We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel considering the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites
Ranked #42 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
São Paulo
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good hotel considering the price”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The hotels in Alaska are expensive and in Anchorage are even more. But this hotel had a good rate and the location was fine. A Benihana was next to the hotel and the city center is 10 or 15 minutes walking from there. The view from the room was very nice, I could see half of the city from the room. About the room: simple but clean and nice, spacious, with a sink beside the tv, a microwave and a coffee machine, comfortable bed with one pillow per person and linens smaller than the mattress. The air conditioner was noisy and the curtains did not block the sun (neither the midnight sun) The hotel spaces were not so clean as the room. Carpet at social areas look dirty and smelly, decor in outdated and the atmosphere is a kind of dark. Service is very attentive, though the maid forgot to clean the room and make the bed - she changed the towels and left!

Room Tip: As soon as you check in and go to your room check if the air conditioner is noisy and if the room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renato N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inletscott, General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
RNVR,

Thank you so much for your review. Unfortunately, I believe you stayed at the Clarion Suites, as they have a Benihana adjacent to their facility. We are about a mile away, but do still offer the proximity to the city center (and great rates). We would love for you to stop by and see us the next time your travels bring you to Anchorage though!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    155
    149
    83
    80
See reviews for
110
182
60
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Huge 1 bed suite on the 15th floor with a great view over the north side of Anchorage. It's not luxury but just what you need when travelling with kids. There's a great supermarket next door if you need supplies.

Room Tip: Should have asked for a room with a view Southwards over the inlet
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank greenwellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inletscott, General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
greenwellington,

Thank you for your review. Your room tip is spot on. We do offer great views of Cook Inlet to the West, but on the flip side, when you are facing East, you have the Chugach Range as your backdrop. Which to choose, which to choose? Happy travels green, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The staff at the Inlet Tower (front desk, shuttle driver, wait staff) were all very friendly and accommodating. The hotel itself is fairly basic, but clean. The restaurant, where we had breakfast was fine, but pricey (as is most dining in Alaska). If you stay at Inlet Tower, choose a room higher up which probably has nice views of the water. I was on the second floor, so no views. Location was about a 10 minute from downtown Anchorage and a 5 minute walk to the Tony Knowles Bike/Walking trail. Good supermarket on the same block with great coffee.

Room Tip: Choose one on a higher level so you can get a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GinkoBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inletscott, General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
GinkoBoston,

Thank you for your review of our Hotel. I think you nailed almost everything I could have said, so I'll let your words do the talking. Thanks for your time, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Learned my lesson trying to save money on a hotel. I knew this was an old hotel, but even old hotels can have decent beds. Bed was VERY old, springs coming thru, dipped in the middle, bedding old/threadbare dirty, carpets old, dirty, loose all over. Looked like a tenement. Pretty nasty overall. Staff were friendly, public area was updated and nice, but rooms were hideous! Shower pressure good. Will never stay here and do not recommend anyone else do. They need new beds (at least from this century), bedding, carpet, cleaning emphasis (bathroom floor had dirt and hair ick). Did not let me feet touch floor and slept trying not to touch old nasty blanket & spread. Really don't know how they can take money for these rooms with a good conscience.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jomama7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inletscott, General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
jomama7,

Thanks for telling us about your stay. You'll be happy to know we have already upgraded our linen package, so no worries there. I would like to point out that we take cleanliness very seriously here, and while we are an older property, we cut no corners in health and safety standards. It is a common mis-conception that just because we are "older" we are not clean. In addition to the public areas you mentioned we are also working diligently to update other areas of the hotel, and your direct feedback drives the decisions we make on where we can most improve. I'm sorry to hear your experience was not the best, but we take all constructive criticism as a way to continually improve the guest experience, so thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

Level Contributor
236 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Good service but needs an overhaul
Left over from the 50's motels
Beds and shower fine
Suited purpose of inexpensive centrally located place
Ck that room has a working air conditioner when u first get into room ( desk isnt sure) and towel and a do not disturb sign
Go as high up as possible
Has Starbucks in lobby
Sometimes 1$ sometimes 2$
Laundry in vasement needs lots and lots and lots of quarters

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Borroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inletscott, General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Borroc,

Thank you for your review. I appreciate the fact that you noticed our cleanliness, as it is often mistaken that because we are an older building, we are not a clean facility. Also, do note that the Hotel went through a "retro-vation" in 2002/2003 which current ownership is working to update, but that even the items that look like they are out of the 50's are in fact newer. All in all it sounds like you had a good stay, and I am truly happy to hear that. Thanks again for your time, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights before and 1 night after a 2 week Alaskan tour. The front desk staff were friendly, though not entirely professional. The whole hotel could do with some desparate updating, fixtures, paint, carpets all pretty old looking. Need better shut out blinds to allow the room to get dark in summer. The rooms were quite large and the beds comfortable, and the location was great, 6 blocks from downtown and a short stroll to the Tony Knowles trail and some nice parklands near Westchester Lagoon.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzybabe666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inletscott, General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
jazzybabe666,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We have major plans to take care of the carpets and hallways this winter, so make sure you stop by next time your in Anchorage and check out all the ways we are constantly improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Booked through a group. Entire hotel needs and overhaul. Front desk stuff nice but not professional. You never say room number outloud. Rooms old and bathroom sketchy. Needs better black out shades since the sun doesn't set in summer. Breakfast was the best part.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcs211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inletscott, General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
jcs211,

Thank you for your review. We are an older building, but have been working diligently since late 2011 to update a few things in need. I think you will find every time you stay something will be new and updated, but unfortunately we cant do it all at once. Sincerely, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. It's reviews like yours that allow us to hone in on the things most important to our guests as we try to continually improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.8 mi away
aviator hotel anchorage
aviator hotel anchorage
#48 of 73 in Anchorage
103 reviews
1.0 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage
0.5 mi away
The Voyager Inn
The Voyager Inn
#12 of 73 in Anchorage
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarion Suites Downtown
Clarion Suites Downtown
#26 of 73 in Anchorage
399 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 73 in Anchorage
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites

Property: Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites
Address: 1020 W 12th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-4577
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inlet Tower Hotel Anchorage
Inlet Tower Hotel And Suites
Inlet Hotel Anchorage
Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing