We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definite Downtown Inn”
Review of Copper Whale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Copper Whale Inn
Ranked #9 of 126 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

In booking this I did know that it was downtown; however, I had no idea how loud it would be. I did decide to use the earplugs one of the two nights we were here. I think after staying in remote areas of Alaska our entire trip (Talkeetna, Seward and Homer), ending our trip here was not a good idea. The bed we had was super squeaky anytime one of us turned over at night it would wake the other up. Location is AWESOME for walking anywhere downtown! Continental breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thanks for your review. I'm sorry you did not sleep well. All our literature and information point to our location and access to the "dynamic urban scene" of downtown Anchorage. It's the "big city" in Alaska and these are factors over which we have no control, unfortunately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Before moving to Anchorage last fall I visited several times, and each time I stayed at The Copper Whale Inn. It was just what I needed, a comfortable bed, a convenient location, helpful staff to give me tips on exploring Alaska. Glen the proprietor was so wonderful and friendly, and met tons of interesting folks in the communal space, all with fascinating reasons for visiting Alaska. I would definitely recommend The Copper Whale Inn for anyone looking for a sweet little spot to stay in Anchorage.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thepassenger_brklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thanks for your kudos. I hope you're settled comfortably into life in Alaska.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

After a one week cruise, we booked the larger suite so we could relax comfotably. Very nice room, excellent breakfast. Perfectly located to walk around downtown. Extremely helpful staff with suggestions, dinner recommendations. Had laundry facilities so we could do laundry before continuing on for another week. Other reviewers mentioned it was noisy; however, i never wore earplugs and slept sound.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanAnselmoSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

I'm so happy you enjoyed your visit. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed at the Copper Whale Inn for three nights. It was mid-May and warm, so we had to sleep with the windows open. Our rooms were in the little annex behind the main house. As others have said, it is pretty noisy most of the night. They do offer ear plugs and have great black out shades on the windows, to try to make your nights restful. That was the only down side. We LOVED the main house, the people who run the Inn, the location (blocks away from the train station, car rentals, restaurants, coastal bike path), the onsite bike rentals, the breakfast selection, the view from the main living area,the lovely garden areas, and the cleanliness of the whole Inn. Glenn helped us plan our activities for the day and answered any questions we had. I would definitely stay there again...just ask for a room inside the main house.

Room Tip: Inside the main house is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thanks a lot for your kind words. It's funny, some people say the main house is noisier and prefer the west house, while others think just the opposite. With the downtown location comes the urban atmosphere, and while I wish we could just lower the "cone of silence", but that brilliant technology went the way of "Get Smart". Too bad, I wish we could resurrect that and the shoe phone, both!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Nice rooms, great lounge/breakfast room with large windows overlooking the bay, close to downtown, really good value with excellent breakfast, lovely place - also have laundry facilities, highly recommend. Use an easy park car park as they are only a dollar an hour rather than the cat park opposite which is very expensive. Inn also does cycle hire and is right next to the amazing coastal trail.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lucyred1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you. I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This special little place within walking distance of downtown Anchorage is the perfect get away at the end of the day. The view of the bay was breathtaking. A short walk to the park was a great stress reliever. Charlene greeted us at the door, very friendly and accommodating. Great value especially compared to the large chain hotels in the area. A little bit of home away from home! No onsite parking but parking across the street in the public parking lot was a breeze. Only $8 for all night.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

You are too kind! Thanks so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Highly recommend staying here if you have any exploring you want to do downtown. It is steps away from the coastal trail and there are bicycle rentals on site! The hotel is neatly maintained with a cute little garden courtyard and free breakfast! The only tricky part about staying here is city parking, but it's not too difficult.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road might be better for sleeping. For me the roadside was convenient to get my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali-McCullough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thanks a lot! I'm glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#4 of 74 in Anchorage
1,898 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#12 of 74 in Anchorage
291 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#22 of 74 in Anchorage
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Anchorage
#17 of 74 in Anchorage
1,596 reviews
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
#11 of 74 in Anchorage
709 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 74 in Anchorage
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Whale Inn

Address: 440 L St, Anchorage, AK 99501-1925
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range: £65 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Copper Whale Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy scenic ocean and mountain views from downtown Anchorage at the Copper Whale Inn! Our two adjacent houses offer comfortable, modern accommodations and our historic main house is the first architecturally designed home in Anchorage. Easy walking distance to business and arts, activities, restaurants, galleries, the Anchorage Museum and the Coastal Trail. Bike rental on-premise (summer). Concierge services, free wi-fi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Copper Whale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Whale Hotel Anchorage
Copper Whale Inn Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing