We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and Cons of location”
Review of Copper Whale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Copper Whale Inn
Ranked #9 of 126 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed at the Copper Whale on two different nights. The first night was in the back where the room was on the small side but comfortable and quiet. The other night was spent in the Carriage Room which is located right on the main road. We did not sleep that night due to the continuous noise of trucks and motorcycles (even with ear plugs). There are other reviews that also mention the traffic noise; perhaps some insulation or taking out the air conditioner out would help. I've stayed in other city hotels which were quieter. Beside the lack of sleep, the staff at the B&B are friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good. It's closeness to the coastal trail was a big plus and we walked and rode bikes each time we stayed. We also enjoyed being within walking distance of some great restaurants.

Room Tip: Avoid the Carriage Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pchessin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thanks for your nice words. I'm sorry you did not sleep well.We have no control over traffic noise, unfortunately, and that is why we supply earplugs in all guest rooms. The air conditioner in the Carriage room is there specifically to help provide some ambient white noise to mask the outside sounds. I'm sorry you did not sleep well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed one night after our cruise tour to Alaska. The hotel is nicely located close to the coastal walking trail. Some rooms have a wonderful view to the waterfront. Our room (no 9) had a private bath room. overall it was very clean and neat. The garden is very nice and the whole place is a little gem in the center of Anchorage. The continental breakfast is ok, offering bread, croissants, jams, fresh fruit and cereals. Wifi is included and the speed is quite good. Parking is only available on the street. There is no shuttle service to the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mone_HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Add to that the staff is friendly and helpful with ideas for the area and the breakfast is continental and good - then the parts that take away stars. The rooms are small with just a bed, the bathrooms are shared down the hall on the second floor of the main building (though the suites might have their own bath).

Stayed: July 2014
Thank RknRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thanks for your review. It is unfortunate that, in this forum, there is no opportunity for retraction of incorrect information. 12 of our 14 rooms have bath en suite, and the two rooms with shared bath have beautiful ocean views. Only those two rooms share one full bath and one half bath across the hall. We have plush terry robes in the rooms with shared bath for guests' comfort and convenience. The situation is what it is, and we attempt to portray things as accurately as possible on our website and via any of our online booking partners. Generally, people book the rooms with shared bath to save money. When I read reviews like this I am incensed, since it casts a disparaging light on a situation we cannot change. We could just rip the entire place down and build a generic hotel with generic service to match. But, perhaps better, this reviewer should direct their attention toward such a property next time they are looking for accommodations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Again this was a choice based on reviews from Trip advisor. It is well located jut at the head of a costal trail and a park. Almost at the end of downtown it is just a stones throw from many restaurants and shops on the 5th Avenue shopping strip. The main salon and some rooms are located in the front part of a heritage building. The rear has again a common lounge with rooms which is a later addition. The property is surrounded by a small but sweet garden. A homely and comfortable place which also lacks in a few things. Rooms are a bit small, and road facing rooms have a lot of noise from the traffic flow. Bath is a bit inconvenient there is no parking on site. Public parking available nearby which is expensive . Parking possible free of cost on the road btw 5pm and 9am the next morning. The staff are excellent and so helpful. Had to disturb them in the middle of the night as we got locked out . Breakfast is served early and pretty adequate. Special thanks to Colleen who directed us to Girdwood and the 7 glaciers restaurant for dinner. Would surely recommend but avoid road facing rooms though they do provide ear plugs. Bike rentals available on the property.

Room Tip: Avoid road facing rooms if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vidhusagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thanks for your detailed review. I hope you had a wonderful Alaska adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This place is close to downtown and on the corner of a one way street. Suggest you get proper directions if you are driving. This old inn is charming with small rooms and lovely common areas. Don't expect too much from the rooms which are basic and very dated. The main block is a heritage building and there is one more block in the rear. Some rooms have a rear door that opens out to the street, be careful or you could get locked out. The staff are sweet and happy to ensure a good stay. Just behind the Inn is a nice park to watch the sun go down. Sleep was a problem owing to the high traffic noise all through the night. Also there is no parking at the hotel and you have to park on the road or at the public parking lot which is expensive.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that are road facing since it is noisy. Also make sure you get the contact number of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SagarVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thanks for your detailed review and your kind words about our service. We do have someone available 24/7 by house phone. Desk hours are 7AM-9PM, and for after-hours, dial 0 to reach me. I live just next door, in order to be able to take care of any problems, such as lock-outs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

In booking this I did know that it was downtown; however, I had no idea how loud it would be. I did decide to use the earplugs one of the two nights we were here. I think after staying in remote areas of Alaska our entire trip (Talkeetna, Seward and Homer), ending our trip here was not a good idea. The bed we had was super squeaky anytime one of us turned over at night it would wake the other up. Location is AWESOME for walking anywhere downtown! Continental breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thanks for your review. I'm sorry you did not sleep well. All our literature and information point to our location and access to the "dynamic urban scene" of downtown Anchorage. It's the "big city" in Alaska and these are factors over which we have no control, unfortunately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Before moving to Anchorage last fall I visited several times, and each time I stayed at The Copper Whale Inn. It was just what I needed, a comfortable bed, a convenient location, helpful staff to give me tips on exploring Alaska. Glen the proprietor was so wonderful and friendly, and met tons of interesting folks in the communal space, all with fascinating reasons for visiting Alaska. I would definitely recommend The Copper Whale Inn for anyone looking for a sweet little spot to stay in Anchorage.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thepassenger_brklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thanks for your kudos. I hope you're settled comfortably into life in Alaska.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#4 of 74 in Anchorage
1,900 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#12 of 74 in Anchorage
292 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#22 of 74 in Anchorage
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Anchorage
#16 of 74 in Anchorage
1,598 reviews
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
#11 of 74 in Anchorage
710 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 74 in Anchorage
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Whale Inn

Address: 440 L St, Anchorage, AK 99501-1925
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range: £66 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Copper Whale Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy scenic ocean and mountain views from downtown Anchorage at the Copper Whale Inn! Our two adjacent houses offer comfortable, modern accommodations and our historic main house is the first architecturally designed home in Anchorage. Easy walking distance to business and arts, activities, restaurants, galleries, the Anchorage Museum and the Coastal Trail. Bike rental on-premise (summer). Concierge services, free wi-fi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Copper Whale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Whale Hotel Anchorage
Copper Whale Inn Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing