We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and needs renovating”
Review of Hilton Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Anchorage
Ranked #17 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I stayed here for 2 weeks on a business trip. The staff was great however that and the location are the only redeeming qualities.
I stayed in the west tower (older section) and was a bit concerned from the minute I arrived when the elevators have a mind of their own. You wonder if you'll make it to the top or back to the lobby without getting stuck. The room was a good size but very dated and housekeeping is not one of their priorities. Their were a previous guests nail clippers and trimmed finger nails in the night stand drawer and when I reached under the bed to grab a shoe I pulled out someone's dirty underwear that was left previously..... pretty gross.
The hotel stayed full the entire visit so the rate was over $260 a night. This is outrageous for the quality of the facilities. The bathroom was clean and the bed comfortable though. Luckily I spent very little time in the hotel. Be prepared to fight your way through the cruise ship crowds in the lobby every morning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stocway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,019 - 1,025 of 1,598 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here as on our post-cruise trip with NCL. The room was comfortable although rather dark, and the shower was great. The bed gave us a good nights sleep.
Breakfast was of a good standard
The only real problem was slow elevators.
We would return if the opportunity arose.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tenorman41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights prior to starting a land tour with Holland America. The Hilton is in a great location, allowing you to walk to most of the Anchorage hotspots. It is right across the street from the weekend market (Saturday and Sunday). The décor needs updating badly, but it was clean, and the staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peamomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Hilton is usually associated with upper end accommodation but unfortunately, Hilton Anchorage is anything but. It is old looking and feeling, especially in room, and in need of renovation. Furniture was battered and bruised and decor was straight from the 70's. It is little more than a place to sleep but you are right to expect more for the price.

We ate dinner at a place called Humpy's down the road from the hotel and it was overpriced for what we got, which seems to be a common theme in Alaska. I'd recommend trying elsewhere. We ate breakfast at the buffet in the Hilton, it was $16 pp (plus tip) for continental which is pretty reasonable for an 'upper end' hotel. Service was great, food was fresh although range was pretty limited. We only eat cereal, fruit, and toast so it was OK for us.

The location of this hotel is great, right in the downtown area so close to attractions and shops.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at the Hilton as part on our Holland America tour so am unable to comment on value, the room was extremely clean and spacious and had a wonderful view, the linen was of a high quality and the bathroom was well appointed. Centrally located and close to all the local restaurants and shops. The only disappointment was no guest laundry facilities, something that becomes quite important when you are on a tour! It was good to be able to use the guest internet facility. We had an evening meal in the restaurant which was very nice and breakfast one morning which was also very nice. All in all we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Hilton for 2 nights as part of a Holland-America tour. So I have no idea of the price of the room. However it was a good, if standard, room with all the facilities you would expect from a hotel of this standard. Our room on the sixth floor had a view across the tops of the adjacent buildings to the snow capped mountains, which was attractive. The hotel is well located in the downtown area close to shops, restaurants etc. Although I think there may be a charge for internet usage for 'normal' customers, we were given free wifi probably because we were part of a large tour group.

In summary, there is nothing special to say about this hotel but also nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussie_bmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here for a night as part of a cruise-tour package. Room was quite small, with double beds and few frills. Beds were comfy, though, with ice and vending easily accessible and hotel services on-the-ball at all times. Restaurant in the lobby was good quality and reasonable price, given location. A great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#4 of 74 in Anchorage
1,900 reviews
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
#11 of 74 in Anchorage
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#19 of 74 in Anchorage
1,174 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#7 of 74 in Anchorage
616 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#22 of 74 in Anchorage
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Anchorage

Address: 500 W 3rd Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#19 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: £107 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Anchorage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 606
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Anchorage hotel is a convenient ten-minute drive from Ted Stevens International Airport, and within walking distance of the Alaska Railroad Depot and Anchorage Convention District. Explore Anchorage's popular attractions including the Alaska Museum of History and Art, the Ulu Factory, Nordstrom and the Fifth Avenue Mall - all only two blocks from the hotel. Enjoy a comfortable stay in a stylish guest room featuring thoughtful amenities and high-speed internet access to help you stay connected with family and business. Dine in the inviting Hooper Bay Cafe and savor a variety of authentic Alaskan and American cuisine. Unwind in Bruin's Bar and catch up with the latest sports and news in this welcoming hotel bar. View the extensive Alaskan art collection in the lobby and enjoy a self-guided walking tour. Stay active during your stay with an energizing workout in the fitness center and refreshing swim in the indoor pool before unwinding in the steam room. Make business easy at the Hilton Anchorage hotel. Stay in touch with business in the 24-hour business center featuring a range of business friendly amenities and services. Our Anchorage hotel offers 20, 000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting and event space to easily accommodate business meetings, conventions, elegant weddings and special celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Hilton Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Hilton Hotel
Hilton Anchorage Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing