We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable.”
Review of Hilton Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Anchorage
Ranked #13 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
525 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Comfortable.”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as on our post-cruise trip with NCL. The room was comfortable although rather dark, and the shower was great. The bed gave us a good nights sleep.
Breakfast was of a good standard
The only real problem was slow elevators.
We would return if the opportunity arose.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tenorman41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    431
    369
    166
    76
See reviews for
207
440
82
570
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights prior to starting a land tour with Holland America. The Hilton is in a great location, allowing you to walk to most of the Anchorage hotspots. It is right across the street from the weekend market (Saturday and Sunday). The décor needs updating badly, but it was clean, and the staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peamomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Hilton is usually associated with upper end accommodation but unfortunately, Hilton Anchorage is anything but. It is old looking and feeling, especially in room, and in need of renovation. Furniture was battered and bruised and decor was straight from the 70's. It is little more than a place to sleep but you are right to expect more for the price.

We ate dinner at a place called Humpy's down the road from the hotel and it was overpriced for what we got, which seems to be a common theme in Alaska. I'd recommend trying elsewhere. We ate breakfast at the buffet in the Hilton, it was $16 pp (plus tip) for continental which is pretty reasonable for an 'upper end' hotel. Service was great, food was fresh although range was pretty limited. We only eat cereal, fruit, and toast so it was OK for us.

The location of this hotel is great, right in the downtown area so close to attractions and shops.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warkworth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at the Hilton as part on our Holland America tour so am unable to comment on value, the room was extremely clean and spacious and had a wonderful view, the linen was of a high quality and the bathroom was well appointed. Centrally located and close to all the local restaurants and shops. The only disappointment was no guest laundry facilities, something that becomes quite important when you are on a tour! It was good to be able to use the guest internet facility. We had an evening meal in the restaurant which was very nice and breakfast one morning which was also very nice. All in all we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level Contributor
155 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Hilton for 2 nights as part of a Holland-America tour. So I have no idea of the price of the room. However it was a good, if standard, room with all the facilities you would expect from a hotel of this standard. Our room on the sixth floor had a view across the tops of the adjacent buildings to the snow capped mountains, which was attractive. The hotel is well located in the downtown area close to shops, restaurants etc. Although I think there may be a charge for internet usage for 'normal' customers, we were given free wifi probably because we were part of a large tour group.

In summary, there is nothing special to say about this hotel but also nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussie_bmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here for a night as part of a cruise-tour package. Room was quite small, with double beds and few frills. Beds were comfy, though, with ice and vending easily accessible and hotel services on-the-ball at all times. Restaurant in the lobby was good quality and reasonable price, given location. A great stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

A good Hilton Hotel in downtown Anchorage. Executive floor rooms and lounge are very good on the 14th floor. Very nice view of the Bay. Close to everything downtown. Don't miss the Marx Bros Cafe accross the street and the railway station just 3 walking blocks awat.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaelgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
1,735 reviews
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#24 of 73 in Anchorage
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#20 of 73 in Anchorage
454 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Anchorage

Property: Hilton Anchorage
Address: 500 West Third Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#19 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Anchorage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 606
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Anchorage hotel is a convenient ten-minute drive from Ted Stevens International Airport, and within walking distance of the Alaska Railroad Depot and Anchorage Convention District. Explore Anchorage's popular attractions including the Alaska Museum of History and Art, the Ulu Factory, Nordstrom and the Fifth Avenue Mall - all only two blocks from the hotel. Enjoy a comfortable stay in a stylish guest room featuring thoughtful amenities and high-speed internet access to help you stay connected with family and business. Dine in the inviting Hooper Bay Cafe and savor a variety of authentic Alaskan and American cuisine. Unwind in Bruin's Bar and catch up with the latest sports and news in this welcoming hotel bar. View the extensive Alaskan art collection in the lobby and enjoy a self-guided walking tour. Stay active during your stay with an energizing workout in the fitness center and refreshing swim in the indoor pool before unwinding in the steam room. Make business easy at the Hilton Anchorage hotel. Stay in touch with business in the 24-hour business center featuring a range of business friendly amenities and services. Our Anchorage hotel offers 20, 000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting and event space to easily accommodate business meetings, conventions, elegant weddings and special celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Hilton Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Hilton Hotel
Hilton Anchorage Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing