We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Hilton Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Anchorage
Ranked #15 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The Hilton has gone down the last decade. Paris should stop spending all the money. In desperate need of a refurbishment. The rooms are clean and it is in a very convenient location, better than the Sheraton or Captain Cook Hotel. Walk to convention centre, most of the good restaurants and other attractions in town. The bed is OK, and the shower is OK by hotel standards. Has a good gym, short distance to the Ted Knowles track where you could run. Fast WiFi, but you have to pay. I would stay again, but not 5 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

980 - 986 of 1,650 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

Apparently tied into cruise lines. Location good, were there on a Sunday and town was quiet. The front desk check in staff seemed confused about room assignments. The room was only ok but nice view. I wouldn't pick it as my first choice to stay in Anchorage, the place needs a facelift.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newmaninseinfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I had high expectations on this hotel since it was a Hilton. They were not fulfilled unfortunately. When I arrived earlier then the check-in time the women I talked to simply said I had to come back a few hours later and did not even offer me to leave my big suitcase anywhere. Thankfully I was able to store the suitcase eventually and take a walk around Anchorage while waiting. The room I got was out of date with a dirty carpet and old furniture and a very small bathroom. The cleaning was good, there is only so much to do about the old carpet and worn down furnishing. The only good thing was the bed that was really comfortable. To top the not so good room off, the maids seemed to have a working station right outside my room and were talking from early morning to late night.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve R, Director of Sales at Hilton Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2014

Stephanie,

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I understand that you were not satisfied with your guest room, and I am deeply disappointed by that. I sincerely apologize for this. I assure you that we will make this right as we ensure the comfort and satisfaction for our guests. Thank you again, and I hope to have another chance to serve you in the future. . If there is anything that I can do to for you to fix this situation or for the future please reach out to me directly.

Thank you,

Steve Rader
Director of Sales
P: 907.265.7037
E: steve.rader@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

A bit run down rooms, not the style I appreciate, probably not renovated since it was built. Nice service, good location, a bit noisy from the train station. A bit expensive compared to what you get. Perfect wifi. I did not try out the breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Rickard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

While adequate at best for tour groups, I wouldn't stay here if I had the choice. The property is in need of a serious refurbishing, from moldy tile in the shower, peeling plaster and wallpaper to inadequate heating and cooling. Can't remember the last time the breakfast buffet was the highlight of a stay. A 2.5 rating is more accurate.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Al O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Pros: clean room and bed. Cons, bath stained so take a shower not a bath, no fridge in room..wifi free only in lobby and very slow. Service at lobby barely ok, no smiles, no desire to help, will answer questions with mono syllables ...but it is ok for one night as location is great.

Room Tip: I ask for higher floor, they said I would get it, but once I was here I had a middle floor and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank anectine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Located right in the middle of downtown and within walking distance of the train station. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Fast wifi. Clean, comfortable room. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank twinkieabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 74 in Anchorage
1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#18 of 74 in Anchorage
1,189 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Midtown
Hyatt House Anchorage
Hyatt House Anchorage
#4 of 74 in Anchorage
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Anchorage

Address: 500 W 3rd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#19 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: £111 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Anchorage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 606
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Anchorage hotel is a convenient ten-minute drive from Ted Stevens International Airport, and within walking distance of the Alaska Railroad Depot and Anchorage Convention District. Explore Anchorage's popular attractions including the Alaska Museum of History and Art, the Ulu Factory, Nordstrom and the Fifth Avenue Mall - all only two blocks from the hotel. Enjoy a comfortable stay in a stylish guest room featuring thoughtful amenities and high-speed internet access to help you stay connected with family and business. Dine in the inviting Hooper Bay Cafe and savor a variety of authentic Alaskan and American cuisine. Unwind in Bruin's Bar and catch up with the latest sports and news in this welcoming hotel bar. View the extensive Alaskan art collection in the lobby and enjoy a self-guided walking tour. Stay active during your stay with an energizing workout in the fitness center and refreshing swim in the indoor pool before unwinding in the steam room. Make business easy at the Hilton Anchorage hotel. Stay in touch with business in the 24-hour business center featuring a range of business friendly amenities and services. Our Anchorage hotel offers 20, 000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting and event space to easily accommodate business meetings, conventions, elegant weddings and special celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Hilton Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Hilton Hotel
Hilton Anchorage Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing