We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was satisfied.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites
Ranked #50 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed 24 June 2009

I got this hotel off of Hotwire. It was in a good location, kind of in a small business-residential area on the edge of downtown. Nice and good-sized room, wireless Internet, fridge, microwave, etc. It was clean and the staff was nice. Free and plentiful parking. There is a nice neighborhood market across the street with a coffee shop. I would stay here again. If you get a room on an upper floor, it should have some great views.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gapost104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
There are newer reviews for Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2009

Leading up to the days before we left on our trip through Alaska for 10 days I was still unsure of this hotel because of the reviews I had read. We did use the Toursaver coupon (stay one night get one night free) and it was a good deal.

You can tell the hotel is old but they are working on updating it. Our rooms had new carpet but the counter top was a little dated but functional. The bathrooms could use some work. The tub was sitting higher than normal and when you got out there was a pretty good step down to the floor. There isn't anything to hold to, so just be careful when stepping out of the tub. It wasn't an issue for us, but my parents didn't feel steady when getting out of the tub in their room.

There is one elevator for the building but as there isn't many rooms on each floor, maybe 12-14, and we were on the 12th floor, you had to wait but not as long as other people has posted.

The lobby had wi-fi so we would go there to send and receive email. The website states their rooms have internet connection but only certain rooms. We were in a room that didn't have a LAN cable and the front desk offered to move us to a room that did but as we were settled and didn't want to move we made the trip to the lobby. Make sure when you book you ask for a room with an internet connection if that is important to you.

My husband ate in the hotel restaurant once for breakfast. It was $13 but he said everything was good. We found that walking next door to the Sangay Market and getting breakfast food and eating in our room was better. Our rooms had a coffee pot, sink and refrigerator for milk and such.

All in all an ok place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FarisW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

THe good - the shuttle pickup from the airport was prompt and the driver was very courteous and gave us some great suggestions for our trip. THe front dest staff was very helpful with directions as was the shuttle driver that took us down to the train station (even though we were not with the group that was taknig the train). The breakfast in the restaruant that comes with teh room was excellent.

THe bad - the location is a bit away from most anything else that a toursit would do in anchorage. not many places to eat close by, btu a great grocery store across the street.

The lobby was very crowded with a tour group and airline employees in the morning, which made checkout a bit tough.

I had a buy one get one night free coupon through the alaska toursaver book, which made this a great deal for the price.

The rooms were a bit small (at least the one i had) but the blackour curtains were a nice touch for june in alaska when it is light almost 24 hours.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marieatta_pman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IT_Thaish09, Administrative Assistant at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2009

Greetings. Thank you for choosing the Inlet Tower and Suites for your stay in Anchorage. Your review is very important to us so that we can assure your stay with us enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2009

I stayed at the Inlet Tower for two nights on a long weekend in Anchorage and couldn't have been more pleased. The place is very clean, and seems well managed. Due to a flight delay, I checked in very late, but the front desk person was friendly an check-in was a breeze.

I had a corner room on one of the top floors which was very spacious and included a full table and kitchenette. The view of Anchorage and the Cook Inlet was spectacular, and the bed was quite comfortable. Everything in the room worked, there was lots of hot water, plenty of lighting, and there were open power outlets in almost every corner of the room. The wireless internet is also plenty fast, and the alarm clock has a CD player (no iPod jack) if you like your music.

Unlike most hotels I've visited, the heaters in the room were virtually silent. The windows aren't at all drafty, but the walls are a little thin so you will hear some traffic noise and a surprising amount of airport noise. Personally, I like the noise, but I know it bothers some.

This hotel also has a coin laundry in the basement, which came in handy, and offers half-day rates if you want to extend your check-out to 5pm (very handy if you are catching a red-eye flight).

They have recently trimmed the hours of their restaurant so it is now dinner only, but they do offer a complimentary continental breakfast. It appears they just started with the breakfast a couple of weeks ago (maybe it's seasonal?), and the lady who serves the coffee/juice is very friendly so kindly leave her a tip!

The only real gripes I had were the elevators, which are maddeningly slow, and the housekeeper, who, for some reason, didn't replentish my towels. Also, when I first arrived in the room, the alarm clock was going off.

Good place, I'd certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SixAlpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IT_Thaish09, Administrative Assistant at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2009

I am delighted that your stay at the Inlet Tower and Suites met your expectations. We take pride in assuring that our guest enjoy their stay in every aspect. We look forward to many more visits from you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2008

I have stayed at the Inlet on many occasions over the years I have been going to Alaska. Compared with the other hotels I have stayed at in Anchorage, I can say that the Inlet is a decent, value for money place. The location is at the edge of the downtown area. It is about a 15 minute walk to the center of town, flat all the way. The hotel is used by China Airlines as their crew lay-over hotel.

The lobby is currently undergoing reconstruction and until this is finished (which will be "soon") the only entrance to the hotel is through the emergency exit at the side and up stairs.

The free airport pick-up and drop off worked well on the three occasions I used it. The shuttle can also take guests to the city center if they do not have to go to the airport.

The rooms have been recently renovated and are perfectly o.k., the upper floors have views, especially the ones overlooking Cook Inlet.

The Mixx Grill serves good food. There is a decent, friendly bar. In house breakfast is a buffet, and is NOT included in the room rate..

There is one computer for free use by guests in a room off the lobby. There appears to be staff shortages, and things run noticably smoother when the house manager is on duty. When he is not around, things can be a bit ragged.

A few steps away there is a supermarket with hot and cold deli food, and a few tables.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IT_Thaish09, Administrative Assistant at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2009

Thank you for letting us know of your stay at the Inlet Tower and Suites. We strive to make every stay at our hotel memorable. We look forward to many more visits from you and your guests in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2008

We ended up staying at this hotel more nights than originally planned due to flight problems. Originally we were due to stay the first and last nights of a two week fly drive tour of Alaska. At the time we stayed the hotel was undergoing some renovation which seemed to be finishing just as we left. The hotel was in an excellent location for us which was about a 10 minute drive from the airport which was appreciated after a long flight from the UK via Chicago. Also nice to find plenty of free parking. The reception staff were good and friendly. The room was big with two double beds, a section with sink, microwave and coffee maker. The room was mid way between a hotel room and an apartment room. We also had a TV with plenty of TV stations. Bathroom was OK and nice and clean. What was really useful for us on the last day was a free PC near reception with internet access and a printer. The reason this was useful was that our flight out was cancelled by United Airlines due to volcanic dust in the flight path which meant a 3 day delay in flying. Originally they stated a 5 day delay. The hotel staff were very helpful and flexable in letting us book the room on a daily basis for a reduced rate. This was much appreciated and helped keep the costs down. The free internet came in very useful for rearanging various hotels, car hire, flights etc.
Also useful is a nearby markey across the street which does breakfasts and other meals.
The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank colin1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IT_Thaish09, Administrative Assistant at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2009

We are always pleased to hear that our guest had a pleasant and memorable stay with us at the Inlet Tower and Suites. Our goal is to meet each guests expectations. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2008

I had a similar experience to Mrsosci. We arrived in Anchorage by train. I called Inlet Towers 3 times to get the shuttle, yet it never arrived. We took a cab and it let us off at a side entrance. We had to lug our suitcases up many steps into the crowded, filthy lobby. The front desk staff didn't seem to care that we'd had to take a cab.

Our room was clean and large, but very stark. I would not recommend this at all. Stay at the Voyager instead. Check out my review there.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanMac58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredLuecker, Inlet Tower General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2009

Greetings “SusanMac58” We would first like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. Through these reviews online and through our in-room Guest Satisfaction Survey we are making strides to provide our guests with the highest of quality service.

We would like to thoroughly apologize for this inconvenience you encountered regarding the lack of shuttle & Bell services during your last stay.

We assure you though – this issue has been fully resolved.

Again, we do apologize and hope you choose to stay with us in the future when visiting our city!

If there is anything else we may assist you with, it would be our pleasure.

Best Regards,
Inlet Tower Anchorage, AK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
1.0 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage
0.3 mi away
Clarion Suites Downtown
Clarion Suites Downtown
#31 of 74 in Anchorage
452 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Downtown Hotel
Anchorage Downtown Hotel
#60 of 74 in Anchorage
196 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aviator Hotel Anchorage
Aviator Hotel Anchorage
#43 of 74 in Anchorage
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites

Address: 1020 W 12th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-4577
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range: £44 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inlet Tower Hotel Anchorage
Inlet Tower Hotel And Suites
Inlet Hotel Anchorage
Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing