We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, unique rooms that are big and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites
Ranked #42 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great staff, unique rooms that are big and comfortable”
Reviewed 19 February 2011

This was the first time I had stayed at the Inlet Tower and they just happen to have rates that are affordable even before the magical time when the tourists leave and you cant get a hotel in Anchorage for less than $175 or so, and thats for the low end! Our rate was $109 and we had a great room, with a view on the corner of the building. I think that this place use to be apartments long ago and thusly the rooms have kitchens which are slightly more than kitchenettes and slightly less than the kitchen from your home, all is all, its more than what most people need.

The rooms are huge- at least ours was with lots of light and windows. Comfy beds and a quiet neighborhood make for a good nights sleep. About all that one could complain about is that its just a tad far from restaurants and shopping to walk which is more or less why we always stay downtown so we can walk, have dinner, drinks, etc and walk back. But you know, its closer to downtown than Midtown or the airport and its a great place to stay in the summer when they offer Alaska resident rates that are reasonable given what you can compare them to.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    155
    149
    83
    80
See reviews for
110
182
60
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Stayed here in June of 2009. We were catching a cruise from Anchorage down the coast of Alaska. Got a good deal on Hotwire. The hotel was sufficient for a short stay, but I wouldn't stay for a longer period of time. Not really near any tourist attractions, but is located in a nice suburban neighborhood. Rooms are large, but outdated. Bathroom could be nicer. Had a kitchenette, but didn't use it. Only recommended to a traveler who's passing through.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emichinski, Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 2 February 2011
Hi,

Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your business, and if you find yourself back in Alaska, we hope that you will stop in again.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willow
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Inlet Towers is a great place to stay. Their park & fly rate with an airport shuttle takes the hassle out of parking and getting checked in for a flight. The location is quieter than the hotels located a short distance away and the view is awesome.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gloria011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emichinski, Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 2 February 2011
Hi,

Thanks for the great comments! We appreciate your business. Hope your trip was grand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

I was very happy with my experience during my stay at Inlet Tower in Anchorage. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly. The room itself was comfortable and clean, decorated in an understated "Alaskan chic" style that is sure to please out of state visitors. Inlet Towers combines the amenities of apartment living with the convenience of a hotel stay. The kitchenette was clean, and useful for those nights in. I particularly appreciated the layout of the room. The bedroom is separate from the main living space. We were staying with a small child, so her nap time didn't interfere with our activity. Inlet Tower successfully provides value that goes above and beyond the necessities. We will be their guest again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emichinski, Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 2 February 2011
Hey,

Thanks for the comments about your visit with us. We appreciate the feedback, and look forward to being of service to you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2010

The Inlet Tower Hotel was a very nice hotel equipped like a small apartment. I enjoyed a good night sleep while enjoying the mountain view from my window as well as a breakfast each morning in their restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susana920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emichinski, General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 23 November 2010
Thank you for your kind comments, and for being our guest. Hope to see you again if you find your way back to Anchorage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

I essentially lived at the Inlet Tower Hotel for an entire month while working in Anchorage. It was the height of tourist season and everyone was price gouging. My company paid up to $190 per night for a hotel room which in the "Lower 48" would get you a pretty decent room (even in the middle of NYC). This hotel was a low end, dirty, poorly run establishment with hallways that looked like the place someone would go to blow their head off in a horror film, DREARY! The building is old and has its nostalgic charm since it was originally built as an apartment building way back when. However for the amt of money they charge its obscene!!! Not to mention the slowest elevators ever created (I'm used to pre-war buildings and old elevators).
The staff is TERRIBLE! Couldnt care less about complaints. One evening the internet went down while I was doing work. I called the front desk and inquired about if the internet was in fact down and when it would be up and running? The front desk guy in a stoned, laid back voice replied "Yep...(pause)" I said well do you know anything about it getting fixed? Desk Guy: (sighs) Well...they said I gotta call IT but (exhales) I dont really feel like calling IT so...yeah!" and he hung up! CAN YOU IMAGINE? I had to laugh at how incredibly ridiculous this was or else I would cry. Another time I was laying in bed taking a nap when the maid just UNLOCKS the door without knocking and walked in, made eye contact with me and started folding fresh towels in the bathroom! Taking her sweet time "WTF." Filthy carpeting, old unrenovated rooms and old TVs. I asked the front desk for a bottle opener and they couldnt find one! There was a restaurant at the hotel! No one had keys to unlock and find a freakin bottle opener!
The place sucked but at the end of the day its one of the better places to stay in Anchorage besides the Sheraton or Hyatt which are INSANE for extended stays. Alaska while amazing has some of the worst hotels and customer service I have ever seen. IT really is the last frontier. A place where the rules of normal society dont apply. Twilight zone with beautiful scenery. The place sucks yes but I know worst exists so in some ways this is as good as it gets! Its roughing it for sure.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYCmeetsAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emichinski, Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 30 November 2010
I appreciate that you took the time to write all this about your stay. I would certainly acknowledge that we had a very rude, surly employee working at the front desk during the time of your visit, and that that employee has been subsequently dismissed. You are absolutely correct and I agree that you should feel bad about his comments.

As a matter of reference, whenever you have an issue with a hotel, feel free to ask for the manager. I would have been glad to have met with you over a cup of coffee in the restaurant to reconcile any differences, and to ensure that you were most pleased about your stay. There is little I can do now for you, but I certainly may have been able to address these issues at that time.

I do take issue that the building is not clean. Yes, this is an old building. It is one of the oldes and, I think, coolest in Anchorage, having been built as an apartment building and converted after the 9.2 earthquake into a hotel. The building is neat, and our furniture is all replicated period furniture from that time frame, so it's all relatively new stuff. The hotel is clean. It's also a 60 year old building, with quirks that you might not find anywhere else. Like slow elevators, metal kitchen cabinets, and ghosts. (yes, ghosts). We are also state of the art though, with wifi, business center, comfortable beds, and almost every other amenity that you would find in any hotel elsewhere.

Thank you for your comments. We are not for everyone, just like Alaska isn't for everyone. But, those looking for a very unique, comfortable, and different, feel, this is a great place. I will leave it with your comments that our hotel is one of the better places to stay in Anchorage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

Merced, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

I would say, this would compair to a Motel 6....and they rent for 1/3 of the price....
There was hair on the bath room floor, in the tub...baseboards in the Bathrm were very dirty..toilet lid on the underside, didn't look like it had been cleaned in a good long while..
I was not impressed with this hotel at all...

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duchess04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.8 mi away
aviator hotel anchorage
aviator hotel anchorage
#48 of 73 in Anchorage
103 reviews
1.0 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage
0.5 mi away
The Voyager Inn
The Voyager Inn
#12 of 73 in Anchorage
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarion Suites Downtown
Clarion Suites Downtown
#26 of 73 in Anchorage
399 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 73 in Anchorage
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites

Property: Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites
Address: 1020 W 12th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-4577
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inlet Tower Hotel Anchorage
Inlet Tower Hotel And Suites
Inlet Hotel Anchorage
Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing