We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location, Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Anchorage
Ranked #14 of 72 Hotels in Anchorage
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

Stayed 5 nights at this hotel in the heart of Anchorage. We were there for the Iditarod (dog sled race) & the Mushers' Banquet & ceremonial start were just a couple of blocks from the hotel. Fur Rondy carnival was also nearby including the fun Running with the Reindeers event. Everything was within walking distance so we never needed a car. The room was a corner room on the 9th floor with a beautiful view of mountains to the northwest and the inlet to the south. There was no hot water the first morning, but it was fixed quickly. The breakfast buffet ($20) was the best ever - chef on sight to cook your omllet how you wanted it. Fruits, eggs, biscuits & gravy, bacon, sausage & reindeer sausage, juice, pastries, oatmeal - just fantastic with a very friendly wait staff. Room was comfortable & quiet (wish it had a refrigerator). Lots of shops nearby. Everyone was trying very hard to make sure we had a good stay at their hotel. Dress warm & don't expect the sidewalks in Alaska to be cleared--nature just takes its course there! (They truck in snow for the main street to run the dog sleds!!!)

Room Tip: Try for a corner room with a view - some just look at another building, but some overlook the mounta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    417
    360
    163
    74
See reviews for
204
427
78
537
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

Though this hotel is in a good location, the poor customer service and old worn out rooms should deem this hotel not have the Hilton name on it. We booked a Hilton Romance package online to get away and relax and this was anything but. On check in, nothing included in this package was in the room. Was told by Olesea the manager that our package did not include in room breakfast, though it was clearly stated it was from Hilton online - she knew nothing about this Hilton package. Requested the extras be sent up and after requests at 3pm, 5pm & 6:30pm, they finally arrived at 8:30pm. All extras requested online (extra pillows, etc) were never received. Not one cup in the room - had to go and get them from the front desk. Ordered breakfast from room service the night prior and it showed up over an hour late - after calling them.

Room was tiny and worn out - as if nothing had changed since the 90's. I have never seen a smaller bathroom in any hotel. The heater was so loud you could hardly hear yourself think. A horrible hotel experience. Do yourself a favor and choose something else in downtown Anchorage. This is no Hilton or anything even close!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olesea v, Front Office Manager at Hilton Anchorage, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay with us. We definitely strive to provide the best service. We would like to apologize for not delivering romance package in time, it was a completely lack of service on our side and we improved this service since. I know we discounted room rate for you and we again I would like to apologize you you felt that this wasn't enough to compensate all the delay. We definitely would like to have you back to the property and I personally will make sure everything will be taking care of for you.
We really hope you can give us one more chance to prove you that we can provide a great service, additional to that I would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade for you next stay in case you decide to return to our property.

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact me via email at olesea.velesco@hilton.com or via phone 907-272-7411, I will always at your service.

Best regards,

Olesea Velesco
Front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

Central, Indiana
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

We came in late. Wanted non feather pillows. 2 of the 3 of us have allergies. They only found one in the large hotel.
We also asked for a roll away when making reservations and again at check in @ 1am. I called after waiting an hour. They said it was on its way. I waited and waited. Called again. It came. One side had only 2 springs attached out of 10-15. When my daughter sat down she went to the floor. I again called and both the front desk and person bringing the new one was rude and annoyed with me!??? I paid $10 for the roll away and it wasn't safe for any aged person to be on and they're mad at me?!!!
It was after 2:30 am till we were able to go to bed with the roll away mess.
I was also told I had a complementary upgrade apon arriving. That didn't happen. I'd hate to see tbe lesser quality room if this is an upgrade!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Djlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D, General Manager at Hilton Anchorage, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the experience that you had with your most recent stay but would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention so we are able promptly fix these issues. It is unacceptable that you were kept waiting so long for a roll-away, find it broken upon arrival and not provided with non-feather pillows. In our investigation regarding your complaint, we have identified the problem roll-away and discarded it as well as taken a look at the others on property to make sure all are up to a suitable standard. We have also purchased more non-feather pillows so any guest should be able to have as many as are needed when they stay here with us- no matter what time of day they arrive. All of our Front Desk Agents and Housekeeping Houseman will immediately go through refresher training because it is reprehensible for any staff member to make a guest feel as though they are inconveniencing them.

We know that your rest is of utmost importance, especially after a long flight here, and we never want a guest to leave unhappy or feel like this is an unworthy hotel.

If you would like to speak to me personally I would gladly take the time to apologize directly and make sure the experience you had during your stay is never repeated.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope that in the future you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves.

Sincerely,

Scott Doonan
General Manager
907-265-7118
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

What stood out the most at this Hilton was the friendliness and service of the staff. They were very knowledgeable about the city and provided accurate information and directions quickly in regards to restuarants and other sites. The fitness room was the largest and nicest I have ever seen in a Hilton--or other all other hotels for that matter--and consisted of four or five treadmills, four or five ellipticals/stair steppers, free weights, mulitiple pieces of strength-training equipment, and indoor pool all in good repair. Rooms were the standard Hilton design. Linens/towels were clean and fresh, room was vacuumed, bathroom was clean and stocked. WiFi worked well. Good location in the city, and in walking distance to restuarants and lots of tourist shopping. Valet parking only--no self parking--at $24 a night. If you are going to only be in downtown, forego the rental car and just take a cab from the airport. Downtown is easy to get around on foot. Free breakfast in the Honors lounge was okay--a modest continental breakfast consisting of oatmeal, cereals, breads, fresh fruit and some meat/cheeses. There is a restuarant in the hotel, and I tend to see the free continental breakfasts be a little "leaner" when that is the case, probably to encourage guests to use the restuarant. Because of the somewhat weak breakfast offering, I rate my stay as very good rather than excellent. I would consider staying at this solid hotel again, but might look at some other hotels first--such as the Embassy Suites or the Marriott--just to see if they might provide a little more value and bang for the buck.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreqyFlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shishmaref, Alaska, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

I stayed on the 3rd floor on the Anchorage Tower, the view was beautiful!! I enjoyed looking out the window... Its a a walk away from the closest mall: 5th Avenue. Also it has awesome Internet, AT&T. I really liked the Buffet Lunches that they provided and Breakfast. There was nothing wrong with the room I stayed it, it was clean, I loved the flat screen T.V., and beds were made well by housekeeping. I'd say this is a 5 star Hotel!!

Room Tip: I would like to check out the West Towers next time, I was curious about those ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
132 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

I try to stay here every time I come to Anchorage. Sometimes the rates get a bit high but most of the time there reasonable for Anchorage.
I absolutely love the location! Can't be beat. Friendly staff and clean rooms. Rooms could use a little update but comparable to most.
Now, lets talk gym. I stay about 70 nights a year in a hotel. Very few places I stay have a gym to rival this one. Lots of cardio and weight equipment, clean and has a great view. West Tower, floor five! See ya there.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingfoodsnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

We had a great time hotel is really well located for walking around downtown, Fur ronde was going on so there's lots of places nearby to walk to so location was key for this trip.
The staff was very helpful especially the valets and concierge. The bar was just ok, Starbucks in lobby had nice pastries

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#16 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#30 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#24 of 72 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Anchorage

Property: Hilton Anchorage
Address: 500 West Third Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#19 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Anchorage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 606
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Anchorage hotel is a convenient ten-minute drive from Ted Stevens International Airport, and within walking distance of the Alaska Railroad Depot and Anchorage Convention District. Explore Anchorage's popular attractions including the Alaska Museum of History and Art, the Ulu Factory, Nordstrom and the Fifth Avenue Mall - all only two blocks from the hotel. Enjoy a comfortable stay in a stylish guest room featuring thoughtful amenities and high-speed internet access to help you stay connected with family and business. Dine in the inviting Hooper Bay Cafe and savor a variety of authentic Alaskan and American cuisine. Unwind in Bruin's Bar and catch up with the latest sports and news in this welcoming hotel bar. View the extensive Alaskan art collection in the lobby and enjoy a self-guided walking tour. Stay active during your stay with an energizing workout in the fitness center and refreshing swim in the indoor pool before unwinding in the steam room. Make business easy at the Hilton Anchorage hotel. Stay in touch with business in the 24-hour business center featuring a range of business friendly amenities and services. Our Anchorage hotel offers 20, 000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting and event space to easily accommodate business meetings, conventions, elegant weddings and special celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Hilton Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Hilton Hotel
Hilton Anchorage Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing