We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value ... Quaint & Lovely”
Review of Copper Whale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Copper Whale Inn
Ranked #9 of 126 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

13 of us stayed in the the end of July 29. They have 2 buildings side by side with a lovely little garden between. The rooms are clean and comfortable for 3 people and have a spectacular ocean view.
Glen, the Inn Keeper helped us arrange for a van to transport all our luggage to the Train Station as well as book a restaurant resvervation for our large group. The staff packed us a breakfast to go the morning we left. We couldn't have asked for any better care and attention!
There is a bike rental on the corner of the Inn lot and another directly across the street. We took advantage of the great location one block from the ocean and went on a long bike ride beside the sea ona paved pathway.
We would highly recommend this location. All the staff were wonderful and we loved our stay here.
.... the only sad thing was that we never had enough time in Anchorage. We are planning on coming back and The Copper Whale Inn will be our first room choice.

Room Tip: This is a quiet little Inn ... ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Verna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you so much. I'm so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We will hope to host you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We only spent a brief time at the B & B, but it was very nice. The breakfast in the morning wasn't the normal table service you expect at a B & B, but it was a great spread. We had a bowl of fresh fruit, pastries, special breads and jams, granola, yogurt, etc. Everything was home made, and fresh! It was a great start to the day. Our room was nice and quiet, and ready for our late arrival into Anchorage. We took a taxi from the airport for about $20.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My sister and I stayed 2 nights at the Copper Whale Inn based on a recommendation from a friend who lives in Anchorage. It is right downtown and within walking distance to restaurants and tourist shops and a few blocks to see the water and a little park. We drove and there was no parking. The staff that greeted us told me I could park on the street after 6pm. There is a parking garage a few blocks away by the Captain Cook hotel. We were in room #11 in the back building. The tub and toilet were ensuite, but the sink in the room. Not sure why inns do this. We had 2 suitcases and no where to put the second suitcase in the room. There were no drawers just a small area to hang up a few things. The room was noisy, which we should have known since there was a small dish on table with 2 pairs of ear plugs. There was a bike rental place at the front of the property, which isn't seen in the pictures and there were bikes all over the front walk that we had to navigate around. The TV was difficult to turn off. There are confusing directions next to the TV and we still couldn't figure it out. We suspect the people before us had trouble too since it was unplugged when we arrived. It was a bit disconcerting to have to eat off TV tables in the living room at first, but we didn't mind. It was an ok stay, but nothing special. The staff were all friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Copper Whale Inn for four nights July 24th – July 27th. My positive comments are 1) Location. It is located in downtown Anchorage within walking distance of just about everything you want to see, plus lots of restaurants. Being downtown they have no parking. That is somewhat mitigated by the fact that street parking is free from 6:00 PM to 9:00 AM and on weekends. 2) The gardens are absolutely beautiful.
The first negative is breakfast. Their website says “breakfast is served in the living room”. First it is not served, it’s a continental breakfast. It is a very good continental breakfast with a wide variety of good quality choices. Yes, it’s in the living room which means you sit on couches and eat off of TV trays. Not very comfortable at all. Second ours was a twin bed room on the bottom floor of the main house. It was very small. It had a private bath but the sink/vanity was in the bed room. For me the worst part was its location. It was right next to the stairs and an outside entrance. Very noisy until late at night and again early in the morning. The mattresses were very soft and saggy, I’m a light sleeper so it may not bother anyone else. After two nights I was ready to leave. Our nephew and niece traded rooms with us. They had a lovely and quiet suite in the annex with a queen size bed with a good mattress, We hardly saw the owner or I would have said something to him.

Room Tip: Insist on a room in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank teapotlady41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thanks for your review. It's funny, because some people really love the main building and some people really love the west building. I wish we could have had the opportunity to remedy the problems you encountered, but since we were never informed, had no opportunity to act. Our front desk is open 7AM-9PM in the summer months and the desk is staffed constantly during those hours, to assist with all inquiries. After hours, phone calls are answered by the manager, who lives next door, and is always available is case of problems, lock-outs, etc. We hope that our guests will let us know if something is not to their liking so we can do something about it, rather than venting their frustration after the fact in anonymous social media forums.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had five couples that got in very late to the hotel,but all the rooms were ready and very accomadating. The staff were great, with Glenn being a little edgy at times. The breakfast was good and fresh each morning, with all of able to visit in the commons area and plan our day. I would recommend this to anyone that would like ,to get away from the chain hotels and have a quiet place to stay near downtown. Very enjoyable place!!

Room Tip: If you are a couple ,don't get the room with twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thanks for your nice review and your compliment. It makes me feel so hip and modern!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We found the staff at the Inn very welcoming and helpful. We stayed here twice and they will hold your luggage for a small nominal fee, which was great for us. There is also a laundry room which you can use for $6, which was a bonus. Parking is on street and a little limited. The Inn was not easy to find first time, due to Anchorage's one-way system. But the staff were very helpful recommending and booking a table at restaurants for us, and there are some super restaurants within easy walking distance. Our first room, Redoubt, was very spacious and had a very comfy bed. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Try to get Redoubt, it faces the back and is spacious and very comfy, Also suggest you book a table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Max08Guernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thanks for your nice review. We do also have parking available at the nearby garage for $15/day, half the rate the garage charges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed at the Copper Whale on two different nights. The first night was in the back where the room was on the small side but comfortable and quiet. The other night was spent in the Carriage Room which is located right on the main road. We did not sleep that night due to the continuous noise of trucks and motorcycles (even with ear plugs). There are other reviews that also mention the traffic noise; perhaps some insulation or taking out the air conditioner out would help. I've stayed in other city hotels which were quieter. Beside the lack of sleep, the staff at the B&B are friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good. It's closeness to the coastal trail was a big plus and we walked and rode bikes each time we stayed. We also enjoyed being within walking distance of some great restaurants.

Room Tip: Avoid the Carriage Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pchessin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thanks for your nice words. I'm sorry you did not sleep well.We have no control over traffic noise, unfortunately, and that is why we supply earplugs in all guest rooms. The air conditioner in the Carriage room is there specifically to help provide some ambient white noise to mask the outside sounds. I'm sorry you did not sleep well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#6 of 74 in Anchorage
1,904 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#22 of 74 in Anchorage
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#26 of 74 in Anchorage
400 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#7 of 74 in Anchorage
633 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#13 of 74 in Anchorage
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Whale Inn

Address: 440 L St, Anchorage, AK 99501-1925
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range: £82 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Copper Whale Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy scenic ocean and mountain views from downtown Anchorage at the Copper Whale Inn! Our two adjacent houses offer comfortable, modern accommodations and our historic main house is the first architecturally designed home in Anchorage. Easy walking distance to business and arts, activities, restaurants, galleries, the Anchorage Museum and the Coastal Trail. Bike rental on-premise (summer). Concierge services, free wi-fi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Copper Whale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Whale Hotel Anchorage
Copper Whale Inn Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing