We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more”
Review of Hilton Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Anchorage
Ranked #17 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed 31 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a conference. The hotel itself is very nice, but the little things added up to make my opinion. First of all, when I checked in, I asked for the time the conference started and was given the wrong time. The rooms were nice, but the little toiletries they give you seemed like they were made for men, which is fine, but I think it's unusual. Then, they didn't even make up my room one day. I ordered Eggs Benedict for breakfast at the restaurant ($17) and the hollandaise sauce was just straight up cold, like they didn't even try to heat it up. Then, the elevator was broken. I told an employee there and they said they were aware of the broken elevator and were fixing it. Later, I got on the same elevator and it was still broken. When it got down to the bottom floor, the door wouldn't open. I don't think they should let people use a broken elevator. So, really, not huge things. I just believe that if a hotel is going to charge as much as this hotel, they should be held to a higher standard.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Youwinsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olesea v, Front Office Manager at Hilton Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you expect from Hilton. We apologize for the malfunctioning elevator during your stay and have reported your concerns to our maintenance team to ensure service is restored as soon as possible. Your feedback regarding the condition of your breakfast meal will be addressed and we apologize it was cold. We will be sure to address the issues with the room amenities and hope you will consider giving us a second chance if you return to the area. Please email me directly when you will be in town next time and we will make sure to take acre of details

Olesea Velesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,312 - 1,318 of 1,598 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2012

The hotel is very nice and in a good location in the down town area near lots of shops and restaurants. It is less than a couple of blocks from the visitor centre. The rooms were very clean and quite large. The bed was very comfortable and we had good service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlmostRetiredNiagara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

Now, I am not normally a chair hotel fan and this hotel did has its major drawbacks (terrible and expensive Starbucks coffee in the lobby), but overall the experience was exceptional. The room was very clean and the complementary toiletries plenty. The cleaning staff stayed out of the room and much to my surprise and happiness, only changed the towels and sheets when I asked. The bell people were exceptionally nice and helpful: and, the desk staff very accommodating. Overall, I very much enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lgtobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

I was very pleased that the Hilton Anchorage allowed me to check in early.....at 630am. I had taken a red eye flight from Seattle and was worried I was not going to be able to check in until noon at the earliest. I decided to give it a shot and sure enough, they were very understanding and accommodating. This is actually the second time they've extended this to me...as two years ago, I checked in around 930am. Although I'm not implying this can always be extended due to availability, it was a nice gesture on their part. The Hilton is the only hotel I stay at when visiting Anchorage.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
Thank Kenley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Great Downtown Hotel. Nice Clean Rooms and Restaurant. Very good value for my travel dollar. The Building looked somewhat old on the outside, but inside the property is completely updated. Have not made it to the Honors Lounge, but I'm sure it will be fine as well.

Room Tip: Stay in the tower on a high floor. The hotel is on of the tallest buildings and on a good day the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This last week I had the pleasure of staying at the Hilton Hotel in Anchorage...it was quite by accident as I had a confirmed reservations for 4 days at the Howard Johnson Hotel in Anchorage but on arrival was informed that my reservation could not be honored as the hotel was closing the next day. Needless to say I was a bit shocked hearing this news and quite unhappy that management hadn't obviously even considered contacting to let me know this before my arrival.

I had the hotel call around to see if a room with my desired specifications and amenities could be located nearby in the downtown area...the Hilton Hotel was happy to offer a room and also made sure that I received the special rate for the convention I was in town attending.

Upon my check-in, 15 minutes later, I was greeted warmly by the front desk staff who had my reservation in order. In addition to directing me to locations in town where I might find items I needed to by, the staff also provided me with free WiFi for the duration of my visit.

I give an A Plus to all the staff who were so very nice and provided excellent customer service...thank you all for being there and for taking such good care of me during my visit!

for desired room

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hilton. Our room was beautiful with a great view. The location was great as well. It is just a short walk to the Egan center which was perfect. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Overall a nice getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cloudplasencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#4 of 74 in Anchorage
1,898 reviews
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
#11 of 74 in Anchorage
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#19 of 74 in Anchorage
1,174 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#7 of 74 in Anchorage
615 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#22 of 74 in Anchorage
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Anchorage

Address: 500 W 3rd Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#19 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: £107 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Anchorage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 606
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Anchorage hotel is a convenient ten-minute drive from Ted Stevens International Airport, and within walking distance of the Alaska Railroad Depot and Anchorage Convention District. Explore Anchorage's popular attractions including the Alaska Museum of History and Art, the Ulu Factory, Nordstrom and the Fifth Avenue Mall - all only two blocks from the hotel. Enjoy a comfortable stay in a stylish guest room featuring thoughtful amenities and high-speed internet access to help you stay connected with family and business. Dine in the inviting Hooper Bay Cafe and savor a variety of authentic Alaskan and American cuisine. Unwind in Bruin's Bar and catch up with the latest sports and news in this welcoming hotel bar. View the extensive Alaskan art collection in the lobby and enjoy a self-guided walking tour. Stay active during your stay with an energizing workout in the fitness center and refreshing swim in the indoor pool before unwinding in the steam room. Make business easy at the Hilton Anchorage hotel. Stay in touch with business in the 24-hour business center featuring a range of business friendly amenities and services. Our Anchorage hotel offers 20, 000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting and event space to easily accommodate business meetings, conventions, elegant weddings and special celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Hilton Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Hilton Hotel
Hilton Anchorage Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing