We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go to Marriott”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Anchorage
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
“Go to Marriott”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I usually stay at Marriott hotels, but decided to try the Hilton - never again. We were put in the west tower on the 8th floor. I thought I had walked into an over priced Days Inn. $229/night + all the taxes and the room was dated, carpet was buckled badly, wallpaper was from the 80's and was fading and torn. I asked for foam pillows, after 20 minutes called back to check, got another call back 10 minutes later, someone finally showed up 10 minutes after that WITHOUT pillows and asked what I needed, left and someone completely different came back 15 minutes later with the pillows - this was all around 10PM by this time. The only thing decent was there was a new TV and the bathroom was ok. We left the next AM, AND the front desk person didn't even ask why we checked out of a 6 day reservation after the first day. Anyhow, we checked into the Marriott, and as usual it's excellent - never again Hilton.

Room Tip: Maybe the west tower is bad, I have no idea but I'd ask not to stay there if possible and if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulsponcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D, General Manager at Hilton Anchorage, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Paul -

We're glad we had the chance to serve you and regret that your experience was less than satisfactory. Consistent service and friendly, competent staff, is very important to us and your comments will help us ensure that we're doing our best to remain at our best. We hope that we'll have another chance to serve you and demonstrate our true hospitality.

Thank you!

Scott Doonan
General Manager
P: 907-265-7118
E: scott.doonan@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    421
    362
    163
    74
See reviews for
206
429
80
548
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ketchikan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

The hotel is very nice but very old. The rooms are small and somewhat cramped. The ventilation system in the hotel must be old too because it's dry feeling. The view however is spectacular and the fitness room is also really great.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Leigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

I was at the Anchorage Hilton over the Fur Rondy and the following week; the hotel was very very full and accommodated a large group of blind skiers which I thought was totally awesome.. The rooms are oldish with no frig but quiet -- no noisy heat registers which is GREAT -- Temperature is totally adjustable --- if you are on the right side of the hotel, the rooms offer awesome views of the Inlet and mountains -- other rooms face another building!! There are some kinks in the operation; like two mornings the coffee folks were not open at 6 am as they are supposed to be, and the housekeeping staff cleaned our room really late on two days -- but... the hotel staff is very helpful and try really hard to please.. they are polite and professional but there are not enough of them -- the lines at the desk are sometimes long in the morning so allow time to check out -- The WIFI is good -- There is a gorgeous room on the top of the hotel that has floor to ceiling windows if you ever need a great location for special event. The pool area is small and loaded with kids when I was there -- there is no hot tub and the "sauna" is nothing but a shower with a heater -- but the fitness center is OK.

Room Tip: Get a corner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sitka, ak
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were in Anchorage for Fur Rondy and had a nice stay. The roomsooms are getting pretty tired but appeared to be clean. Service was good in the restaurant, food was standard fare, nothing special but decent. Would stay at ths hotel again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Isledweler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

This was our first visit to a Hilton as a family and I can honestly say we will return. The staff was very accommodating and attentive. Everyone was friendly and welcoming from the doorman, to the main desk, servers, housekeepers, room service, fitness club attendants and everyone we came into contact with!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Pole, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stayed at the Hilton to attend a nearby conference. Staff was very attentive to my needs and concerned for my comfort. Bell, lobby and restaurant staff are always cheerful and helpful. I enjoy staying there and will return. My room was very quiet even though Fur Rondy, AcaDeca, carnivals and the governor being at the hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmer, Alaska
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I called with a question about late check-in & the gal who helped me with that also was able to get us a complimentary upgrade to the 14th floor with access to the executive lounge for evening apps & also a hot breakfast buffet. The room was very clean & comfortable - I slept like a baby! The bonus of being in the heart of Rondy also really worked well for us & we'll probably do this again next year!

Room Tip: be sure to ask for an inlet view as high as you can get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieInAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#16 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Anchorage

Property: Hilton Anchorage
Address: 500 West Third Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#19 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Anchorage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 606
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Anchorage hotel is a convenient ten-minute drive from Ted Stevens International Airport, and within walking distance of the Alaska Railroad Depot and Anchorage Convention District. Explore Anchorage's popular attractions including the Alaska Museum of History and Art, the Ulu Factory, Nordstrom and the Fifth Avenue Mall - all only two blocks from the hotel. Enjoy a comfortable stay in a stylish guest room featuring thoughtful amenities and high-speed internet access to help you stay connected with family and business. Dine in the inviting Hooper Bay Cafe and savor a variety of authentic Alaskan and American cuisine. Unwind in Bruin's Bar and catch up with the latest sports and news in this welcoming hotel bar. View the extensive Alaskan art collection in the lobby and enjoy a self-guided walking tour. Stay active during your stay with an energizing workout in the fitness center and refreshing swim in the indoor pool before unwinding in the steam room. Make business easy at the Hilton Anchorage hotel. Stay in touch with business in the 24-hour business center featuring a range of business friendly amenities and services. Our Anchorage hotel offers 20, 000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting and event space to easily accommodate business meetings, conventions, elegant weddings and special celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Hilton Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Hilton Hotel
Hilton Anchorage Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing