We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, nice clean hotel, good service”
Review of Hilton Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Anchorage
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Convenient location, nice clean hotel, good service”
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We only stayed for one night but the downtown location was great. We had a 2 room suite which was very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. We were able to walk to the Snow Goose restaurant for dinner and then to the Avis rental the next day. The only downside was we did hear trains throughout the night. Nevertheless, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    429
    369
    166
    77
See reviews for
208
440
81
569
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Great location, overlooking an unforgettable sunset that never ends. However, everything feels a bit old, from the Tv sets to the bathroom fixtures. Time for a multimillion dollars renovation maybe? The bar is clearly inadequate, but, as it caters to an elderly crowd, few patrons notice and, probably, care.

Room Tip: Make sure you get ocean view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GourmetloverKula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We stayed two nights post-cruise at the Hilton Anchorage. We stayed in the Aurora Suite which had a bar, living room and french doors to the bedroom. Although the room and especially the bath were old and dated, the room and bath were clean. The bed was very comfortable, the suite was HUGE, which was good because we had a ton of cruise luggage. In the closet there were few hangers, but as soon as I called the desk to ask for 10 more, someone promptly showed up with 20! Also, I was looking for amenities such as slippers, which were not there. Another call and the staff actually bought us slippers from the gift store, since no courtesy ones were available. That was a really nice surprise. We also received discounts at the in-hotel Starbucks, free breakfasts and a gift of a small make up mirror with the Alaskan flag on the cover. Internet was $12 a day, which we thought should be free, but were not surprised by this. The best thing about the place? The staff! EVERYONE was so friendly and interested in making sure we had everything we needed and were comfortable. They called our room several times to check. The wait staff was very friendly and courteous. We sat in the bar and watched the Stanley Cup Finals and the barmaid/waitress was running around in high gear to make sure everyone had food and drinks in a timely fashion. The food was EXCELLENT. We were actually surprised to find this quality of food in a Hilton, in Alaska, and one that needs a facelift. Breakfast is ordinary - reindeer sausage is the most interesting thing, but the menu in the bar and cafe turned out to be beyond our expectations. There is a salmon soup to die for, and basically anything with salmon was terrific. Since we were not expecting a resort, only a place to sleep for our two post-cruise days, we were happy with the Hilton. The location is excellent....really close to souvenir shops and excursions picked us up at the hotel. Most things were in walking distance. One night we had dinner in town at Simon and Seafort's (we walked there) and that was excellent...with water views. All in all, a nice two days to recover somewhat from the cruise ship pace. If the place had a facelift, it would qualify as a 4 star hotel. But i feel we picked the best place available to stay. After all, it's Alaska, not some Caribbean island.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krueger33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed here one night before departing on an Alaskan cruise. We were upgraded to a "junior suite" which was lovely. It had a fantastic view of the Alaskan Mountain Range and the Sleeping Lady. As a Hilton Gold member, we were given free access to the executive lounge. No free drinks here (which I have experienced in many other Hiltons). One glass of wine was $7. But the food was free and the staff at the hotel were very nice. Our room was great, the beds were comfy and I thought it was quiet. Starbucks drinks are available in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dohertys53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro,NC
Level Contributor
211 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

There was a conference I was attending in the hotel and the property seems to be built for that.

The lobby is subdued but nice. The restaurant is just off the lobby - a cafe style eatery. The staff was very nice.

I got in late (about 1AM AKDT, 5AM EDT) and they gave me the Governor's suite - very nice. I was only traveling by myself but still liked the layout. The bed was very comfortable, room was clean. Only complaint was a loud noise outside that was fairly regular and have no idea what it was.

The conference was setup nice and meals were nice on the 15th floor (I believe). Did not eat at the restaurant. Ate at a nearby pub (Rumrunner's - average) and was the only restaurant I tried in Anchorage.

First time to Alaska, beautiful surrounding area. There is a ski resort about 40 miles south of Anchorage (on the way to Seward) and the tramway is great. Hotel looks very nice.

Overall, a good experience in Anchorage and the Hilton.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterFNYNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
161 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Our had a great view of the city and mountains as it was a corner room high up. The bed was very comfortable with many pillows. The bath was a bit petite. The prices in the restaurants were pretty high but there were alternatives across the street.

There was no free WIFI and they even wanted to charge you to print a boarding pass. There are frequent trains during the night and the noise carries when they blow their whistles coming through town.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Odojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
236 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed one night in the West Tower of this Hilton. This area appeared to be entirely renovated, as was the spacious lobby and other pubic areas. It was our first night in Anchorage - and in Alaska for that matter - and we were delighted to find a very friendly desk staff, ready to check us in even though we arrived early, an equally friendly concierge desk and a Starbucks right in the lobby. Often city Hiltons are off the beaten track; this one is very central in the city. It is across the street from the summer market, which is open every weekend & has a variety of booths with food and entertainment, and just easy blocks from the shopping mall, tourist shops, and good restaurants. As Gold Hilton members we were upgraded to a huge room with an amazing balcony, from which we had a great view of the harbor and mountain range. We were also 'comped the buffet breakfast - but would have paid for it in any case, as it was just lovely. Don't miss the reindeer sausage!
As it happened, we also spent one night of our trip at the Anchorage Marriott. It is a newer hotel than the Hilton. That said, it has a very small (and crowded) lobby, the rooms are small & plainly furnished, and it is not nearly as central to town as is the Hilton Most surprising, it faces a parking lot -- which just leaves one feeling sort of cut off from the town. If I had to choose, it would be the Hilton.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganCookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
1,726 reviews
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#23 of 73 in Anchorage
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#20 of 73 in Anchorage
452 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Anchorage

Property: Hilton Anchorage
Address: 500 West Third Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#19 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Anchorage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 606
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Anchorage hotel is a convenient ten-minute drive from Ted Stevens International Airport, and within walking distance of the Alaska Railroad Depot and Anchorage Convention District. Explore Anchorage's popular attractions including the Alaska Museum of History and Art, the Ulu Factory, Nordstrom and the Fifth Avenue Mall - all only two blocks from the hotel. Enjoy a comfortable stay in a stylish guest room featuring thoughtful amenities and high-speed internet access to help you stay connected with family and business. Dine in the inviting Hooper Bay Cafe and savor a variety of authentic Alaskan and American cuisine. Unwind in Bruin's Bar and catch up with the latest sports and news in this welcoming hotel bar. View the extensive Alaskan art collection in the lobby and enjoy a self-guided walking tour. Stay active during your stay with an energizing workout in the fitness center and refreshing swim in the indoor pool before unwinding in the steam room. Make business easy at the Hilton Anchorage hotel. Stay in touch with business in the 24-hour business center featuring a range of business friendly amenities and services. Our Anchorage hotel offers 20, 000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting and event space to easily accommodate business meetings, conventions, elegant weddings and special celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Hilton Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Hilton Hotel
Hilton Anchorage Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing