We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Bed & Breakfast!”
Review of Copper Whale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Copper Whale Inn
Ranked #9 of 126 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2008

This was the first bed & breakfast experience for both my wife and I; each of us was pleased! We stayed here on the first couple nights of our honeymoon, before our honeymoon cruise.

Our room was clean with a spectacular view of the mountains and water.

The innkeeper was super nice, breakfast was great, and we were able to drop-off our bags before are room was ready (our flight arrived pretty early). On our second day, we had a wine-tasting with the manager, which was also wonderful.

This is a great place to stay in Anchorage!

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jla_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
There are newer reviews for Copper Whale Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Copper Whale Inn. The staff was friendly and our room was clean and comfortable. We opted for a room with shared bath to save a few bucks, and they upgraded us at no charge to a private bath. We rented bikes at the place out front and went for a ride on the Coastal Trail down the hill. We couldn't believe our eyes when we saw Beluga Whales on our ride!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JPWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2008

My mom and I stayed here for one night at the end of July on our way to a cruise out of Seward. We were warmly greeted and taken care of upon arrival, and made to feel at home. We found parking very close by, which was handy, and were given a great suggestion for food that we could walk to (Glacier Brewery - crowded buy yummy).

The room was small but comfortable (it was next to the breakfast room, but I don't know if it was the "infamous" carriage room) and clean. Since we were right next to the street there was a LOT of noise from traffic (we got that room so Mom wouldn't have to navigate too many stairs). The TV only had one station, but we really didn't go to Anchorage to watch tv, so that was fine.

Breakfast was good - plenty of choices to fill up on, but other's comments about the breakfast room were right on. For older travelers it was a bit difficult to balance food and beverage on a couch without a table directly in front.

Overall it was a very good experience for what we needed and the staff were exceptionally nice and helpful, but I wouldn't choose it for a multi-night stay in Anchorage.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nejmaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2008

We just returned from three nights in this small inn. I would ask for a room facing the ocean if I had it to do again, as we faced the breakfast room in the main house. The location of the inn is excellent. We had no car, and walked to everything we wanted to do. Loved the bike trail that is right there. There is a well maintained garden. Breakfast was well organized and plenty of choices (fruit/cereal/toast/yogurt). The rooms are comfy and well decorated. Though we expected no TV's there are some now, which was good for watching the Democratic Convention one night. There was a small kitchen we used for microwaving leftovers once. Coffee is setup automatically for the am, which is a touch I really appreciated.

The option of doing a laundry load for $3 in the evening was another unexpected delight, after two weeks of camping. The Wi-Fi worked well. Anchorage is small, and a lot of the popular restaurants crowded in peak season (eg Glacier Brew House), but we got some take out from Ginger one night only a ten minute walk away, and for lunch, Snow City a block away is perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hudsonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

I stayed here twice for a total of 3 nights. The first stay was for two nights in the Carriage Room. It was very noisy. The lobby is immediately outside and the room's door is transparent to sound. The street is very close and the traffic is very audible at all hours. To make matters worse, there is a industrial trash compactor just outside, which makes prolonged, mechanical whirring. I complained to the management. They provided ear plugs for our second night and refunded one night's cost, which satisfied me. The room's rate is slightly lower than the other rooms, but the small savings is not worth the big headache. Overall, the Copper Whale Inn was a nice place to stay, just don't take the Carriage Room!

Everything was satisfactory during our second stay for one night. The second night was in the adjacent building in a larger, quieter room.

Somewhere to sit while you eat breakfast (besides the lounge couches) would be nice. Others have complained about the Carriage Room before. How about you turn it into a breakfast seating area? This would save many travelers from discomfort, although it would eliminate your revenues from the noisy room.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ShootsAndLadders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2008

We undertood these folks were unhappy with their room, apologized for circumstances that were not common and beyond our control, and offered them a very large discount ($200+) in an effort to show them a sincere degree of hospitality. Now I'm sorry yet again for their lack of appreciation. For shame, for shame...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2008

We stayed 2 nites here in June.Great location we could walk everywhere .We had a view room on the lower building .Small but nice. Breakfast was great in the main building visiting with others and comparing notes from the previous day. Glenn was great and had great suggestions of things to see and do. great weather no rain. Was a wonderful place to start our 3 week vacation in alaska!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank joannepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2008

My wife and I made this our home base when we visited Alaska. It was perfect for heading South to Seward and North to Denali. We booked our stay over the phone and received our confirmations perfectly via email. We arrived after hours but Glen made sure to leave clear instructions for us regarding our room. We stayed in both the main and second house and the accomodations for both were perfect. We were lucky enough to have views from all the rooms that we stayed in. All were extremely comfortable and squeaky clean. I can not complement the cleaning staff enough. There were no elevators so know that if you are on the second floor that you should take it easy to haul up your luggage. I am sure that they would help you if you needed them to. I did enjoy staying in the main house for the convenience of the breakfast area and computer. For breakfast I enjoyed the pastries, whole grain breads with many different spreads, cereals, yogurts and a few other items that I didn't devour. The tea selection and coffee were great. Needless to say I did not leave hungry. If you do we heard that the Snow City Cafe was good. We never made it. We did go to Humpy's and enjoyed that a lot. It is a local restaurant that gets packed. Down to Earth and good food. Try the halibut tacos. The location of the inn is perfect. You can rent bicycles outside the front door. You can walk around very easily and it took us about 15 minutes to walk to the train station. We did rent a car and parked it most every night at the meters with no problem. I would stay here again in a heartbeat! Thank you Glen and everyone on the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank svnchipmunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#4 of 74 in Anchorage
1,874 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#10 of 74 in Anchorage
287 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#17 of 74 in Anchorage
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#23 of 74 in Anchorage
472 reviews
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
#11 of 74 in Anchorage
703 reviews
Clarion Suites Downtown
#32 of 74 in Anchorage
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Whale Inn

Address: 440 L St, Anchorage, AK 99501-1925
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range: £81 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Copper Whale Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy scenic ocean and mountain views from downtown Anchorage at the Copper Whale Inn! Our two adjacent houses offer comfortable, modern accommodations and our historic main house is the first architecturally designed home in Anchorage. Easy walking distance to business and arts, activities, restaurants, galleries, the Anchorage Museum and the Coastal Trail. Bike rental on-premise (summer). Concierge services, free wi-fi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Copper Whale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Whale Hotel Anchorage
Copper Whale Inn Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing