We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Climbers haven in Anchorage” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Earth B&B

Earth B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Earth B&B
Ranked #61 of 128 Anchorage B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Climbers haven in Anchorage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

It took me two tries over to summit Denali but whatever burden I suffered was mitigated by the tremendous hospitality and comfort provided by Lori at the Earth B&B over the past two years. It's a climbers haven as everyone from casual walkers to rugged mountainmen and women glide through on the way up or down with tales of triumph and challenges. I prefer the large downstairs bedrooms which offer some reprieve at night from the bright Alaskan midsummer sun, unless the nice en suite upstairs is available. The 4 shared bedrooms share 2 bathrooms so there can be a queue if the B&B is full which it was about half the time. The location is superb, a short walk or crawl from lively downtown Anchorage, and a simple drive from the airport. There's a high end grocery a block away, too. If Lori can't help you, she has some nearby contacts who can.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank palermodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    11
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
21
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Comfortable rooms, cozy living area, great breakfast, very good location (10 min walk to the city centre), and the most wonderful people ever! They gave us a lot of valuable info and advice, were as flexible as can be to accommodate our schedule, drove us to the airport and to the train station, and even to office of the company that had smoked our fish for us. Thanks guys! We enjoyed our stay with you so much!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Generally, we had a nice stay at this B&B. I would prefer not to share a bathroom, but I guess this was OK as cheaper than hotels available. One word of warning--the website advertises free shuttle service for airport and train station. Lori told us we could not be picked up at airport due to lack of a permit but promised she would deliver us to the train station the last morning of our stay. We confirmed with her the day before that she would be taking us to the train station and she verified that she would be. Alas, the next morning when we were ready to go, Lori was nowhere to be found. We ended up calling a cab (after waiting a little too long for her) and barely made our train. So......just beware of the advertising claiming free shuttle service. This may have just been a fluke, but did not work well for us. Otherwise, a decent stay.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KSWColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We were a group of mountain climbers through a company called Mountain Trip and we stayed before and after our Denali expedition in this B&B. It's very clean, peaceful (zen) and the hosts are wonderful (Rhonda and Lori). Within walking distance of everything. Great breakfasts. Top rating!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

A 10-15 minute walk to the heart of downtown, but well worth it. Rates are very reasonable and considering the large breakfast selection (included) it's a good find. Lori and Rhonda exceptionally friendly and helpful. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. We meet alot of people staying there in preparation for Mt. McKinley climb - it was interesting talking with them and learning about the climb. All in all, a good experience which I'd recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluefin33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

I stayed at Earth before and after my 2011 climb of Denali (Mt. McKinley). Lori, the owner, was friendly, competent and very helpful in all aspects of my stay. Breakfast was impressive and fresh coffee was in the pot all day.

She even drove our group to a restaurant one night. The B&B is simple with comfortable beds and living area. The backyard was inviting. It is within walking distance of downtown Anchorage for dinner, breakfast or coastal walks.

Highly recommended. I would stay there again in a second.

Room Tip: down stairs may be a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denaliclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

My favorite place to stay in when I'm in Anchorage. Earth B&B is conveniently located just a few blocks from restaurants and shops. We breakfast was awesome and big and the rooms very clean and comfortable. The couch is a great place for a movie to chill out at the end of the day. Thanks Lori and Rhonda for making my stay so good - again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antonettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Anchorage Downtown Hotel
#58 of 72 in Anchorage
3.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#11 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#16 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
#35 of 128 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earth B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earth B&B

Property: Earth B&B
Address: 1001 W 12th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-4314
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Earth B&B Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing