from a bike ride (rentals right next door). Great breakfast, too. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmhouse73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words! I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    72
    30
    8
    6
See reviews for
45
123
29
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sitka
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

The Copper Whale is a sweet small inn that provides excellent personal service. I stay in Anchorage several times annually and the Copper Whale feels like home. Great location downtown, comfortable rooms and lovely breakfasts. Staff is personable and really cares about the quality of your stay. I always meet interesting Alaskans and travelers over breakfast or just relaxing in the communal living room with a fantastic view. Don't miss this place - signed, SE Alaska traveler.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mollie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thanks so much! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just lovely. We stayed 4 nights in the cottage next door to he large house. Room was just lovely, complete with rear door to deck area complete with furniture. Clean, Clean, Clean. Wonderful bed, small but adequate bathroom. The few rooms in this cottage open on to a small kitchen area, where you can make a cuppa. There's a fridge and computer here too. Breakfast is in the main lounge of the larger accommodation house. Absolutely lovely room, higher up than our cottage room, breakfast although continental had so much to choose from. Large fridge with extra supplies eg milk. Fruit offerings included cherries one morning as an extra treat and blackberries along with the usual, apples, bananas & oranges. Lots of lovely breads & pastries plus yogurt, you could not possibly go hungry. The host also lit the log fire to make the whole room seem so friendly even on a warm day (window was open). Jennifer met us at the door like an aunty, she must have been watching for the taxi as the door was opened and a lovely welcome was given. A must stay place, walk to the boardwalk, hire a bike on the property, walk to Downtown or the Mall, watch the sun as it sets from Elderberry Park, look for the snow on the mountains across the bay and don't forget to say a 'thankyou' to Cpt Cook for giving us his beautiful spot. Where would be without him and other's like him.

Room Tip: We liked the cottage room, maybe you would too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davmar70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thanks so much for your wonderful review! It was truly a pleasure to host you all, and we will hope to see you again, hopefully sooner than later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The staff were great and the room was cosy and comfortable. Good communal areas where you can choose to mix with fellow travellers. Clothes washing facilities are available and cheap. The location is within easy walking distance to the shopping and eating areas. Next has a great restaurant.

Room Tip: Each room has a different layout. We stayed in Romig which had plenty of draws. This was handy as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_Rowanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you for your nice review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The average rating is a blend of a "very good" hotel and a "poor" room. The hotel is really well located and close to many attractions, restaurants, Coastal Trail and the railroad station; it it also has a very well appointed common room for breakfast with views over the Arm. The continental breakfast was very good with great selection of healthy and less healthy options! HOWEVER, be wary of Room 13. It is in the smaller building at the back of the property with 3 other rooms. Because of the location of the hotel this means you are sleeping with your head literally 10 feet from the road and while there isn't much traffic its not that quiet and had a lot of loud (drunk!) pedestrian traffic at midnight. Also there's a street light right outside your room and while the "blackout blinds" should work they are installed 3 inches from the window making them useless! Sounds trivial I know but it kept us awake 2/4 nights.

Room Tip: Go for something in the main building further from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OchoDedos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
I'm sorry you did not sleep well. Our great downtown location comes with the hazards of the city, i.e., city sounds, and that is why we offer earplugs next to all our guest beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddonfield, Nj
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

What a lovely B&B on the corner of city street, tucked between office buildings, near good cycling and walking path! Short, one-night stay on way to the coast. Wish they had a room for our return trip to the city, but not. Very popular place during visitor season since its such a nice alternative to chain hotels. Had pleasant corner room with bathroom (some share a hall bath) and enjoyed the continental breakfast with fresh fruit and berries. Good coffee.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Car0l12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thanks so much for your wonderful comments! I'm so glad you enjoyed our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, TN
Level Contributor
157 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at the Copper Whale Inn the night we flew into Anchorage...The hotel was easy to find and was a nice location next to downtown restaurants, etc. Breakfast was OK (nothing special)...rooms were average. Price was pretty good. Easy one-night stop.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#14 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#11 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#23 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Whale Inn

Property: Copper Whale Inn
Address: 440 L St, Anchorage, AK 99501-1925
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Copper Whale Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy scenic ocean and mountain views from downtown Anchorage at the Copper Whale Inn! Our two adjacent houses offer comfortable, modern accommodations and our historic main house is the first architecturally designed home in Anchorage. Easy walking distance to business and arts, activities, restaurants, galleries, the Anchorage Museum and the Coastal Trail. Bike rental on-premise (summer). Concierge services, free wi-fi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Copper Whale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Whale Hotel Anchorage
Copper Whale Inn Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing