We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copper Whale Inn
Nearby Hotels
Anchorage Grand Hotel(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$301
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alyeska(Girdwood)(Great Value!)
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Golden Lion Hotel(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
183
74
30
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
74
30
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoastal traildowntown anchorageyogurtcook inletbike shopother guestselderberry parkgenerous breakfastsnow city caferented bikesliving roomtony knowlessome great restaurantschain hotelstea and coffeewithin walking distancestreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Copper Whale Inn for four nights July 24th – July 27th. My positive comments are 1) Location. It is located in downtown Anchorage within walking distance of just about everything you want to see, plus lots of restaurants. Being downtown they have no parking. That is somewhat mitigated by the fact that street parking is free from 6:00 PM to 9:00 AM and on weekends. 2) The gardens are absolutely beautiful.
The first negative is breakfast. Their website says “breakfast is served in the living room”. First it is not served, it’s a continental breakfast. It is a very good continental breakfast with a wide variety of good quality choices. Yes, it’s in the living room which means you sit on couches and eat off of TV trays. Not very comfortable at all. Second ours was a twin bed room on the bottom floor of the main house. It was very small. It had a private bath but the sink/vanity was in the bed room. For me the worst part was its location. It was right next to the stairs and an outside entrance. Very noisy until late at night and again early in the morning. The mattresses were very soft and saggy, I’m a light sleeper so it may not bother anyone else. After two nights I was ready to leave. Our nephew and niece traded rooms with us. They had a lovely and quiet suite in the annex with a queen size bed with a good mattress, We hardly saw the owner or I would have said something to him.

Room Tip: Insist on a room in the annex.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank teapotlady41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thanks for your review. It's funny, because some people really love the main building and some people really love the west building. I wish we could have had the opportunity to remedy the problems you encountered, but since we were never informed, had no opportunity to act. Our front desk is open 7AM-9PM in the summer months and the desk is staffed constantly during those hours, to assist with all inquiries. After hours, phone calls are answered by the manager, who lives next door, and is always available is case of problems, lock-outs, etc. We hope that our guests will let us know if something is not to their liking so we can do something about it, rather than venting their frustration after the fact in anonymous social media forums.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had five couples that got in very late to the hotel,but all the rooms were ready and very accomadating. The staff were great, with Glenn being a little edgy at times. The breakfast was good and fresh each morning, with all of able to visit in the commons area and plan our day. I would recommend this to anyone that would like ,to get away from the chain hotels and have a quiet place to stay near downtown. Very enjoyable place!!

Room Tip: If you are a couple ,don't get the room with twin beds.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thanks for your nice review and your compliment. It makes me feel so hip and modern!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We found the staff at the Inn very welcoming and helpful. We stayed here twice and they will hold your luggage for a small nominal fee, which was great for us. There is also a laundry room which you can use for $6, which was a bonus. Parking is on street and a little limited. The Inn was not easy to find first time, due to Anchorage's one-way system. But the staff were very helpful recommending and booking a table at restaurants for us, and there are some super restaurants within easy walking distance. Our first room, Redoubt, was very spacious and had a very comfy bed. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Try to get Redoubt, it faces the back and is spacious and very comfy, Also suggest you book a table - the Americans eat very early (from 5.30 pm onwards !).
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Max08Guernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thanks for your nice review. We do also have parking available at the nearby garage for $15/day, half the rate the garage charges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed at the Copper Whale on two different nights. The first night was in the back where the room was on the small side but comfortable and quiet. The other night was spent in the Carriage Room which is located right on the main road. We did not sleep that night due to the continuous noise of trucks and motorcycles (even with ear plugs). There are other reviews that also mention the traffic noise; perhaps some insulation or taking out the air conditioner out would help. I've stayed in other city hotels which were quieter. Beside the lack of sleep, the staff at the B&B are friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good. It's closeness to the coastal trail was a big plus and we walked and rode bikes each time we stayed. We also enjoyed being within walking distance of some great restaurants.

Room Tip: Avoid the Carriage Room!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pchessin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thanks for your nice words. I'm sorry you did not sleep well.We have no control over traffic noise, unfortunately, and that is why we supply earplugs in all guest rooms. The air conditioner in the Carriage room is there specifically to help provide some ambient white noise to mask the outside sounds. I'm sorry you did not sleep well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed one night after our cruise tour to Alaska. The hotel is nicely located close to the coastal walking trail. Some rooms have a wonderful view to the waterfront. Our room (no 9) had a private bath room. overall it was very clean and neat. The garden is very nice and the whole place is a little gem in the center of Anchorage. The continental breakfast is ok, offering bread, croissants, jams, fresh fruit and cereals. Wifi is included and the speed is quite good. Parking is only available on the street. There is no shuttle service to the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mone_HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews